Samsung 1TB Hard drive shows up as 31 mb on 2 clients PCs

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by google88, Sep 14, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. google88

    google88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Posts:
    135
    Hi

    I sold a brand new HDD

    The client came back with a problem tested on 2 pcs and in a removable caddy.

    saying it reads only 31mb and not 1TB

    I said try HUTIL to see what it says

    Is the drive likely to be faulty?
    I am limited to what i can ask a customer to try.
    But I will test it if it is returned.

    Any suggestions welcome

    Cheers
     
  2. Aaron Here

    Aaron Here Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Posts:
    1,205
    Location:
    USA
    Sounds like an older BIOS limitation ...maybe flashing/updating the BIOS will help?
     
  3. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,714
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    google88,

    There might be a 31 MB partition on the HD. Get him to look at the HD in Disk Management.
     
  4. google88

    google88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Posts:
    135
    cheers guys

    it's a fine line when you are asking a customer to try stuff via email

    you kind of never know other people's ability


    i said to try this

    "Use Samsungs EStool (not HUtil) for 1TB drives and select max address --> recover native size. After that your drive should work with full capacity. "

    is that good advice?

    Or is it going to be a Motherboard and BIOS issue

    I don't even know what OS he is running. :(
     
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,714
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I suspect a cylinder aligned partition. 31 MB is 4 cylinders. (the rest of the HD being unallocated space)

    Edit... I did a Google search and you might be on the right track with "recover native size".
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2011
  6. google88

    google88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Posts:
    135
    cheers again

    I let you guys know how it pans out :) (fingers crossed)
     
  7. google88

    google88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Posts:
    135
    seller said the advice worked

    so everyone's happy

    It was a Motherboard issue.

    Great news...all sorted :)
     
  8. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,714
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    google88,

    Thanks for the feedback. Do you have further information on why this happens? Is it the motherboard's fault or the HD's fault?
     
  9. google88

    google88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Posts:
    135
  10. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,714
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    google88,

    Thanks for that link. All the complaints of the "32 MB HDs" refer to Samsung HDs. I think it is a Samsung HD issue and not a motherboard issue. It is similar to the Dell MediaDirect 2 problem. This can truncate a new HD by creating a HPA so the new HD appears smaller than its stated size. It is corrected by the method you suggested....

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=167401
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.