Sandboxie Acquired by Invincea

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by ad18, Dec 16, 2013.

  1. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4,513
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Topo, yeah, you can go back to Firefox 32 bits. Get the installer from the link below.
    https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/all/

    What I did to avoid getting migrated to 64 bits was to do an over the top installation. It worked. I think Mozillas plan was to force migration ONLY in the upgrade to 56.0.1. In later updates, if you are using 32 bits, they ll leave the installation alone. But to make sure, I will do over the tops for a while,but eventually sometime in the future I ll update using the updater from within the browser to see what happens. I ll probably do this test after Firefox 57 is out as at that time, I ll probably be ready to create a new profile. So, when I do the test, it wont matter what happens.

    The people you mention that are also having flash issues are using the 64 bits version of Firefox. Everyone. Switch back, and forget about the headache. Do a clean install of Firefox 32 bits, I am 100% sure you wont have the flash issue anymore. Firefox 32 bits gets along better with SBIE than the 64 bits.

    I can watch anything I want with flash, I dont care what it is, if I want to watch it, it works. And almost everyone that have issues with Firefox in SBIE are using the 64 bits version. When I got my W10, I installed the 32 bits version of Firefox to make sure I avoided issues. And so far, I had none.

    Bo
     
  2. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4,513
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Sandboxie 5.21.6 has been released. Fixes and improvements for Sandboxie in Fall Creators Update.
    https://forums.sandboxie.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=62&t=24741#p129389

    I encourage you to report any issue you find between Sandboxie and the Fall Creators Update in the Windows 10 Fall Update thread at the Sandboxie forum. Keep in mind, you need Sandboxies latest beta if you are using FCU.
    https://forums.sandboxie.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=25001

    Bo
     
  3. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    2,559
    Location:
    The etherlands
    Thanks for these updates, Bo.
     
  4. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4,513
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    You are welcome. I see you already upgraded to 1709, yeah, do the update. As far as my personal case use, the only function that's broken for me is running Windows explorer sandboxed. For a version that doesn't officially support 1709 yet, that's nothing.

    Bo
     
  5. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,475
    So far it is working perfectly with 1709 64 bit, but I only use it to sandbox Chrome... I wonder, what is the reason to "skip" version numbers?
     
  6. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4,513
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Same here, Osaban. All doing well between Sandboxie and 1709 (except running Windows explorer sandboxed). I gotten no errors, messages, crashes, nothing bad or anything suspicious that something might not be right.

    About skipping versions. They done that a couple of times with betas. Probably they had developed a version they were going to release but found regressions at last minute before releasing it and decided not to release it. Or, they created the version and decided to test it only by Invincea and not release it..

    Bo
     
  7. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4,513
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Sandboxie beta 5.21.7 has been released. Full support has been added for Fall Creators Update. This beta is a release candidate. Looking good. :cool:
    https://forums.sandboxie.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=62&t=24741#p129389

    Bo
     
  8. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4,513
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Beta 5,21.7 is a nice piece of work. As far as my personal case use, 5.21.7 fully supports W10 Fall Creators Update. On my end, it fixed running Windows explorer sandboxed (known issue) and haven't found any regressions.

    Bo
     
  9. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,953
    Bo, you seem to be the Sboxie go to guy, in fact, you have answered some of my questions several times over the years. I have/had zero issues with v5.20 or 5,21.7 Beta on x64 W10 Fall Creators Update and the latest Firefox. My question, and I realize the answer is personal opinion, with Norton Security and Malwarebytes (Premium), is there still a need for Sboxie now days. I do realize that with the ransomware attacks being more frequent there may a greater reason to use it! Again, I built this PC with a SSD so there are zero performance issues. Thank you!
     
  10. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Posts:
    1,098
    Location:
    Da mean streets of Brooklyn
    My question: I can run Windows Explorer sandboxed easily, but it's hit or miss success-wise. Example is Downloads, some don't, lol. What folders/files would be recommended to run sandboxed in the Fall CU? The thing is, it's hit or miss, and if you have anti-exploit/anti-exe, is this a recipe for conflicts, silent or otherwise? Guess one has to learn for oneself. Here, 521-7 beta is perfect for the brower, perfect. :)

    Despite referring to Sbie's guides, still can't run individual games sandboxed from a games app installed outside Sandboxie's influence. But that's about it. :thumb:
     
  11. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4,513
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    In my opinion, yes. Norton and Malwarebytes still depend on updating signatures. They are scanners and scanners are always behind. They have to catch up to the malware. New malware comes out today and they ll catch up with it when a new signature that detects it is released a couple of days or a week from today. Here is where Sandboxie comes in.

