Safe Xp messed up my windows update

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by Simon Phoenix, Aug 17, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Simon Phoenix

    Simon Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Posts:
    152
    I think safe xp is the reason my windows updates won't work...It isn't installed in my computer but I think it still there, how can I remove any traces of this program from my computer thanks.
     
  2. trickyricky

    trickyricky Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Posts:
    475
    Location:
    London, UK
    You'd be best off using SafeXP to restore your initial settings from a file, if you saved them before making any changes with the program. SafeXP doesn't need installing or uninstalling - merely delete the directory with the SafeXP files in it and it's gone - but if you changed any settings with it, they will stay changed even if you remove SafeXP from your PC.

    If you never backed up your settings to a file before making any changes, you'll need to try to find out which change caused Windows Update to fail...
     
  3. Tom772

    Tom772 Guest


    Hi to reset Safe XP go to 'reset to state before first run' and this shouyld fix the problem, happened to me a while a go. really hope this helps.

    Take care T
     
  4. Simon Phoenix

    Simon Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Posts:
    152
    thanks, will do. :)
     
  5. Notok

    Notok Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    Portland, OR (USA)
    How exactly is Windows Update not working? What is it doing, or rather not doing?
     
  6. Simon Phoenix

    Simon Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Posts:
    152
    It says download failed whenever I try to download a update.
     
  7. Tom772

    Tom772 Guest

    This can be mainly down to some windows services being set to manual or disabled such as BITS, EVENT LOGS and AUTOMATIC UPDATES:) T
     
  8. Simon Phoenix

    Simon Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Posts:
    152
    Like what services do you think it is, windows update is set to automatic, yet I cannot download anything at all from the update site. Something is blocking it.
     
  9. Tom772

    Tom772 Guest

    http://www.theeldergeek.com/services_guide.htm a useful link to check, may help you figure out what services are not running for windows update?

    T;)
     
  10. Simon Phoenix

    Simon Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Posts:
    152
    Backround intelligence service on my computer won't run and it's on automatic, I think that's the problem.
     
  11. Tom772

    Tom772 Guest

    Go control panel>Admin tools>services>BITS>rightclick and click on stop/then start and try again?

    Any luck,

    T
     
  12. Simon Phoenix

    Simon Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Posts:
    152
    nope, tells me to review the system event log.
     
  13. Notok

    Notok Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    Portland, OR (USA)
  14. bch

    bch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Posts:
    122
    Location:
    Rochdale, UK
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 18, 2005
  15. Simon Phoenix

    Simon Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Posts:
    152
    Will try the above methods and respond when I get home, currently at the library. thanks to all, you guys are great. :)
     
  16. Simon Phoenix

    Simon Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Posts:
    152
    Here it is
     

    Attached Files:

  17. Simon Phoenix

    Simon Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Posts:
    152
    It's safe xp alright, won't install that crap again. I got about 7 more of those red errors.
     
  18. Notok

    Notok Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    Portland, OR (USA)
    I wouldn't be so sure, I've never seen anything like that happen w/ SafeXP..

    Here's someone else that had the same problem, got it fixed by re-registering a few DLLs.
    http://www.mcse.ms/message1678061-3.html
     
  19. Simon Phoenix

    Simon Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Posts:
    152
    Can you show me how to re-register dll's I'm kinda lost with that one.

    :oops:
     
  20. Notok

    Notok Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    Portland, OR (USA)
    Just go to Start > Run, type in "cmd" (without quotes, of course) and hit enter, that will bring up a comman prompt (a DOS-like window that is black), then type in "regsvr32 oleaut32.dll" and hit enter, that will register oleaut32.dll, repeat with the other DLL names.
     
  21. trickyricky

    trickyricky Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Posts:
    475
    Location:
    London, UK
    It isn't likely to be SafeXP that's messed things up. I have SafeXP on 2 PCs here and they both update fine.

    Don't forget that SafeXP is a tweaking tool, so, as I said earlier, you need to return to your initial PC state from within SafeXP to undo any changes you made with it. Simply uninstalling it won't work - that's like buying a spanner, adjusting your plumbing with it, seeing leaks starting everywhere and throwing away the spanner to try to cure the leaks. You have to change all the adjustments back before throwing the spanner away...
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.