Samsung Magician

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by MPSAN, Jun 30, 2015.

  1. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    3,542
    Thanks anon.

    I looked in the Installation Guide pdf and found this changelog info:

    The usual download limit to get the installer from the Samsung site.

    I must admit that I'm still on Magician version 4.9.7 (using a 840 Pro); Win 7 Pro 64-bit.
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2017
  2. pb1

    pb1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Posts:
    532
    Location:
    sweden
    They are practicly adding the same features they toke away in the last update. Why - i wonder.
     
  3. Quassar

    Quassar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Posts:
    111
    Download Limit Exceeded

    We apologize for your inconvenience
    Please try again within 24 hours

    Nice... they have bandwitch limit on thier servers -,- i feel like me and network 20 years ago when i had modem...
     
  4. Gandalf_The_Grey

    Gandalf_The_Grey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Posts:
    597
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  5. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,721
    Location:
    Canada
    Version 5 been working great on Windows 10.

    The download for 5.1, I couldn't even download it very early this morning. However, I'm in line next to download the new version. Everyone will have to get in line, in back of me and wait your turns. :p
     
  6. Quassar

    Quassar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Posts:
    111
    big thx i like this new layot
    i didnt use it software whole long time but my health disk still look good :D

    http://imgur.com/a/fWrxO
     
  7. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    3,542
  8. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    3,542
    LOL :)
     
  9. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    3,542
    I was just lucky about 25 minutes ago to be able to get it from the Samsung site. (I didn't see you Phant0m in the line before me ;) ).
    Will later install it and see what it brings.
    Against all my usual habits I had it also already downloaded from the site Gandalf posted. Not that I have anything against you Gandalf (!), it is just that I want to know whether I can trust a site. Maybe this was the first time I didn't download something from the original site.
    The checksums are the same downloaded from the Samsung site and from the site Gandalf posted:

    The file Samsung_Magician_Installer.zip has the following Checksum(s)
    MD5 - 267F0A55D4386CCE96FE4474138BA6BF
    SHA-160 - 6FFC589C7AE3E7EE4DC69A09F1B6C7A2E5176497
    SHA-256 - 1803D9E8135E54BF9CCDC3E0492341AACD2B739E762D58BD9DAD00A6EC658C83

    BTW, I noticed a change in the name of the downloaded zip file. In the past the version number was in the name of the zip file. This time not.
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2017
  10. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    3,542
    Well, my 840 Pro is not supported on my system with this version 5.1.0.1120 so time to put back a backup-image and go back to version 4.9.7.

    Samsung_2017-06-02_06-05-01.png
     
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2017
  11. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,721
    Location:
    Canada
    I just noticed it myself. I thought I'd come on and let others know, however apparently you already went for the finish line before me. :thumb:

    The zip filename when I downloaded from the official website when version 5.0 was released. That had no version information either, and was disappointed too.
     
  12. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,721
    Location:
    Canada
    With 850 EVO, this latest version is working nicely on Windows 10.

    They should have mentioned they discontinue support with their software for 840 Pro. :cautious:
     
  13. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,952
    =
    http://www.samsung.com/semiconductor/minisite/ssd/downloads/software/Samsung_New_Magician_Installation_guide.pdf
    Page 3 :
    The following Samsung SSDs are supported*:
    Samsung SSD 960 PRO(M.2)
    Samsung SSD 960 EVO(M.2)
    Samsung SSD 950 PRO(M.2)
    Samsung SSD 850 PRO
    Samsung SSD 850 EVO(2.5”, mSATA, M.2)
    Samsung SSD 840 PRO
    Samsung SSD 840 EVO(2.5”, mSATA)
    Samsung SSD 840 Series
    Samsung SSD 830 Series
    Samsung SSD 750 EVO
    Samsung SSD 470 Series
     
  14. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,952
    I faced a similar problem (with v5.0.0.790 = Rapid mode: "Not Supported")
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/samsung-magician.377561/page-3#post-2634391
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/samsung-magician.377561/page-3#post-2634393
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/samsung-magician.377561/page-3#post-2636148

    and later on, the same version (v5.0.0.790) installed without problems (Rapid mode: ON)
    Also from v5 to v5.1: No problems.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,726
    Updated and increased my over provisioning to 10% as recommended. Otherwise, same old.
     
  16. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,952
  17. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    3,542
  18. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    3,542
    Thanks anon.
    For whatever reason it did give that warning on my system as shown in my screenshot (reply # 85 ). It is indeed about that Rapid mode.
    My computer specs are in this three year old post.
    Now I don't use Rapid mode. I may later try it again, if only because this change "Secure network communication" in the new version. To be honest I never liked that "phoning home" of Magician.
     
  19. Quassar

    Quassar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Posts:
    111
    I dunno what OS you use but i have lates windows 10 and same SSD and work perfect
    http://imgur.com/a/VatnM
     
  20. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,174
    Location:
    Denmark
    A lot of functions have been restored in 5.1 it seems - Now you can set OP again, among other things. Not sure why they got rid of it in the first place. In other news, I gotta use my drive way more :p
     

    Attached Files:

    • woop.png
      woop.png
      File size:
      272.5 KB
      Views:
      13
  21. bidd

    bidd Guest

    Magician works well here with my 840Pro - Win 10
     
  22. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    3,542
    Thanks bidd and Quassar !
    Maybe the difference is that I run Win 7 (Pro 64-bit) and you both Win 10. I don't know. It is strange as we all three use a 840 Pro.
    Maybe in the coming days I'll try it again.
    If someone notice somewhere a post by someone about the same issue, by all means let us know ;)
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2017
  23. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,952
    Do you have the same firmware (DXM06B0Q) ?
     
  24. Quassar

    Quassar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Posts:
    111
    Hmm i more expect fail run after w10 than w7 :O
     
  25. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    3,542
    Yep. But the good news in the following post ;)
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.