    Sandboxies role is to protect you against new malware/Zero day threats before the scanners get their signature. So, the perfect way for using Sandboxie is to have your AV detect malware thats known to the AV and Sandboxie handles the rest. Remember, Sandboxie doesn't need or use virus definitions/signatures. It contains anything that happens, that runs when you run files and programs sandboxed.

    Bo
     
  12. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4,513
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    If you mean that some type of files dont run sandboxed automatically out of a Forced folder, thats true. Programs that are closely related to Windows wont run sandboxed out of a forced folder. Thats a weakness not only in the forced folders feature in Sandboxie but in sandboxing. Programs like Windows photo viewer or Windows media player dont run sandboxed out of a forced folder but there are ways to work around it. For example, WMP can be set as a Forced program and Windows photo viewer can be run via a sandboxed version of Windows explorer.

    So, what I do to sandbox all files and programs in my computers is to combine using forced programs and forced folders with the the Sandboxed Windows explorer. This glitch doesn't apply to installers, executables always run sandboxed out of a forced folder,

    Important: plat1098, anything you open or run via a sandboxed version of Windows explorer, runs sandboxed. There is no hit or miss when you navigate to a folder or file while running a sandboxed explorer. In your post it sounds like you hit and miss sandboxing some files with the sandboxed explorer but that doesnt happen, it cant happen. Can you give an example. Opening files via a sandboxed Windows explorer is as secure as it can be with SBIE. Nothing should fail to run sandboxed.
    The ones I set as Forced folders are my Downloads folder and USB drives. My Downloads folders is 1 folder. I usually keep files there for a while, what I save I usually move it out of there weeks later. When they are moved, if they get to run, they ll run via forced programs. Most files in my computers run sandboxed during their lifetime in the computer. In your case, you might want to force also your DVD and CD drives, or external drives.
    Yeah, some games can run sandboxed others dont. In my case, I am lucky, I dont play any games :)

    Bo
     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2017
  13. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Posts:
    1,098
    Location:
    Da mean streets of Brooklyn
    Yes. After some nasty problems with FCU got mysteriously straightened out, I was able to reproduce this fairly attempting to run the optical drive via sandboxed Windows Explorer:

    sbie dvd.PNG

    There may be others that haven't been uncovered yet. It's OK, I'll look up the error code. One thing: Protected Folders via Windows Defender is not enabled so as to avoid problems! Insofar as "hit or miss" also, it pertains to the third party stuff--basically, I learned very early that if "Run Sandboxed" isn't in the context menu, it's not happening. True of Rainmeter, Steam, etc, yet others run perfectly in sandbox. It was also a matter of getting familiar with the terminology, still in progress. Good, now I have more assurance and confidence to expand Sandboxie to other areas. :)

    Yes, probably why most of my mind went flying out the window. :rolleyes: Many thanks for this tutorial! :)
     
  14. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4,513
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Hi Plat. I just tested running Windows explorer for trying to reproduce your error, but couldn't do it. This is what I did:
    1. Opened Windows explorer sandboxed, navigated to CD drive, clicked file in CD, file ran sandboxed without issue or message.
    2. Set my CD DVD drive as a Forced folder, inserted CD, CD folder opened sandboxed using a sandboxed version of Windows explorer, clicked file, file ran sandboxed without issue or message.

    I see this in your signature, "w/PUA/HMPA". I know what HMPA is but I dont know what the rest is. Perhaps either HMPA or that other program is causing SandboxieRpcSs.exe to fail when it attempts to run. You could test disabling those programs and try to sandbox the optical drive again to see what are the results.
    Uncovering errors and problem and reporting them at the Sandboxie forum is how we can help Sandboxie, and at the same time help ourselves. If we test betas and report issues, those are the issues that are going to be look at. I install betas not only because of helping Sandboxie, I am conscious that doing it, I am helping myself too.
    Dont be afraid of using Protected folders. After updating to FCU, I had WD on for about 36 hours, and enabled the setting. I left it on default and didnt try to figure out how it works. I saw a few messages from the protection feature itself when I tried to do certain things. As far as I can tell, it gets along with SBIE just fine.

