Sandboxie Acquired by Invincea

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by ad18, Dec 16, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. guest

    guest Guest

    Yes
     
  2. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,825
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    OK I see, but I don't think that's the problem. It's probably SpyShelter acting weirdly. I've also decided that I will continue to sandbox Vivaldi, it freezes a bit less all of a sudden. It also depends a bit on how many tabs you have opened.
     
  3. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,988
    Looking at the date of my Sandboxie shortcut, I'd used it for well over three years, however, I stopped using it months ago. Anyone else retired it? I have Norton and Malwarbytes (premium), so it's not like I'm really naked!
     
  4. guest

    guest Guest

    One of my systems is using Sbie, so i permanently force-sandbox the browser.
     
  5. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    4,031
    Location:
    Mexico
    I force Sandboxie to 60+ programs I have. Many of them portables. I would never ditch Sandboxie, ever.
     
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2018
  6. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,738
    Location:
    USA
    When I go on the web, Sandboxie goes too, since 2010.
     
  7. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,761
    Location:
    UK
    I always browse the web Sandboxied.
     
  8. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,781
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Same.

    It's one of those apps that makes itself useful to that itching nagging uncertainty if an app you are installing is 100% adequate and/or not stuffing your good machine overly full of too many files/registry entries .

    Malware trapper too for the most part.
     
  9. wolfrun

    wolfrun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Posts:
    686
    Location:
    Canada
    Ditto here. My browsers are always protected with sandboxie...FF or portable Chrome and also a slew of other programs, since 2011.
     
  10. digmor crusher

    digmor crusher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Posts:
    947
    Location:
    Canada
    So how many of you are using Sandboxie in 1809, when I updated last night it made me uninstall Sandboxie, supposedly incompatible.
     
  11. guest

    guest Guest

    I do, no issues so far.

    Note: I never update builds (only the cumulative updates), i only clean install.
     
  12. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    4,031
    Location:
    Mexico
    Not me. I use Windows 8.1 x64. Working really good.
     
  13. focus

    focus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    484
    Location:
    USA
    Using 5.27.1 (64) with no issues with updated 1809.
     
  14. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,761
    Location:
    UK
  15. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,781
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Same. On 8.1 it is a vital dependable powerhouse. Remains so as also the platform.

    However will probably get around next month to plugging up a couple of 10 units just to bring them updated and then test Sandboxie with some other security softs for compatibility tests. Window 10 is so sour on this end that the interest level is not there and confidence almost nill.
     
  16. digmor crusher

    digmor crusher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Posts:
    947
    Location:
    Canada
    Installed 5.27.1, no problems.
     
  17. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    4,031
    Location:
    Mexico
  18. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,378
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
  19. digmor crusher

    digmor crusher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Posts:
    947
    Location:
    Canada
  20. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,825
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I still sandbox all browsers but I had to drop Firefox because it doesn't work well with Sandboxie. Opera 12 and Vivaldi work just fine, I feel safer protected by SBIE.

    Same over here. I install almost all apps in the sandbox before deploying them on the real system.
     
  21. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    4,031
    Location:
    Mexico
    I don't. I try whenever possible, to run portables only. I tend to not install or deploy anything on the real system unless there's no other alternative, for example, M$ Office. All portables I use run sandboxied all the time. Who know from time to time, from version to a new version, anything undesirable could run along the "trusted" portable app. Again, I try to run every app sandboxed all the time, even those installed and deployed on my real systems.
     
  22. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,825
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I don't have any experience with portable apps to be honest. But the point is that I first run apps in the sandbox to see how they behave and what they install. And some apps don't work at all, this is often a clue that they are quite intrusive. Of course I'm not talking about security tools that need to install drivers.
     
  23. guest

    guest Guest

    Same here, portable apps as much as possible sandboxed in ReHIPS/sandboxie, no hassle.
     
  24. wolfrun

    wolfrun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Posts:
    686
    Location:
    Canada
    I don't have a problem running FF in sandboxie or Google Chrome portable for that matter. For FF and Google portable, I use only one extension which is ublock0 of which I use the default filters setting only and run it in medium mode. Both FF and Google are set "forced to run" in sandboxie. As a side note I am seriously considering to change FF to the portable version also.
     
  25. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,420
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    I also prefer portables to installed apps where possible. Sounds like a good strategy.

    Haven't thought it through, but what about e.g. CCleaner or Wise Disk Cleaner Portable - wouldn't they need to run 'unsandboxed'?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.