Running PunkBuster with ProcessGuard

Discussion in 'ProcessGuard' started by freefall, Jul 22, 2005.

  1. Juggernaut

    Juggernaut Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Posts:
    60
    Make sure you also delete the registry entry from the previous version of Process Guard or all kinds of silliness will ensue.
     
  2. Joliet Jake

    Joliet Jake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    911
    Location:
    Scotland
    Yeah, did that.
    I had to boot into safe mode to change that registry entry.
     
  3. war59312

    war59312 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2002
    Posts:
    72
    Location:
    U.S.A
    In Windows XP and above regedit32.exe simply points to regedit.exe.

    So they are the same. :)
     
  4. punk'd

    punk'd Guest

    Does this tweak still work with the newest version of PG? Haven't installed the newest version yet and won't if I will be unable to game again.
     
  5. Juggernaut

    Juggernaut Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Posts:
    60
    Yes, but make sure you remove the old registry entry or you will have conflicts. I Admin and play on PB enabled BF2 and CoD:UO servers with no problems.
     
  6. Wayne - DiamondCS

    Wayne - DiamondCS Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Posts:
    1,533
    Location:
    Perth, Oz
    I've made this thread a sticky for now as threads and emails about it keep popping up ;)
     
  7. ryoko

    ryoko Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Posts:
    6
    i have a full version PG 3.150 which installed on my pc.
    i haven't got any problem for using PG before but now i have a big problem:
    when i started running some program i got a msg form that program: " You must uninstall PG to run this application ". i re-installed PG but i still got that msg.
    btw, if i uninstall PG then i don't get an any msg, but i don't want to uninstall PG.
    i saw:
    and i tried:
    but not successed . can any1 solve this prob ?
    thx for support!
     
  8. Paranoid2000

    Paranoid2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Posts:
    2,839
    Location:
    North West, United Kingdom
    How about saying what exactly this program was, rather than requiring everyone else here to guess?
     
  9. ryoko

    ryoko Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Posts:
    6
    what do u mean o_O
    that program which i was saying , LACD_client.exe.
    i'm playing WOW on private server and must run LACD_client.exe first to connect this server. when i run, i got that msg: " you must uninstall PG to connect this server ".
     
  10. Paranoid2000

    Paranoid2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Posts:
    2,839
    Location:
    North West, United Kingdom
    Apologies - I based my reply on the email notification of your post which did not include your quote blocks, hence did not mention LACD.

    If the workaround no longer functions, then that suggests that PunkBuster have updated their software to counter it. Given that you mention a private server, the best option would be to contact the admin and ask them not to require PunkBuster.
     
  11. StriderSkorpion

    StriderSkorpion Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Posts:
    54
    Actually, World of Warcraft uses Warden and not Punkbuster. They're two entirely different programs, IIRC. Warden being created by Blizzard and for use solely with their products. Did you try putting the program into the protection tab and giving it read rights?
     
  12. StriderSkorpion

    StriderSkorpion Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Posts:
    54
    Are you using a custom program to connect a third party server (i.e. non-Blizzard server)? If so, the program could be using a custom protection rather than PunkBuster or Warden. You might want to check the server's website and/or forums and see if there's a way to use the program without uninstalling ProcessGuard. If it's for vanilla WoW, I'd post to Blizzard's official forums to see if you could use WoW without uninstalling ProcessGuard.
     
  13. ryoko

    ryoko Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Posts:
    6
    thx for support
    yes, i'm using LACD_client.exe program to connect PRIVATE WOW SERVER ( its same free WOW server , not official WOW ). LACD program like Warden which uses to detect and prevents hack program. But LACD can be blocked from reading hack programs by ProcessGuard ( for older LACD ) and now LACD was updated to newest version. when i execute it then i got that msg what i said above. i don't want to use any hack program but i really need ProcessGuard to prevent trojan,.. I've said with administrator of that wow server but he said:"no way, u must remove PG if u want to play wow on my server "
    so i asked some1 on this forum if who can solve this then answer me or PM me via mail: kurapika2002@msn.com
    btw srry for my bad english.
     
