Running IFL on UEFI without a Boot Disk

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Mister X, Oct 2, 2016.

  1. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    2,931
    Location:
    Mexico
    Yes, piece of cake.

    Great! Thank you!
     
  2. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,230
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Do you have a third item in the EasyUEFI Boot list? I found I'd get a UEFI OS to match the item I'd created manually.
     
  3. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    2,931
    Location:
    Mexico
    No just two:
    First: Windows Boot Manager
    Second: IFL
     
  4. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    2,931
    Location:
    Mexico
    Does Validate script is set to reboot when it finishes?
    I ask because when it finished a message popped up saying Validate was OK but didn't restarted.
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2016
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,230
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Sorry, I missed that. You need --uy

    --v --uy
     
  6. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    2,931
    Location:
    Mexico
    No problem, thanks.
     
  7. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    2,931
    Location:
    Mexico
    In order to free my USB stick I made an image using IFW and restored to the free space on the HD and it worked. You know that image file serves for deploying your IFL method across n computers while keeping my USB sticks free. :thumb:
     
  8. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,230
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I'm confused. Did you restore the IFL image to another computer?
     
  9. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    2,931
    Location:
    Mexico
    Sorry.
    To make IFL partition on HD I need to free space on it, next I copy using IFW the IFL UFD to such free space.
    However in order to use your method across many computers without having a dedicated IFL UFD, I did an image of that UFD using IFW and saved it elsewhere. That way whenever I need to use your method I just restore that image to the free space using IFW, no need to have a UFD...

    I did three sets of everything for each Windows versión I use, editing what I need to change:
    1. Win7 (this one is slightly different, @0x1,0x2,0x3 only)
    2. Win8.1
    3. Win10
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2016
  10. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,230
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Excellent.
     
  11. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    2,931
    Location:
    Mexico
    I did three sets of everything for each Windows versión I use, editing what I need to change:
    1. Win7 (this one is slightly different, @0x1,0x2,0x3 only)
    2. Win8.1
    3. Win10
     
  12. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    2,931
    Location:
    Mexico
    Thank you very much for this brilliant solution. As usual from you.
    Hope this is it cause I'm going to set back my PC with my normal SSD and everything.

    chapeau
     
  13. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,230
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Thank you. It certainly has been interesting. The corrected script for the paid version is...

    Code:
    @echo off
    CD /d %~dp0
    set TBOSDT=C:\Program Files (x86)\TeraByte Drive Image Backup and Restore Suite\TeraByte OSD Tool Suite Pro\win
    "%TBOSDT%\tbosdtw.exe" type.tbs
    echo.
    "C:\Program Files\EasyUEFI\bin\easyuefic.exe" --list-efi
    "C:\Program Files\EasyUEFI\bin\easyuefic.exe" --one-time-boot --index 1
    pause
    shutdown -r -t 0
     
  14. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,230
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    For those with Macrium Reflect or other WinPEs who would like to run them from the HD. None of the scripts apply to you. Just copy the UFD to the HD and boot it from the EasyUEFI GUI.
     
  15. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    2,931
    Location:
    Mexico
    Video demonstration about how this beautiful method works. All due credits to @Brian K

    https://www.youtube-nocookie.com/embed/SpIQ8wtZaEE?rel=0
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2016
  16. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,230
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Mister X,

    Nice. Are you using the EasyUEFI Pro version? Trial or paid?
     
  17. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    2,931
    Location:
    Mexico
    Pro, paid.
     
  18. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,230
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Great. My Pro trial period is over so I can't do what you are doing. I'll buy it too when I start using UEFI mode on my main computer but that could be years away. I prefer MBR mode. UEFI mode is used in my test computer.
     
  19. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,230
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Mister X,

    If you would like to try TBOSDT Pro instead of EasyUEFI your files would be...

    type.cmd

    Code:
    @echo off
    CD /d %~dp0
    set TBOSDT=C:\Program Files (x86)\TeraByte Drive Image Backup and Restore Suite\TeraByte OSD Tool Suite Pro\win
    "%TBOSDT%\tbosdtw.exe" type.tbs
    echo.
    pause
    shutdown -r -t 0
    


    type.tbs

    Code:
    sub main()
      ext("list uefi bootitems")
      printl("")
      ext("open fs 0: 0 0x07")
      ext("del file 0:\scripts\scriptslist.txt /y")
      printl("")
      ext("SET TEXTLINE 0:\scripts\scriptslist.txt ^"Backup.tbs^"")
      printl("scriptslist.txt contains...")
      printl("")
      ext("type 0:\scripts\scriptslist.txt")
      ext("close fs 0:")
      printl("")
      ext("set uefi bootnext bootnum")
    end sub
    
    Edit... you have to determine the bootnum from a previous "list uefi bootitems"
    For example, if it is 0x0006 then the line would be...
    ext("set uefi bootnext 0x0006")
     
  20. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    2,931
    Location:
    Mexico
    Thank you.
     
Loading...