Samsung Magician

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by MPSAN, Jun 30, 2015.

  1. digmor crusher

    digmor crusher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Posts:
    851
    Location:
    Canada
    I swapped the drive in my desktop to a Samsung 860 EVO at Xmas, one of the first things I did was uninstall Magician.
     
  2. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Last time I used Magician was for installing the updated firmware for my 980 Pro as it will alert you to things like that. Did nothing to improve the reduced write speeds on here, but anyway. I also ran the benchmark utility it has.

    It invokes the Windows TRIM. Since my drive is plenty empty, I don't use over-provisioning--the less messing around w/this disk, the better and I want no real time monitoring from this software, ever. Once I have used Magician for whatever, I uninstall it completely.
     
  3. Cruise

    Cruise Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Posts:
    1,232
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for your answers, but how come Magician has TRIM enabled but Windows reports TRIM to be disabled?
     
  4. Cruise

    Cruise Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Posts:
    1,232
    Location:
    USA
    Why?
     
  5. Cruise

    Cruise Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Posts:
    1,232
    Location:
    USA
    Well I'm not too sure about that. As I replied to @Spartan, although TRIM is definitely enabled in Magician, Windows reports TRIM to be disabled!
     
  6. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
  7. digmor crusher

    digmor crusher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Posts:
    851
    Location:
    Canada
    No need for it, and if I don't need it then its bloat.
     
  8. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,814
    Do you check for firmware updates yourself? I recommend periodically checking for firmware updates, as sometimes new firmware versions include important bug fixes.
     
  9. moredhelfinland

    moredhelfinland Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Posts:
    65
    Location:
    Finland
    And if you're using Samsung OEM NVMe drives, which are usually found on some Lenovo desktop PC computers, you can force(in device manager) to use EVO drivers.
    I did that, and according to Crystal Disk Mark, overall speeds went up to approx 10%. I ran O&O Defrag (solid method). The speed increased, especially when dealing with small files, approx 3%.
    So overall, very welcomed speed up to my OEM Samsung NVMe drive. I have not noticed any problems forcing EVO drivers. Sure, it might not work on some Lenovo systems. It worked for me and the speed increase is always welcomed.
    -sepik
     
  10. Wendi

    Wendi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    616
    Location:
    NY, USA
    In addition to what @roger_m said, do you also find Magician's over-provisioning and/or rapid mode to be worthless? :confused:
     
  11. digmor crusher

    digmor crusher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Posts:
    851
    Location:
    Canada
    I would only check for a firmware update if something is broken.

    Wendi, seeing I uninstalled it right away I have no idea what those are.

    Basically if it works I won't worry about any tweaks, updates etc. I prefer to run my computer as a lean, mean machine which means any programs starting with Dell, Samsung, Nvidida, Brother etc are uninstalled immediately.
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2021
  12. moredhelfinland

    moredhelfinland Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Posts:
    65
    Location:
    Finland
    How EVO drivers works on OEM drivers, that the...
    Is it all about the driver or?
    -sepik
     
  13. Wendi

    Wendi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    616
    Location:
    NY, USA
    @Cruise, you may be misinterpreting what Windows is reporting...

    I'm guessing you ran the command fsutil behavior query DisableDeleteNotify and got the result: DisableDeleteNotify = 0 (disabled).
    If that's what happened everything is good, TRIM is enabled! That command result can be very confusing when it returns "0 (disabled)". Windows is trying to say 'Disable DeleteNotify (TRIM) is disabled', which is a double negative, so TRIM is really enabled. o_O

    Just pay attention to the value returned by that command, 0 = TRIM enabled, 1 = TRIM disabled.
     
  14. Marcelo

    Marcelo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Posts:
    234
    Location:
    Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.
    How did you do that? I tried to install on my Acer notebook but I can't even force the Samsung Driver Installer to run to allow for manual selection.
     
  15. Cruise

    Cruise Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Posts:
    1,232
    Location:
    USA
    Wendi, your guess is right-on. That is very confusing! So thanks very much for the clarification.
     
  16. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,608
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.