Samsung Magician

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by MPSAN, Jun 30, 2015.

  1. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    8,037

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 30, 2022
  2. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    4,678
  3. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    8,037
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2022
  4. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    Hi FanJ, this time Magician decided it could be updated from the GUI and asked whether it should be installed over the top, go figure...
     
  5. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    4,678
    Thanks anon!
     
  6. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    4,678
    Hi Osaban, that's good to hear! Glad it worked!
     
  7. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    8,037
    Version 7.1.0.770 removed and as latest is the 7.0.1.630 again.

    More info here =
    ---------
    Samsung Magician version 7.1.0.770
    https://eu.community.samsung.com/t5/computers-it/samsung-magician-version-7-1-0-770/td-p/5159197
    ------------
    Samsung Magician Update 7.1.0 broken
    https://eu.community.samsung.com/t5/computers-it/samsung-magician-update-7-1-0-broken/td-p/5135312
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2022
  8. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    4,678
    Thanks anon!
    It would be interesting to know why they have "pulled" it.
    I'm in particular curious because I have now several times got a message saying something like "Samsung Magician failed to initialize; try to re-install". (exact wording I forgot).
    I've re-installed it. But still some times (not always) I'm getting that warning. I have no idea what is causing this.
     
  9. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    8,037
    https://eu.community.samsung.com/t5/computers-it/magician-7-1-0-not-initializing/td-p/5131595

    Also in #232 (edited)
     
  10. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    4,678
  11. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,289
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Yes I tried it and it was broken so I went back to an older version.
     
  12. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    4,678
    Hi Daniel,
    Same issue about initializing?
     
  13. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,289
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Yes!

    2022-04-08_11-51-04.png
     
  14. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    4,678
    I have now also uninstalled 7.1.0.770 and installed 7.0.1.630 again.
    Let's wait and see ...
     
  15. Kyle_Katarn

    Kyle_Katarn Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Posts:
    3,332
  16. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    4,678
    The question might be raised:
    Was this issue (initializing) only on version 7.1.0.770 or was it also on previous version(s) without letting you know about it through some pop-up warning?
    Thinking back: On previous version(s) I did see some strange things. I might be wrong though.
    To which version did you folks go back?
     
  17. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    2,155
    For the people getting a "Failed to Initialize Application" error.
    Are you only getting the error at Windows startup? If so, have a read through this thread.
    It requires changing your Samsung Magician Task Scheduler startup settings.
     
  18. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Minor rant here...why not give the FULL version no. on the update page? If the version number is v7.1.0.nnn then why not display the 'nnn' part rather than just showing v7.1.0...doing that would be most helpful to users in circumstances when nothing the version no. is important...like now. :mad:

    Could not tell what was installed; 770 or 630...I do not remember. So just downloaded the current lasted which I took to be 630 again...installed that and the failure to initialise issue is now gone. So much happier. :D
     
  19. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    8,037
    7.1.0.770 (7.1.0)
    7.0.1.630 (7.0.1)
     
  20. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Point taken...but I still believe that they should put out the FULL version no., i.e., 7.1.0.770 instead of 7.1.0 and 7.0.1.630 instead of 7.0.1...to do anything else is pure laziness...what happens when they have 7.2.0.110 and 7.2.0.660? Are they still going leave the version no. as 7.2.0 in BOTH case. Consistency is a key element of software development & of 'interfacing' with one's customers. :isay:
     
  21. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    4,678
    Hi @Baldrick,

    Yes, it could be more clear.
    At the other hand when I go to:
    https://semiconductor.samsung.com/consumer-storage/support/tools/
    and then I hoover my mouse over the download button there, I get the link and the full version number:
    https://semiconductor.samsung.com/resources/software-resources/Samsung_Magician_Installer_Official_7.0.1.630.zip
    So, then you know it is version 7.0.1.630

    Samsung_2022-04-10_01.png
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2022
  22. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Hi FanJ

    Appreciate the tip...and I suppose that it is the sort of thing that a member of the Updates Team would do/know...but for us 'common' folk ;) who tend to go with the auto updates it would help to see the full version no. in the application. Most other apps do so...but as I said...thanks for the tip. :)
     
  23. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    4,678
    I just got a pop-up from Magician that there is a new version, but I don't have the time at the moment to look at it; sorry.
     
  24. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    4,678
    My apologies for that posting. I had no time to look at it further. Just manually checking now, I don't get a new version. I am on 7.0.1.630.
    I don't see a newer version at their site. I hope that they don't try to get you again into 7.1.0.770 which they pulled because of it's problems.
    Let's wait and see.
     
  25. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    I've just manually updated following Samsung's prompt of a new version which is now 7.1.1
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.