SafeOnline x64 and brower support

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by ludo021288, Mar 7, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ludo021288

    ludo021288 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Posts:
    22
    Hi,

    Just got back after some very busy months of work...
    I'm wondering whether SafeOnline x64 now supports other browsers or if it still only supports IE? I'm using Opera 10.50 and the PrevX tab doesn't show... If it's planned, when do you intend to launch it?

    Thanks
     
  2. leofelix

    leofelix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    171
    Location:
    Italy
    Hi
    please make sure you are using latest PREVX Safe OnLine v 3.0.5.85.

    I use Windows 7 64 bit and Opera 10.50 as a second browser and PREVX works and it is shown.

    Cheers
     
  3. ludo021288

    ludo021288 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Posts:
    22
    I'm using PrevX Safe Online 3.0.5.85, Opera 1035 build 3296 and no SafeOnline Tab in Opera. SafeOnline is running fine in IE8 and FF3.6 but nothing with Opera 10.50. I'm running Windows 7 x64, all system updates are done. What's your detailed Opera version?
     
  4. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1634939&postcount=16

    TH
     
  5. plkplk

    plkplk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Posts:
    1
    Hi,

    I wish SafeOnline x64 would support the following browser:

    Sleipnir

    http://www.fenrir-inc.com/global/sleipnir/

    I've been using Sleipnir for years now and I think it's the best IE based shell around. :)

    Thanks.
     
  6. PC__Gamer

    PC__Gamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    526
    Dont think Prevx will ever support 3rd party clones, sorry. :blink:
     
  7. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Right now they only support IE, Firefox, Opera, Google Chrome and next will be Safari when they come out with a Version that works on Mac's! They can't support every Browser that's out there!

    TH
     
  8. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,363
    Location:
    Sweden
    SO does not support Chrome on Win7 x64 systems as it's glitchy at the moment. At least that's my experience. :) It freezes on Chrome startup and random freezes while surfing (using latest RC build 137). Working perfectly when using Firefox though!
     
  9. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    If you're experiencing this reliably (as it sounds like you are :)) and you'd be willing to do a remote support session to have me correct the issue, send me a PM and we can schedule a time :)

    Thanks for the help!
     
  10. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,363
    Location:
    Sweden
    I am definitely willing to do that! I'll send you a PM instantly.
     
  11. 800ster

    800ster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Posts:
    203
    What is the official word on Chrome support in the current version? The website lists V3/4 only but we now have V4 and V5beta out. Also as per problems stated in a few posts back is X64 browser support official?
    I've tried SO on V4 and V5beta and apart from the browser drop down disappearing sometimes is seems to work OK.
     
  12. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    We also do support v5 from what I've seen - we've had a few similar reports for the tab disappearing on the Chrome installation but protection will still be loaded in the background (it looks to only be a graphical issue because of how Chrome's transparency/windowing functions).

    If you do experience any larger problems, please let me know!
     
  13. 800ster

    800ster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Posts:
    203
    Thanks, I had a typo in my original post where the Prevx website actually only shows as supporting V2 & V3 so no mention of V4 which has been stable for some time.
     
  14. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Good point - I'll have our web guys update the website :thumb:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.