Rx unable to find free check point?

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by bgoodman4, Aug 5, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,130
    Today at boot (just after or just before Rx attempted to take its boot snap ---- no snap was taken) I received a message that read

    "Unable to find free check point."

    I hit enter and the PC appeared to load normally. There is plenty of free space for Rx snaps indicted on the Rx main window. Does anyone know what this means and what I should do about it?
     

    Attached Files:

    • RX.jpg
      RX.jpg
      File size:
      116.3 KB
      Views:
      11
  2. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,130
    Just rebooted and the correct message was

    "Failed to find free checkpoint"

    I am unable to create new snapshots. If I try to do a manual snap I get a message that the snap has been created but it does not appear in the snap history.
     
  3. pinso

    pinso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Posts:
    247
    I h used this ware before, during the install it takes a first Boot snapshot. i h forgot about this checkpoint u mention here.
    one word of advice, i used this ware before, n did successful restore ,but during the uninstallation, u'll could face some problem, cause i did. If u r using v8.1 then better remove it quikly, it has some bug issues. Better dload v9 , i heard it has fixed these bugs,,,,but i m better off without this RX. u should use any normal Back-up program, imo.......its the best;)
     
  4. Raza0007

    Raza0007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    1,425
    Location:
    USA
    The listed free space 52535 MB is related to which drive, C or D? Perhaps the other drive does not have enough free space to store an additional snapshot.
     
  5. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,130
    I have no idea which drive it refers to. Are the snaps stored on separate drives? I was under the impression that the snaps are stored as one file in a designated location. The D drive contains nothing that I am aware of.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Raza0007

    Raza0007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    1,425
    Location:
    USA
    Now that you mention it, I remember reading somewhere that the snapshots are all stored on the first partition. I did not use rollback to protect two partitions during the 1 month I tried it so I may be in error. I am sure someone more experienced with rollback rx can solve this for you.

    So the total space, used space and free space listed in the image corresponds to your C partition only?

    Keep in mind that if there were snapshots stored on D drive they will not be visible to windows explorer.
     
  7. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,130
    Understood.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.