Safeonline & Snagit

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by Biscuit, May 26, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Biscuit

    Biscuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Posts:
    978
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    Safeonline is still blocking Snagit captures.

    This means that for my many customers having web access problems with Safeonline, I cannot provide them easy to understand instructions on how to turn off Safeonline.

    We really could do with a Safeonline disable option within the Prevx icon right click menu.
     
  2. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Hello,
    Disabling the full Prevx 3.0 protection will also disable SafeOnline which will allow SnagIt to function properly. The message we generally send to our customers is:

    "Hello,
    Could you please try changing the SafeOnline configuration from Maximum to High by clicking Configure next to SafeOnline Browser Security on the front screen of Prevx 3.0 and then clicking the left arrow on the slider bar to lower the protection. After clicking Save, please try rebooting your PC and after this, you should now be able to use SnagIt properly."

    Hope that helps! Alternatively, they can disable all of SafeOnline by clicking the large On/Off button which is only two clicks away from the main GUI and shouldn't be much of a problem to navigate to for users as long as it is clearly described.
     
  3. Biscuit

    Biscuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Posts:
    978
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    Thanks Joe

    Many of my users take half an hour to navigate to my website - let alone turn off Safeonline!

    I'm afraid that because of the issues between Safeonline, Snagit & Logmein, my only real fix is to stop selling the Safeonline component of Prevx. It really seems to be more trouble than it's worth. :doubt:
     
  4. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    @PrevxHelp

    Based on Biscuit's observations with users, would it possible to code in an extra right click option from the tray icon, that disabled just PSO for a couple of minutes ? I know the option exists for the whole shebang, but that wouldn't be always wise.
     
  5. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Yes I agree that would be a great option and simple for one's that want to take a quick snapshot! :thumb:

    TH
     
  6. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    We can possibly add another menu option to the right click tray icon menu, but users would still have to understand how to click it and disable it from there. Instructing users on lowering their protection from Maximum to High or just doing it on installation for them if you're walking them through would be much more effective than disabling SafeOnline entirely but in the end it's up to you. All of the issues you're experiencing are only caused by a small fraction of SafeOnline's protection - the screengrabber protection - which is largely unnecessary if you have full Prevx 3.0 protection installed.
     
  7. Biscuit

    Biscuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Posts:
    978
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    I agree that the screengrabber protection is unnecessary if Prevx is running in full mode. So if you'd rather not confuse the GUI by adding an extra option to the right click menu, maybe turn off screengrabber protection at licence activation if the full Prevx3 is in use? It's causing this reseller a lot of trouble for two or three pounds of profit.
     
  8. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    I'll see what we can do about potentially offering a separate version which has it set to "High" by default instead of Maximum. We probably would prefer not to have it lower the protection when a full license is installed just because of the potential for users who are testing to think that SafeOnline doesn't protect against screengrabbers when indeed it does.
     
  9. Biscuit

    Biscuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Posts:
    978
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    Thanks Joe.
     
  10. pling_man

    pling_man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Posts:
    463
    Location:
    UK
    Can't you just have some options to choose the PSO configuration at installation time. Either in the GUI or some in line parameters, e.g.

    PREVXCSIFREE /HTTP=MEDIUM /HTPS=HIGH

    where the default would be /HTTP=LOW and /HTTPS=MAXIMUM (as now)?

    If you do this in the GUI just have the defaults ticked and say "recommended" next to them.

    This would be better than a separate version.
     
  11. markusg

    markusg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Posts:
    248
    yes perhaps something like an profile at the instalations process
    one for heuristiks etc. there you can select low medium high max or something like this and for safe online perhaps split in https and http
     
  12. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    This is precisely what we will do, but I suspect that if a user can figure out how to type a commandline parameter, they would already be able to have changed the configuration so Biscuit would prefer if we had an unattended way to do so :)
     
  13. pling_man

    pling_man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Posts:
    463
    Location:
    UK
    But biscuit can wrap the command line in "shell" and just get his customers to double click on the wrapped setup program.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.