Safe Version vs. Full Version

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by pt121984, Apr 14, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pt121984

    pt121984 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    Hello all,

    Why is it when I boot from the CD for TI 9.0 that in the Safe version, it will recognize the HArd Drives, but using the Full version, the hard drives are not seen at all?

    Thanks
    Patrick
     
  2. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    Simply because they are using different interfaces. The Full version is Linux, using whichever drivers it thinks are the best fit, whereas the safe version is DOS which (I understand) uses the BIOS interrupt interface.

    The DOS one is intended to be more generic and more likely to work with older established interfaces (e.g. not USB or Firewire), but the price you pay for this is speed. In otherwords a backup or restore in Safe mode is likely to take longer than Full.

    F.
     
  3. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    If you have the Intel 965 chipset on your motherboard this is a problem that is fixed in TI10 lastest build, I believe.
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello pt121984,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please make sure you use the latest build (3854) of Acronis True Image 9.0 Home. To get access to updates you should first register your software. Don't forget to recreate Acronis Bootable Rescue Media after updating.

    If updating does not solve the problem, please try booting with "acpi=off noapic" parameter as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    If the issue persists, please collect some information to let us investigate it thoroughly:

    Please create Acronis Report and Linux system information (sysinfo.txt) as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.