Running a distro from an external usb harddrive ?

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by chrome_sturmen, Dec 9, 2019.

  1. chrome_sturmen

    chrome_sturmen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    853
    Location:
    Sverige
    wondering about experiences regarding this *puppy*
     
  2. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    4,765
    Location:
    USA still the best. But getting worse!
    Perfect experiences.
     
  3. chrome_sturmen

    chrome_sturmen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    853
    Location:
    Sverige
    truly?
    mine seems running well as well
    i made 3 partitions, a dedicated boot partition, home, and root (no swap)
    kubuntu installer had no problem with this setup, and it seems running fine
     
  4. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    2,705
    Location:
    Canada
    MX-19 on a USB with persistence, where I can choose to save or not upon shutdown or reboot. No problems at all.
     
  5. login123

    login123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Posts:
    153
    Yes to good experiences with many of them. They are fast.
    Ran Slitaz from a camera card, tried that just for fun. Worked. :)
    Puppy linux & some others run in RAM.
    Fatdog 64 works here on a 64 bit win 7 UEFI / GPT system.
    Got it to boot from a cd & run in RAM. Couldn't get it to boot from a USB stick, but didn't try very hard.
    Many (but not all) of the office files created will open in windows office software.
     
  6. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    4,765
    Location:
    USA still the best. But getting worse!
    PartedMagic & GParted spring to mind. Cause I just used them a couple hours ago. Perfect as per usual.
     
  7. chrome_sturmen

    chrome_sturmen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    853
    Location:
    Sverige
    How did you guys approach your partitioning?
    I made 3 partitions, a dedicated small boot partition for the bootloader, a home partition, and a root partition.
    It's just an old 5400 rpm drive, running through usb 2.0, but it seems to run pretty well
     
  8. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,553
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    One partition. Root.

    Grub is in this partition in MBR systems. In UEFI/GPT systems, Grub is in the ESP.
     
  9. chrome_sturmen

    chrome_sturmen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    853
    Location:
    Sverige
    Brian - I just had a bit of a peculiar experience. I got brazen, and decided to try installing kubuntu alongside windows on my internal harddisk:

    I was only able to create 1 partition (mbr limits) so I installed kubuntu to it along with it's bootloader. This was such that when I rebooted, it went to windows as normal. I then edited the bcd to point to the linux installation and added a boot entry. When I rebooted and selected to boot linux, I got a prompt to unlock my bitlocker c: drive, then it went to linux, but the boot failed. no success

    I formatted the linux partition and tried again - this time I installed the linux bootloader to the same small partition that the windows boot files are on, I figured it'd be ok. This time I got the linux menu, but it had no windows boot option - maybe ubuntu doesn't recognize a bitlockered partition as a windows install?
    So at this point I had no way of getting back to windows, so I formatted the linux partition, installed windows to that partition, from there edited the boot menu entries, and got myself back to my main windows install. fun times

    If I installed linux into 1 partition only, then in windows created a boot menu entry that pointed to it (used easybcd) shouldn't it have booted properly?
    thoughts appreciated
     
  10. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,553
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    chrome_sturmen,

    I'm out of touch with installing Linux that way. You have to install Grub into the MBR and I can't recall how the Boot Menu works.

    I use BootIt BM for Win/Linux multi-booting. There is no 4 primary partition limitation. You can have dozens of Win/Linux OS. Grub is installed into the Linux partition, not into the MBR as this would inactivate BootIt.

    BCD Edits aren't needed.

    The BootIt way...

    https://www.terabyteunlimited.com/kb/article.php?id=281

    https://www.terabyteunlimited.com/kb/article.php?id=279
     
  11. chrome_sturmen

    chrome_sturmen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    853
    Location:
    Sverige
    Brian - a year or so ago I tried using bibm to create more than 4 primary partitions on a mbr disk.. worked great - then for fun opened the disk in a different partition manager, and the partition table looked like an artist had splattered paint all over a white canvas :isay:
    Sure like the idea of endless primaries on an mbr disk tho..
    Ended up using an external 2.5 drive with yumi, endless live distros at the ready :eek:
    BIBM is a bit too powerful :eek:
     
  12. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    2,705
    Location:
    Canada
    Yes it is installed to the MBR. In my case after installing MX-19 on separate partitions next to Windows 10, I just had to run from a terminal: "sudo update-grub" in order for the Windows installation to be added to the boot menu. You just use the up/down arrow keys to select which O/S you want to boot from. Linux will be placed first in the boot order, but it's easy enough to move the Windows O/S to the top so it's selected first by default.
     
  13. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,553
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    chrome_sturmen,

    When you are running BIBM with Unlimited Primaries you must not use other partitioning apps. You could easily create disaster.
     
  14. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,553
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Thanks for that.
     
  15. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,399
    The update-grub command is usually only needed after a fresh install of MX Linux, because MX uses a unique and super-fast tool for grub installation. In some cases it misses Windows, when MX is installed for the first time.
    Whenever grub gets messed up, I love the MX grub-repair tool. It is so good and so fast. On a multi-boot system, I will fix the MX grub, by using a live MX USB stick, thus allowing me to boot into other installed distros, and run install-grub from within that system itself, if I want it.
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.