  14. Wayne - DiamondCS

    Wayne - DiamondCS Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Posts:
    1,533
    Location:
    Perth, Oz
    It is completely unacceptable being told to remove or disable a security program simply to run a GAME. Do not put up with it - inform your administrator that such a response is a security risk.
     
  15. RadicalEdward

    RadicalEdward Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Posts:
    64
    What a load of crap...let's see how many games they can play when their system gets compromised....I think a list of games should be created in which this is a problem so that way people might be able to avoid buying the games and wasting their money....
     
  16. tempnexus

    tempnexus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Posts:
    280
    Well PunkBuster is still blocking ProcessGuard...I EMPLORE ALL THE HACKERS TO HACK THE CRAP OUT OF PUNK BUSTER AND BREAK INTO ALL PUNK BUSTER RAN GAMES, ROOT THEIR SYSTEM AND MAKE THEM ACT AS BOTS.

    Maybe then EVENBALANCE will listen to allow ProcessGuard!
     
  17. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Hi tempnexus, This is a securiy related site, we do not condone hacking in any way or for any reason.

    Putting pressure on Evenbalance is a way forward but this should be done in a correct and lawful manner, if enough people complain, hopefully the company will see the light and address the problems.

    Pilli
     
  18. HJam72

    HJam72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Posts:
    34
    Location:
    Kerrville, TX
    ProcessGuard--the Punk that Busted PunkBuster. :D
     
  19. lupus

    lupus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Posts:
    22
    Tested the workaround with the free multiplayer standalone of FEAR (FEAR Combat) and it still works perfectly.
     
  20. Paranoidjack

    Paranoidjack Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1
    The above quote was using a private WoWserver which are in no way affiliated with Blizzard. Blizzard in fact will take legal action against people hosting private servers so the view of that admin is in no way connected with blizzards.

    I use Proccss Guard while playing WoW on official servers to protect myself from keyloggers and never have I been notified to stop using it since I give the wow.exe full access so it doesnt effect the warden anti-cheat system. On the other hand I know people are using process guard to stop warden accessing the process`s of the cheat software. It`s become a tool they are using along with rootkits to become undetectable and it`s working. So I can see why PunkBuster see it as a something that dont want running on their clients computers.
     
  21. Kazuma

    Kazuma Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Posts:
    5
    What is the old entrys?
     
  22. Peina

    Peina Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Posts:
    1
    Yep, senior members/experts, please help us out here! :oops:

    I followed the instructions (as far as I understood them) and proceeded as follows:

    1. Safe Mode'ed
    2. regedit, exported the original DCSPGSRV
    3. killed the original in the registry
    4. renamed DCSPGSRV to DCSPGSRVCYCLOP in the exported file and merged it back with the registry.

    Thus my PB issue so far seems to be resolved (online games run fine), BUT:

    - I noticed, that the imported thread (or what is it called?) does not have subfolders. I remember there were two of them, when I was intiating the export. But, later on, when I rebooted, one of them appeared again. And now, this whole registry thread looks as below.

    http://hallelujah.wolfenstein.ru/PGregistry.jpg

    Please advise if this is eventful.



    And yet two more questions: (1) should anything else be deleted from the registry? (2) above someone mentioned that PG should be reinstalled after this DCSPGSRV manipulation: is this really so? why?

    P.S.: pls note that I'm only trying out PG, and this is a free version.

    Thank you very much in advance!!!
    Yours truly.
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2006
  23. FirePost

    FirePost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    213
    The old entries are the entries that were changed in the first place. You are reading a section that talks about changing those entries back so that one may uninstall the old version and upgrade to a new version of PG.

    Read it again. They were talking about upgrading to a newer version.