Same ole kernnel stuff

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Rage, Oct 7, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rage

    Rage Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    I just purchased the ESET NOD32 antivirus package and when installing I get the ole "Service 'Eset Service (ekrn) failed to start. Verify that you have sufficient privileges to start system services" message.

    I am system administrator, Eset Services are set to automatic. As I understand it the "fix" is to update NET framework 1.1. I'm currently running NET Framework 3.5.........obviously rolling back to 1.1 to fix a antivirus program isn't gonna cut it.

    So what can I do now?
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Did you have any other AV installed before? Is the ESET kernel service set to run in the local system account and interaction with desktop is enabled?
     

    Attached Files:

    • ekrn.jpg
      ekrn.jpg
      File size:
      41.8 KB
      Views:
      839
  3. Rage

    Rage Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    Yes I had AVG on the system but have removed it, the properties are set as you have indicated in services.

    I tried another approach by stopping the install after the error and restarted the system in case a virus or some other service was disabling the kernnel prior to Eset services. And I get a new error now.........."Could not start Eset service service on local computer Error 193: 0xc1

    I purchased a 2-license service.......would this make any difference?
     
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Please download and run ESET SysInspector, create a log, upload it to an ftp or a file sharing service and PM me the link. I'll check if certain registry entries are set up correctly.
     
  5. spelunk

    spelunk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Posts:
    15
    Remember; the different .NET frameworks coexist quite happily.... So no reason NOT to have 1.1, 2.x and 3.5 on the same machine...
     
  6. Rage

    Rage Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    Yes thank you, but I already have visual studio 2005 and 2008 coexisting on the system so NET 1.1 was previously installed with 2005 along with hot fix (KB928366).......besides they should be backward compatible......but since I program in VS2008 I didn't want to do so in the 1.1 environment.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.