Safeonline and 100% CPU

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by JoeBlack40, Aug 4, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Location:
    Romania
    I have installed the Facebook version,it runs along with CIS 4 full suite.The problem is,after i open a browser,IE or Firefox (it happens with both) the web browsing is normal,speed normal,ok....but when i close the browser,suddenly my CPU is at 100%.I checked Task Manager,and i saw that minutes after minutes after the browser is closed,it's still open in background and "eating" my CPU.I have to end it manually.Needless to say that after uninstalling SO everything is normal.
    Tried with KIS 2010 too,the problem remains.Any ideas?
    Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2010
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Can you Please send a scan log as stated in this post with the link to this thread: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1662381&postcount=1

    TIA,

    TH
     
  3. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Location:
    Romania
    Will do,thank you TH.
     
  4. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Location:
    Romania
    Ok,received tonight email from PrevX.It was fast and encouraging,i did what they said,thank you,but.....nothing's changed.:'(
    Installed again,rebooted,and after....the same problem.This time i've made a screenshot.Maybe PrevX SO doesn't like my laptop or viseversa....:doubt:
    As you see,no browser is open...in fact,were closed about 2 minute before the screenshot.But are running in background...Again,terminated manually.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Aug 5, 2010
  5. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Please keep in contact with Prevx support as they will have other suggestions that could help!

    TH
     
  6. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Location:
    Romania
    I give up.It seems that it happens only to me.Well...it's not the end of the world if SO doesn't work properly on my machine.Anyway,a very nice security software.:thumb:
     
  7. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Wait till PrevxHelp replies he my have other suggestions! :doubt:

    TH
     
  8. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Location:
    Romania
    Ok,it seems that the problem is related to CIS.Why?Because i installed last night Online Armor Premium and Avast Home and Prevx SO "behaves" absolutely normal.No more browsers running in the background.I think i should post the problem on Comodo forums.Maybe they will listen.But first,i will try one more time CIS and SO.If the problem persists,it's crystal clear that the problem is with Comodo.
    Thank you TH for your encouragement.:thumb:
     
  9. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Anytime but I'm glad you found the problem! Maybe when you have CIS installed do a Prevx scan and send Prevx another scan log with the info you found and put Joe in the subject line with the link to this thread! https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1662381&postcount=1

    HTH,

    TH
     
  10. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Location:
    Romania
    Sent them with the first mail the link to this thread.I'll see when i can check again CIS with SO and post back.
     
  11. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Great please do!

    TH
     
  12. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Location:
    Romania
    Tried again,the problem remain.I've send the log file to PrevX.But i really don't know if they can do something about that,because the problem is Comodo related.Thanks.
     
  13. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    They might see something in the log and be able to give you directions!

    TH
     
  14. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Location:
    Romania
    As a matter of fact,i received the SAME email from PrevX.So,i don't think that something is changed.I will try again,maybe with CIS 5,even if it's in beta.
     
  15. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    We have made changes, unfortunately there are only so many ways to say so :) if you could follow the emailed instructions, it should work better now.
     
  16. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Location:
    Romania
    Ok,i will try right now and following the mail instructions.I will post back as soon as possible.
    Thank you.
     
  17. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Location:
    Romania
    Tried again.Unfortunately...still no changes.:'(
    I've let the initial scan to finish and after i've done a manual one as you instructed me in the mail.Rebooted.I've made this step 3 times,just to be sure.The problem remains,with the browsers running in the background.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Aug 16, 2010
  18. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Could you possibly try lowering SafeOnline from Maximum to Medium and see if that works any better? You'll still receive the bulk of the protection but this should at least make it more compatible within your browser.

    Let me know your results! :)
     
  19. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Location:
    Romania
    Tried,and no go for stability.If i understand correctly,it may have something to do with Defence+ or Sandbox of CIS.No help from their forums.I switched already to OA pro and Avast home.The browsers problems is gone,hope that now it will be ok.
    Thank you for all your help.:thumb:
     
  20. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Good to here that OA Premium, Avast and Prevx are working well for you now! Comodo I don't no much of but you have a good tight setup now! :thumb:

    Cheers,

    TH
     
  21. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Location:
    Romania
    Thank you TH for your assistance too :thumb:
    Well,about my setup,i would like to think that is strong enough :cool:
     
  22. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Location:
    Romania
    Well....now running SO with CIS 5 RC beta and all the problems are gone with new CIS.In fact,both programs are very light and fast too on my laptop.Cool!:thumb:
    I pray to remain this way (and here i'm speaking about CIS :D )

    Question (for not starting a new thread)-If i want to buy PrevX without SO..i have to run it with the Facebook version of SO separately,right?
    Thanks.
     
  23. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    No PrevxHelp would help you fix that up!

    TH
     
  24. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    You should be able to buy the normal Prevx and then insert the license key into the Facebook SafeOnline version, then receiving full protection, but let me know if anything breaks and I'll take a look! :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.