Running too much protection?

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by bobsd, Jan 23, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bobsd

    bobsd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2004
    Posts:
    7
    I installed Spyware Guard and MRU Blaster yesterday, updated and all was well. Signed off the internet and left the room for several hours. When I returned, the screensaver was locked up, finally got it off. The desktop picture was gone and the screen was blue except for the icons. Windows Task Manager said CPU usage was 100%. I rebooted and removed the two programs and everything ran allright all day today. I am running XP SP2, AVG Anti Virus, Spywareblaster, Spybot S&D, and Microsoft Anti Spyware (Beta). Am I being overcautious and running too much?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 24, 2006
  2. bobsd

    bobsd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2004
    Posts:
    7
    Please change Spyware Guide to read Spyware Guard
     
  3. TNT

    TNT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Posts:
    948
    Nope. Spyware Guard and Spybot S&D are not resident in memory, and AVG is pretty light. I don't think that's the problem here.
     
  4. john smith

    john smith Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Posts:
    59
    Which firewall are you using? I ask because I use Zone Alarm (free version) and occasionally one of its modules begins eating most of the CPU resources until I close it down and restart it; hasn't happened in a while, though.

    Check Task Manager and see which app is using the most resources.

    John S.
     
  5. sosaiso

    sosaiso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Posts:
    601
    That can't be it either. I have ZA free, Pro, and Suite on different computers with SGuard, and no problems. :T
     
  6. bobsd

    bobsd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2004
    Posts:
    7
    Thanks for the replies. I am running Microsoft's firewall.
     
  7. Cindy62707

    Cindy62707 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Posts:
    75
    Hi,

    I am wondering if you have solved your problem as I started having a similar problem today. My CPU usage for Spyware Guard is running at 97-98%, occasionally dropping down to 67% before bouncing back up again. My CPU meter is at 100% and it usually is way down 4-30%.

    I am running Windows XP with all Service Packs installed. I have SpywareGuard 2.2 running in the task bar at all times and I run Webroot Spy Sweeper every night in addition to NAV.

    Everything was running fine until today. SpywareGuard has never been a CPU hog before so I don't know what to do about it. I checked liveup date and it says I am current on on SpywareGuard updates.

    Can anyone help? I saw an old message talking about the same thing without a definitive answer but it was too old to reply off it.

    Thank you,
    Cindy
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.