Sandboxie Acquired by Invincea

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by ad18, Dec 16, 2013.

  1. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    12,302
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I believe in order to avoid confusion, auto-sandboxing is probably still the best solution. So basically, you may give direct or even full access to any folder, but every executable that's downloaded will be sandboxed. This way, ransomware can't touch files on the real system. So we really need this feature.
     
  2. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,455
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    You forgetting something. When you allow Direct access or Full access, its you, the user, who is opening holes that bypass sandboxing in order to gain extra usability. :)

    Bo
     
  3. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    12,302
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    To clarify, this feature is not really needed for us more experienced users who understand the difference between the real system and the sandbox. But noob-users don't care, they just want everything to run smoothly and don't want to search for files. So that's why it would be handy to give direct access to a couple of folders where all documents are stored. But if they download malware it's no problem, because all executables are sandboxed. Even if they copy files to the real system. And no need to force folders.
     
  4. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    12,603
    Location:
    Slovenia, EU
    All executables are not sandboxed if you don't specify them or use forced folder option.
     
  5. albsat

    albsat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    51
    guys, I tried to understand but a bit unclear still. What is the fix for audio in sandboxed Firefox? Thank you
     
  6. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,455
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Try first, open about:config, and change "security.sandbox.content.level" to 2 or 1 or 0.

    If that doesn't work, try disabling Multiprocess, in about:config, change value to false: "browser.tabs.remote.autostart"

    Bo
     
  7. albsat

    albsat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    51
    Thanks a lot Bo. It worked with 2. I get another message after ending firefox.

    SBIE1307 Program cannot access the Internet due to restrictions - pingsender.exe [DefaultBox]
    SBIE2221 To add the program to Internet Access Restrictions, please double-click on this message line

    What is this pingsender.exe ? I just saw it after updating firefox. maybe a coincidence.
     
  8. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,455
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    You are welcome, I am happy to help. :)

    I never seen that process attempt to run but seems to be part of Firefox.
    https://www.ghacks.net/2017/10/14/what-is-pingsender-exe-on-windows/

    I would ignore the message, and click close in the Sandboxie message, and monitor it to see if eventually goes away. Another thing, that process is likely also running when you run Firefox unsandboxed.

    Bo
     
  9. albsat

    albsat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    51
    thank you again.! always helpful.
     
  10. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,455
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    You are welcome, and thank you. :)

    Bo
     
  11. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    12,302
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    No, you're misunderstanding. With this new "auto-sandbox" option, all executable files would be sandboxed. Except the ones in for example C:\Windows and C:\Program Files, unless they are forced. It's really quite a simple idea. Noob-users would basically be able to save and copy downloaded files into any folder on the real system, without any risk of infection. If they really do want to install or run some app unsandboxed, they should select a new context menu entry named "run unsandboxed".
     
  12. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    12,603
    Location:
    Slovenia, EU
    Yes, I misunderstood you. Couldn't you achieve this by adding all user space folders in Forced folders list?
    OK, you want only executables to be sandboxed and not files also.
     
  13. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Candidly I am quite happy with the way Sandboxie does it. It's worked well for me for years.
     
  14. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,455
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Sandboxie beta 5.23.2 has been released (its got the Curt touch :D).
    https://forums.sandboxie.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=64&t=25114#p131159
    He is asking for testers.....
    https://forums.sandboxie.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=64&t=25114&start=15#p131506

    Bo
     
  15. guest

    guest Guest

  16. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Probably public. When announced in the forum it's public.
     
  17. guest

    guest Guest

    ok, i use sbie beta since day one ^^
     
  18. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,455
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Same here. Installed in W10 tonight, I ll do W7 tomorrow.

    As of right now, this beta feels..........nice and easy :)
    Sandboxie betas are public, open. Like always, anyone can test and help.


    Bo
     
  19. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    New beta is on one machine. So far so good.
     
  20. plat1098

    plat1098 Guest

    I gave beta 5.23.2 to my little old cannon-fodder machine in the corner over there and so far, she likes it. Ran a typically problematic games app sandboxed and it functioned perfectly. Internet Explorer launches without a one second delay that was apparent with the previous stable. I know-- one second is nothing to many but it can be significant in some contexts.
     
  21. wolfrun

    wolfrun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Posts:
    634
    Location:
    Canada
    Beta 5.23.2 working well here, win 7 64bit.
     
  22. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,455
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Same here, no issues with the new beta in my W7 32 bits.

    Bo
     
  23. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    12,302
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Yes but that wasn't the point. An auto-sandbox feature should become optional.

    Yes exactly. Basically, instead of having to manually sandbox, you will now have to manually unsandbox, so it's the other way around. BTW, sandboxing certain apps can sometimes cause troubles. For example, XnView's thumbail viewer doesn't work that smoothly when running sandboxed. That's what I like about giving direct access without having to force folders.
     
  24. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    I suspect there is a good reason why after all these years nothing like this has been done. Sounds like it would add confusing complexity.
     
  25. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,075
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.