Sandboxie Acquired by Invincea

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by ad18, Dec 16, 2013.

  1. Circuit

    Circuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Posts:
    363
    Explain your point.
    No conflict here, use this set-up for over 2 years now.
     
  2. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4,150
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    So, you are saying you are using Sandboxie, Appguard, EAM and NVT, all together doing their thing without conflicts, Right?

    1. If you are using Sandboxies paid version, your sandboxed programs most be taking a long time to pop up open when you click their icon to run them sandboxed. And deleting the sandbox, has to be taken a few seconds or more to delete. Perhaps 15 seconds. While for me, opening and closing sandboxed programs is immediate. No program interferes with Sandboxies process in any way.

    Perhaps you dont see that as a conflict, but it is. Real time scanners scan the sandbox and do so also when you open programs sandboxed and you close them. Thats what they are supposed to do. Think about this. If you get hit by malware, when you try to delete the sandbox, you ll have 3 programs interfering with Sandboxie, all fighting to do their thing, while on the other hand, for myself, theres no fighting. The Delete process is smooth and easy.

    And you never know, at the worst of time, when you get hit by some really nasty malware, when you need SBIE to be at its best to protect your computer, this bunch of programs that you have all interacting with each other actually weakens Sandboxie and instead of helping keep your PC clean, it helps the malware escape the sandbox.

    What I just wrote above can happen.

    2. There are conflicts that you dont see in the surface. Perhaps thats your case. But that doesnt mean they are not there. They are there and will flow to the surface (again) at the worst of times.

    3. To get all those programs working semi OK along each other, you have to be doing a lot of exclusions and allow this and allow that. And this are holes. Every time you allow something in Sandboxie, you are opening a hole.

    Bo
     
  3. Circuit

    Circuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Posts:
    363
    That is right, just need how to set them up. There is another member\moderator that uses very similar set-up.
    Layers and more layers better then one wall.
     
  4. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4,150
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Is that it? Thats all you got to say.

    Well, I got more. I like to know, what programs do you run sandboxed? How many programs do you run sandboxed? Are there any programs that you wanted to run sandboxed, but you cant?

    See, the answers to those questions is important for gauging how well oiled Sandboxie is running for you.

    Another thing, I am talking from Sandboxies perspective. But if I was seeing things from this other programs point of view, you are not being fair with them either. You are not only weakening Sandboxie by using many real time programs at the same time, you are also weakening this other programs.
    The recommended way for using Sandboxie paid version is to use it with an antivirus, and an antivirus alone. In my opinion, the simpler the AV, the better. What I recommend and would use if I was using an AV is Windows defender. Good bye....unless you really have something meaningful to say.

    Bo
     
  5. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4,150
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I forgot. There are some very important programs that this member would like to run sandboxed. And he has never been able to do successfully. Nothing to wonder why that is like that.

    Bo
     
  6. Circuit

    Circuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Posts:
    363
    Did not want you to get ****-***.
    Just stating the fact about programs compatibility.
     
  7. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4,150
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Thats what I did. You been warned, just know it, Sandboxie becomes weaker when you run along many programs at the same time (and likely also the case for the other programs). And will not work as smoothly. You have to balance things, when you run too many things, install too many programs, specially now with W10, you are bound to have problems when you upgrade your system. So, when you run into problems with SBIE, when something cant run sandboxed or you get errors when upgrading W10, you already know the reason. Later. :)

    Bo
     
  8. Circuit

    Circuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Posts:
    363
    Well, I'll will ditch SBIE. Just on your saying.
     
  9. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4,150
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Thats a good move. I am not kidding, I mean it.

    Bo
     
  10. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    18,792
    Gee that other member/moderator has to be me. Bo my problem with running some of the programs have nothing to do with other software. You have a simple setup, I don't. I would challenge you to get my setup all running sandboxed even if I took all the other software off.
     
  11. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4,150
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Exactly, that's my point. Thats the reason why I never have problems running whatever I want to run sandboxed. Its not luck or coincidence. There are reasons for this to be like this. When I bought the W10, based on what I read at the SBIE forum, I expected glitches and problems, And I have none. I remember I told you in a PM that I was amazed that I was able to install a 32 bits version of KMPlayer from 2008 and run it sandboxed just like it was made for W10 and 64 bits computers. If I was using 5 programs along SBIE, at least one would flag the program when it tries to run and likely be blocked as suspicious by one or two. And it would be a problem running it sandboxed and the sandbox would take 20 seconds to delete (due to the scanning).

    Bo
     
  12. Circuit

    Circuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Posts:
    363
    So your talking win10?
    I am talking 7x64.
    Sorry you got in an up-roar over nothing.
    I guess I was mentioning you. :eek:
     
  13. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4,150
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Applies to W7, XP, etc, just a bit more so in W10.

    Bo
     
  14. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    18,792
    Hi Circuit

    Not a problem at all.
     
  15. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    446
    Do you have SBIE at custom settings, in order to get that memory protection you are talking about?
     
  16. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4,150
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    With Default settings you are protected against this type of malware.

    Bo
     
  17. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    446
    Thanks Bo, that is good to hear. I must admit that I don't know much about memory protection, but I am glad to hear that it's there.
     
  18. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4,150
    Location:
    Nicaragua
  19. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    446
  20. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    2,538
    Location:
    .
    841.png
    SBIE2224 Sandboxed program has crashed: avc-free.exe [Test2]

    Comments re Application Error &or SBIE2224. Test2 is new default box. Thanks
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2017 at 7:22 AM
  21. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4,150
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Hi, bjm. I just tested installing AVC in a sandbox and got same error as you. Probably incompatible with Sandboxie.

    Bo
     
  22. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    2,538
    Location:
    .
    Hmm, great to know not just me. I head scratched for awhile thinking my setup?
    btw ~ AVC launched okay in shadow-mode and VT report was okay too.
    Comment re SBIE2224? Does 2224 simply mean "Sandboxed program has crashed".
    Thanks!
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2017 at 1:21 PM
  23. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4,150
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    No, its not your setup. The crash can be caused by another program, usually security program, but I got none. So, the reason probably is that AVC is not compatible with SBIE. The installer didnt even get to fully run, and gave me 2224 message.

    Bo
     
  24. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    2,538
    Location:
    .
    Yeah, I had my security soft shut-down (not uninstalled). Figured it wasn't worth uninstall since AVC launched in shadow-mode. Pic is re 2224.
    Test2.png
    Thanks again!
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2017 at 1:53 PM
  25. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    9,329
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Bo already answered it, SBIE does this out of the box. So even if in-memory malware was running inside the sandbox, it's hard to do any real damage.
     
Loading...