Sandboxie 51% off on January 15!

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by Fuzzfas, Jan 8, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    :D cheers

    how about question 1?
     
  2. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    3,449
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    I do not believe this has anything to do with SBIE. Every browser I've ever used had those settings up to the user. SBIE only effects the browser's download with its immediate recovery options.
     
  3. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    it is,

    i use Chrome and usually the downloads just start automatically, and get saved to my preference (the desktop)

    now with SBIE installed, i get a daft 'Save As' screen with unconfirmed.1345345.454353 file etc, before the download starts downloading.
     
  4. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    3,449
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    Oh, I have no experience with Chrome. That definitely does not look like anything I've ever seen with SBIE. It sounds like a Chrome issue. Best to ask Tzuk about compatability.
     
  5. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    FYI

    this is what i meant...

    Untitled.jpg


    before the installation of SBIE, it used to just download without that save as screen to my selected location (desktop)
     
  6. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    3,449
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    My first thought is that cannot possible be SBIE. I've used it for a long time aqnd have never encounter anything simlar to what you have in the screenshot. I think that has to either by Chrome or a compatability issue.
     
  7. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    I too have Opera ask me where to save a file i download, but that has nothing to do with SBIE, it's an Opera setting. Maybe you changed Chrome settings by mistake? (or there was a compatibility glitch with Sbie)?

    I 've never seen this happening with neither Opera nor IE6. Did you change immediate recovery settings in Sbie? I never touch them. I only add download locations in "Quick recovery" section.

    If you can't find solution, i m afraid only Tzuk can help.
     
  8. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    3,449
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    As I understand it, Chrome has its own 'sandbox'. If you are using this with SBIE it would be best to turn that feature in Chrome off to avoid any conflicts. Also Chris, what are your SBIE settings for file migration? Make sure you allow for what ever meets you needs. It might be nothing, but it might help. Apart from that I'm not sure what to tell you. Make sure you have upfated versions of both SBIE and Chrome.

    This thread might help.
     

    Attached Files:

    • sb2.png
      sb2.png
      File size:
      37.2 KB
      Views:
      495
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2009
  9. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    same as, never touched those settings.

    if i turn off SBIE, the 'Save As' popup goes away.

    I'm thinking its definately one of those minor incompatibility nags between SBIE and Chrome.
     
  10. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    ok, here it is......

    Sandboxie is not fully compatibile with Google Chrome, the developer needs to work on this asap.

    - Firefox3 is x2 faster (yes, double!) when browsing with SBIE, compared to Google Chrome,

    I also dont get any Save As pop ups on Firefox3 as i do with Google Chrome,

    its really annoying, because i want to use Chrome. :'(

    gonna give their forum a go ;)

    hopefully tzuk will look, listen and fix. :D
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2009
  11. TAPR

    TAPR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    I tried adding the 2 directories:

    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Doctor Web
    C:\Program Files\DrWeb

    to the sandbox settings : Resource access > File access > Full access

    but I still can't get Spider Gate to filter Firefox HTTP connections such as the Eicar.org site.

    Could you please explain in detail what steps you did?

    Firefox version 3.0.6
    Sandboxie version 3.34
    Dr.Web version 5.0.1.02160

    thanks
     
  12. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    What my wife has with shoes, you have got with life time security software lisences, you can't resist buying :cool:
     
  13. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    in my country they repair ladies shoes making them life time also:D :)
     
  14. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Ohh no do not mention it, you would buy it, just becasue it is a life time lisence (by teh way I got a life time lisence for free :D from Brian)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.