Sandbox questions split from AV thread

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by truthseeker, Jun 20, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. truthseeker

    truthseeker Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Posts:
    977
    I installed sandbox. But I a bit confused.

    When I run sandbox and run firefox from sandbox, do all websites I visit only write stuff to the "sandbox" area? ANd where is the sandbox area?
     
  2. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    Nono, it just prevents that any malware damages your computer. I think the sandbox area (if you are using Sandboxie) is in C:\Sandbox
     
  3. Someone

    Someone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,106
    Hi

    When you run a browser sandboxed and malware infects you, you can just delete the sandbox and all the malware would be gone because everything is virtualised.

    I would also get Adblock Plus for Firefox.
     
  4. truthseeker

    truthseeker Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Posts:
    977
    I installed Adblock Plus. So now I have Adblock Plus, Noscript and Refcontrol for Firefox.

    Anything else for Firefox you recommend?
     
  5. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,047
    That is correct. Everything a sandboxed program does stays in the sandbox, UNLESS, you have given it permission otherwise. For example your browser may be able to save it's favorites for real.

    Truthseeker, this is one of the cool aspects of sandboxes, like Sandboxie. If I am surfing and I want to see something that's Active X, I go ahead an do it. First it can't hurt the system, and 2nd when I empty the sandbox it's gone.

    Pete
     
  6. truthseeker

    truthseeker Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Posts:
    977
    Sounds great, thanks :)

    So then I can visit websites that I before was worried if it was safe or not. I can just use Sandboxie and visit the website and not be worried.
     
  7. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,047
    Pretty much right on.
     
  8. Someone

    Someone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,106
    Hi

    I think you should also add some web scanners, like SiteAdvisor, Linkscanner, WOT, Finjan, Netcraft or HauteSecure. Though I'm not sure if Linkscanner is still being developed and HauteSecure is a program, not an addon.
     
  9. truthseeker

    truthseeker Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Posts:
    977
    THanks, some good links there.

    But I am back to using Ubuntu Linux for all my netbanking and sensitive web access, so I will not be needing these. Thank you anyway for the effort you made to write it for me.
     
  10. MikeNAS

    MikeNAS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Posts:
    697
    Location:
    FiNLAND
    There's no reason to use those if browser is Sandboxed all the time.
     
  11. Someone

    Someone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,106
    Hi

    Well I think it's just safer as people might want to download stuff and install it, which Sandboxie won't protect and it'll also put less pressure on Sandboxie as if you go a drive-by download site to infect you there's a very very very slight chance that it could break out of Sandboxie. But if you can see a big red cross next to the website link you wouldn't go there.
     
  12. MikeNAS

    MikeNAS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Posts:
    697
    Location:
    FiNLAND
    Peoples always should download files in their orginal location like manufacturer etc.
     
  13. Someone

    Someone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,106
    Yes, but legitimate sites can get hacked.
     
  14. truthseeker

    truthseeker Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Posts:
    977
    Good point. Has it happened lately to a large well known company?
     
  15. ambient_88

    ambient_88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Posts:
    854
    Comcast's website got hacked recently.
     
  16. truthseeker

    truthseeker Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Posts:
    977
    I looked and searched, but could not find any evidence that the hackers planted any virus, keylogger or trojan programs on the Comcast website that people downloaded and that it infected the people who then installed the programs.

    Can you give me even a single case this has happened as you claim it can?
     
  17. ambient_88

    ambient_88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Posts:
    854
    I believe it was Comcast's DNS that got hacked. The original website was redirected to some website that the hackers created.

    Is this question directed to me or someone else?
     
  18. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    As this thread was created from off topic posts from another thread, let's focus on the thread topic Please, which is "Sandbox questions".
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.