"Runtime errors" after installing SPYWAREGUARD

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by Dynamic, Oct 30, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dynamic

    Dynamic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Good evening everyone,

    First of all I want to apologize if my "schoolbook English" fails from time to time...this humble Belgian is trying to make his first post on this forum.

    I hope someone can give me a hand in solving the following problem.

    Ever since I installed SPYWAREGUARD on my computer, "runtime errors" keep popping up, all with different numbers and on multiple occasions. Regretfully, I didn't note down these messages, except the most recent:

    [ script error: rule 1 "syntaxis error ]

    A search on the internet provided the following "possible" solution:

    In Internet explorer > internet options > advanced settings >
    1/ CHECK : "Disable error search in scripts".
    2/ UNCHECK: "Display every script error
    "

    Because I would like a second opinion from a respectable forum, my question is: "Do you think this is a good idea?
    If you are aware of other fixes regarding these "runtime errors", I'm always accessible to new suggestions.

    Thank you for your time and effort. ;)

    Greetings
     
  2. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
  3. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Hey Dynamic....Welcome to Wilders,

    Since there are a few known error messages with each having a known possible fix....we may have to deal with these one at a time if you are seeing that many. I'll list a few and hopefully some of them are ones you have seen but as we go along if you can give us the exact number it presents that sure will help.

    Runtime error links:

    Spyware Guard RunTime Error 5
    SpywareGuard run-time error 429 - read in for the fix!
    Run-time error '-2147221231 (80040111)':....or something similar.
     
  4. Dynamic

    Dynamic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Thanks for the reply,

    Yesterday I followed the advice of the forum I mentioned. As a result I didn't notice any messages concerning these runtime errors. That sounds obvious, but my most important concern now is: " Is it OK to check and uncheck these options? " Should I return to my previous settings in order to receive and note down the numbers?

    Greetings
     
  5. overwhelmed

    overwhelmed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1
    First off your "English" is more complete than 86% of individuals with english as a native language. Your spelling is in the top 1% of 'Forums' worldwide. Now that the 'sucking up' is finished!(just kidding) If you go to the "Microsoft Knowledge Base" index you'll find that doing those two things you mentioned is almost a default setting for your sanity. Otherwise you end up debugging everybodies software including IE itself.So please feel free. If you ever decide to be a cyber superhero you can re-activate them at a later date. Although if you have any info on errors that relate to Wilder...et al. and it's products than it is only polite to post them since you're on their forum. Does this advice step on anyones toes? If so, let me know! CHEERS, Newbie but not a NIMBY
     
  6. Dynamic

    Dynamic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Hi overwhelmed,

    First of all, thanks very much for the reply and your "overwhelming" comment on my English.
    I'm pleased to hear...English was always one of my favourites in college.
    However, I hope that in the future I'm still entitled to make an error now and then.

    That should do it...back to earth!

    Concerning your reply, I have a question or two.
    Because Belgians (and I'm certainly not an exception) are not known as the most self confident people around, I'd like your confirmation on a few things you mentioned in your post:

    1/ "...doing those two things is almost a default setting for your sanity..":

    Does this mean that I should indeed check and uncheck these options in advanced settings?

    2/ "...if you have any info on errors that relate to Wilder...it is only polite to post them...on their forum...":

    I'm confused by this one: did I personally sin against forum rules?
    If so, my humble apologies.

    Dynamic greetings,
     
  7. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.