Samsung 1TB Hard drive shows up as 31 mb on 2 clients PCs

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by google88, Sep 14, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. google88

    google88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Posts:
    135
    Hi

    I sold a brand new HDD

    The client came back with a problem tested on 2 pcs and in a removable caddy.

    saying it reads only 31mb and not 1TB

    I said try HUTIL to see what it says

    Is the drive likely to be faulty?
    I am limited to what i can ask a customer to try.
    But I will test it if it is returned.

    Any suggestions welcome

    Cheers
     
  2. Aaron Here

    Aaron Here Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Posts:
    1,205
    Location:
    USA
    Sounds like an older BIOS limitation ...maybe flashing/updating the BIOS will help?
     
  3. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,652
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    google88,

    There might be a 31 MB partition on the HD. Get him to look at the HD in Disk Management.
     
  4. google88

    google88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Posts:
    135
    cheers guys

    it's a fine line when you are asking a customer to try stuff via email

    you kind of never know other people's ability


    i said to try this

    "Use Samsungs EStool (not HUtil) for 1TB drives and select max address --> recover native size. After that your drive should work with full capacity. "

    is that good advice?

    Or is it going to be a Motherboard and BIOS issue

    I don't even know what OS he is running. :(
     
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,652
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I suspect a cylinder aligned partition. 31 MB is 4 cylinders. (the rest of the HD being unallocated space)

    Edit... I did a Google search and you might be on the right track with "recover native size".
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2011
  6. google88

    google88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Posts:
    135
    cheers again

    I let you guys know how it pans out :) (fingers crossed)
     
  7. google88

    google88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Posts:
    135
    seller said the advice worked

    so everyone's happy

    It was a Motherboard issue.

    Great news...all sorted :)
     
  8. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,652
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    google88,

    Thanks for the feedback. Do you have further information on why this happens? Is it the motherboard's fault or the HD's fault?
     
  9. google88

    google88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Posts:
    135
  10. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,652
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    google88,

    Thanks for that link. All the complaints of the "32 MB HDs" refer to Samsung HDs. I think it is a Samsung HD issue and not a motherboard issue. It is similar to the Dell MediaDirect 2 problem. This can truncate a new HD by creating a HPA so the new HD appears smaller than its stated size. It is corrected by the method you suggested....

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=167401
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.