    WD and SBIE has gotten along very well for many years. Beta 5.21.7 has a new setting in Applications>Miscellaneous for SmartScreen. When I tested after FCU, I did not enable the setting, I felt there was no need. But you might want to enable it. In later Sandboxie versions, this settings is going to be set by default but in the beta, you have to enable it yourself.

    After all this years, I am still learning Sandboxie. The day we stop learning something new, it ll become boring. Expandng what you do with Sandboxie, is what is all about. The more you do with Sandboxie, the better you are, IMO. If you think about doing something sandboxed, something different, give it a try. Our case uses of Sandboxie have many things in common, but they should also have their differences due to what we do with the computers, what we want out of SBIE, the programs we use, etc.

    Bo
     
  15. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Posts:
    1,098
    Location:
    Da mean streets of Brooklyn
    @bo elam: This affects the main computer, only a few months old, which still has a "frail" OS. Let me get this stabilized so I can troubleshoot this without other factors possibly interfering. I'll be back! :)

    Oh, PUA means that PUP detections via Defender are enabled in the registry. Modified the signature accordingly.
     
  16. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    559
    Location:
    usa
    I've installed lastpass for chrome with sandboxie.
    Settings - Applications - All Applications - LastPass - Add - Apply.
    It works perfectly.
     
  17. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4,513
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Sandboxie 5.22 has been released. List of changes and fixes below, includes official support for Windows 10 Fall Creators Update. And links to installers.

    Version 5.22
    Released on 30 October 2017.

    • Windows Creator's Fall Update is now supported.
    • Made improvements to ForceFolder including adding support for "Open With" dialogs, and running registry files.
    • Added/Updated templates for AVG, BitDefender, Babylon and Opera.
    • Implemented code fixes to address "SBIE2101" issues caused by Windows Defender "App & Browser Control" in Windows 8.1 and 10 [If you are using the "Windows SmartScreen Template from Beta 5.21.7, you will need to remove it after installing Sandboxie 5.22].
     
  18. Special

    Special Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    60
    Location:
    Canada
    Finally some QoL improvements!

    -SaidByNoOneEver
     
  19. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Posts:
    1,098
    Location:
    Da mean streets of Brooklyn
    OK, I got the OS to a better place on the main computer and unfortunately, the beta still did not allow the DVD/CD to work in a sandboxed Windows Explorer. BUT, I installed the latest release 5.22.0.0 and it works perfectly. So this issue is definitely resolved. :thumb:
     
  20. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,958
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Upgraded to 5.22 with 64-bit version and all appears to be running smoothly.
    TY for the heads up, Bo.
     
  21. Carver

    Carver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,883
    Location:
    USA
    I had v5.21.4 ran smooth ungraded to v5.22 ran just as smooth.
     
  22. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4,513
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Same here, Page (W7 32 bits/W10 64 bits).

    Bo
     
  23. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4,513
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Carver........:thumb:.

    Bo
     
  24. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,475
    No problems here on 2 machines with 1709.

    Edit: Actually when I try to bookmark a website with chrome it does not let me edit my bookmark folders... It was not happening before, and yes I have enabled "Allow direct access to Google Chrome bookmarks"
     
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2017
  25. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4,513
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Hi Osaban, I cant test Chrome as I dont use it and to test reproducing your issue I would have to install it in my real system (I am not using Shadow defender in W10). See if what I suggest below helps you figure out how to solve the issue, if not, I ll test in W7. I am using SD in that computer.and can install Chrome in the system in Shadow mode.

    If I understand correctly, the issue is that bookmarks are not been saved out of the sandbox, right? If this is the problem, then it means Chrome has changed the file or files where it saves bookmarks. So, to fix the issue, you need to figure out where Chrome is saving bookmarks now, and allow direct file access to this file or files in Sandbox settings.

    If this is the problem, eventually the Chrome template for saving bookmarks in Sandboxie will get fixed by Invincea but for now that would be your temporary workaround. You can figure out the files where Chrome is saving bookmarks by opening Chrome sandboxed, save a few bookmarks, and then open a regular Windows explorer, navigate to the Chrome AppData folder inside the Sandbox folder in C drive and look at the timestamp of files that are being modified as you save bookmarks. That should give you a clue of the files that you need to allow direct file access to solve the issue.

    Bo