Running an AV/AS/AM scan?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Dregg Heda, Feb 3, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dregg Heda

    Dregg Heda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Posts:
    830
    I was wondering if you could use your PC while running a AV/AS/AM scan in the background? TIA.
     
  2. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Stop wondering, try it.
     
  3. Dregg Heda

    Dregg Heda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Posts:
    830
    So you are saying that running an on demand scan while actually using the PC including the programs to be scanned will not in any way affect the results of the scan or screw up the programs Im using?
     
  4. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Even if MS was writing all the code (vs included) would I consider your above optimism an intelligent decision. Then again, I'm unqualified to state how the different developers go about reading Win api's. What I suggest you do is add "design challenges" to your essential reading list, explained in a concise, clear-cut manner. Maybe then you'll gain a greater appreciation of what they're up against.
     
  5. Dregg Heda

    Dregg Heda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Posts:
    830
    Sorry but I'm just confused by what you're saying. Let me simplify my question. Is it safe for me to use the PC while an on demand scan is being done by lets just say SAS for example? Or should I leave the computer idle while such a scan is being processed?

    EDIT: I read the article but it seems to be talking about scanners which scan everytime you access a file. I am refering to an on demand scan. As in I start an on demand scan via SAS/Kaspersky/etc and while the program is doing its scan I use the computer. Is this possible?
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2009
  6. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    You have an image in place? Are you prepared for a software shortcoming?
     
  7. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,779
    I don't see why you can't continue your work and use the computer while a scan is going. Worst case, the scanner may not be able to open a file or access it if it's in use, so the scan may miss a file or two. No big deal.
     
  8. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    I have scanned with an a/v or a/s scanner while surfing with no problems.
    I don't make a habit of it though.
     
  9. Dregg Heda

    Dregg Heda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Posts:
    830
    Thanks for all the info guys!
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.