Sandboxie Acquired by Invincea

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by ad18, Dec 16, 2013.

  1. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,442
    Location:
    Nicaragua
  2. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,442
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    FYI, I ran into problems when upgrading to 5.23.4 in W10 64 bits 1709. I reported the issue at the Sandboxie forum.
    https://forums.sandboxie.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=64&p=132138#p132137

    Even so, you might want to test installing 5.23.4 to see what happens. Myself, I ll probably will try installing this new beta again in a few hours with a fresh download of the installer. For now, I am back on 5.23.3, all is well.

    Bo
     
  3. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,363
    Location:
    .
    5.23.3 > over-install 5.23.4 separate installer on W10 64 bits 1703 ... okay, for me
     
  4. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,442
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Thanks, bjm. There was a reply from Curt. The Microsoft link he posted says computers that were upgraded from an earlier version of Windows to W10 are exempt from having this "glitch". If I remember correctly, that's your case. This is probably why you didn't have a problem when doing the update.
    https://forums.sandboxie.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=64&p=132140#p132139

    Bo
     
  5. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,363
    Location:
    .
    Yes, upgraded from an earlier version of Windows to W10. Thanks
     
  6. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,442
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I am getting old but I remembered we talked about that via PM last July/August (I think).

    Bo
     
  7. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,363
    Location:
    .
    No worries. And my msinfo32 reports Secure Boot State On.
    Yes, my W10 must be exempt from this "glitch".
     
  8. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,442
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I hate assuming but I have to assume Secure boot is enabled in my W10. I have never gone into BIOS or knowingly disabled it by other means. Anyway, it seems like a good policy/rule to have On.

    Can you explain how to check without opening BIOS?

    Bo
     
  9. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,363
    Location:
    .
    Run > msinfo32 > System Information > System Summary
    2448.png
     
  10. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,442
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Got it. Confirmed, mine is On. Thanks.

    Bo
     
  11. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,394
    Thanks for the heads up, Bo.
    Windows gives a very clear warning in cases like this, so I think the only real danger here is for someone who installs the beta with secure boot disabled, and then later enables secure boot, and can't figure out what hit him when the PC won't boot. I can see that possibly happening to me...
     
  12. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,868
    Hi Bo
    What's wrong with booting into BIOS? I do it all the time when I restore an image...
     
  13. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,442
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    There is nothing wrong but I dont have a reason to boot into BIOS. I remember I did have to change something in XP that had to be done in BIOS but never again, so I am not familiar with it.

    Bo
     
  14. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,363
    Location:
    .
    I'm 5.23.3 again as per Changes in 5.23.4 (reverted until certificate issues are fixed)
     
  15. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    12,291
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Will try those tweaks. Multiprocess was already disabled but I think these problems might be caused because FF 58 is installed inside the sandbox. I will also try to setup a new dedicated sandbox for FF 58. Sadly enough I can't install it on my real system yet because it lacks some features.
     
  16. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,442
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Alright, today I tested installing Firefox 58.0.1 in a sandbox. To make it a fair test, I hidden my current Firefox profile folders from programs running in the sandbox (WriteFilePath), that way the install is as if I did not have Firefox installed outside the sandbox. Completely new profile folder.

    Rasheed, I couldn't find anything wrong. With or without Multiprocess enabled, Firefox opens very fast, immediately, sound works fine, CPU and memory is low, etc.

    I use the 32 bits version of Firefox. I suggest you try installing that version instead of the 64 bits version. The 32 bits version of Firefox works better with SBIE. There is no question about that. You ll see the difference. This might be what you need to do to solve your glitches.

    Bo
     
  17. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,772
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Not quite sure whether to post here or in one of the Firefox threads, but what would be the benefit of using the FF Containers feature, like Firefox Multi-Account Containers or Temporary Containers add-ons, if using Sandboxie?
     
  18. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    12,584
    Location:
    Slovenia, EU
    If you multi-tab during your browsing session it can separate those tabs in different containers and by that also improve your privacy. So you can be logged in as one user in one container and as another in other.
     
  19. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,363
    Location:
    .
    5.23 Beta Available (latest version 5.23.5)
    Changes in 5.23.5
    Fixed certificate issues affecting build 5.23.4
    See changes in 5.23.4 for more information.
     
  20. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,442
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Installed 5.23.5, I can confirm the Certificate issue has been fixed.

    Bo
     
  21. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    12,291
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Thanks for checking it out. I will soon install it in a clean sandbox and see what happens. I also see that Tab Mix Plus is right on track, so hopefully I will be able to switch to FF 58 quite soon.

    https://www.ghacks.net/2018/02/04/tab-mix-plus-webextension-development-build-is-out/
     
  22. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,442
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Its not that I dont like it, Bill, the thing is that you continue to post wrong information about Sandboxie. Sandboxie is a program that has a free version that can be used for as long as you want, no expiration. I aready told you that, and you ignore it. By purchasing a license, you unlock features that better the usability of the program, Sandboxie becomes more automatic but the protection is exactly the same in both versions.

    Practical? Yes, Sandboxie is practical, it works, that makes it practical. And guess what? You dont have to be a computer guy to learn it. I consider myself a dummy user, and learning Sandboxie has been easy. If I can learn, anyone can.

    Regarding whether my posts were or were not to the point of that thread. I think up to were Minimalist brought up BadUSB and I replied to his posts it was on topic. Unfortunately, out of nowhere, you posted wrong information about SBIE in one of your post and I think you were looking for a reply from me, otherwise why did you talk about Sandboxie. You wanted replies from me and you got them.

    Bo
     
  23. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    3,556
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    :( Let it go, Bo!

    No I did NOT want replies from you. I wanted you to STOP posting your OT replies in that other tread with your relentless fanboy promotions for Sandboxie! But you went on and on and on, running over now into this thread! :(

    So I will address a couple of your inaccurate points from above, then I'm out of here too.
    Sandboxie is NOT free. As seen in the Sandboxie FAQ Licensing page, the very first FAQ asks,
    A program that is first, crippled :thumbd: during it's 30 day trial period that then nags :thumbd: :( :mad: the user until the end of time to either shell out money to buy the program or to uninstall it, is NOT "free".

    Such endless "nagware" is not practical for any user looking for long-term/permanent solutions! And certainly not practical for the "normal" users in regards to the topic of that other thread!

    And just because something works, that in no way makes it practical. An armored truck will "work" to take me and family out to dinner tonight. Does that mean it is "practical"? Of course not.

    And Minimalist was not the OP. The OP in fact, asked for the OT discussion to stop and you still persisted by posting yet again to include a link to over here so you could continue your fanboy promotion over here! :rolleyes:

    Note that not once did I ever say Sandboxie was a bad program. In fact, I specifically praised it saying "I think SBIE is a great program and I never said it would not work." The point was, it is not needed to address the concerns the OP asked about!!!! We do not need a "separate" program (like your Sandboxie) to thwart the threats in question! Therefore it is not practical either.

    So PLEASE, stop the promotion campaign. We get that you think Sandboxie is the best program ever written. But there is no need for you to include 5 posts in 1 small thread promoting a program that is not needed for the topic of that thread, and that is not practical for normal users who might encounter the threats in question.

    Now I am sorry if that just bursts your bubble, but it is what it is. Will Sandboxie work? Yes. Is it needed? No.

    And please, I do NOT want another reply from you telling us, once again, how great Sandboxie is. We already know how great you think it is.
     
  24. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    He is not the only one who things it's great.
     
  25. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    3,556
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    And like I said above, I think it is a great program too. It is just not the panacea for all scenarios as it seems some want everyone to believe. :(
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.