Run now, will not run...

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Blackspear, Oct 28, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    I have a virus free Windows 98 machine with MS Office and Quick Books Pro on it. I have set up a weekly scheduled scan with Nod32, however, when I right click on the scan in Schedular/Planner> Scheduled Tasks, and click on “run now”, nothing happens. The same scenario works perfectly on XP Machines, is this a Windows 98 bug with Nod32?

    I am yet to see if the scan will actually run, will find out next Monday at 8.15am ;) :D

    Any other Windows 98 users finding the same problem?

    Cheers :D
     
  2. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Anyone with Windows 98 that has set up a scheduled scan, can you try right clicking on it to see if it will "Run Now"

    Cheers :D
     
  3. flyrfan111

    flyrfan111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,224
    Wish I could help buddy, got XP on both systems. I can't believe nobody has 98, I know it is old but you can't be the only person still running it with NOD.
     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2004
  4. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    I only have XP machines as well, it's my uncles computer, so just trying to find someone else running Windows 98....

    Thanks anyway...

    Cheers :D
     
  5. flyrfan111

    flyrfan111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,224
    I hope someone will be along that is using it. I think Mele20 mentioned using it on one of her boxes, might try a PM to her. You aren't asking all that much. Hell if I didn't have so much installed and setup just the way I like, I might wipe my hdd and install it just to try it for you.

    Can't you move up the scheduled start for the purposes of seeing if it works?
     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2004
  6. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Thank you for the nice thought, appreciate it… :D


    Yes I could, just didn’t have the time yesterday. This started out 2 days ago when I found he doesn’t run a regular scan, in fact has never run a scan, I did one right then and there, all clean :D

    When the new scheduled scan wouldn’t run by right clicking 2 days ago, I started to download the latest version 2.12.3 After an hour on dial-up it got to 99% and then the connection was lost. So went back yesterday with Nod32 2.12.3 on disk, as well as updates on the same disk. Uninstalled, deleted the Eset folder, reinstalled, set up the scheduled scan, and found the exact same problem, grrrrrrr.

    Hence the question to other Windows 98 users, if I can find one ;) Seems as though they are scarce as hens teeth these days ;) :D

    Cheers :D
     
  7. rumpstah

    rumpstah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Posts:
    486
    Just a thought. ;)

    Are you running the Windows 98 commands for the scheduled scan like this?

    c:\progra~1\eset\nod32.exe
    c:\progra~1\eset
    /local /everthing else?

     
  8. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    No, I have the following in the Scheduled Task:

    Browsed to the Eset folder and clicked on nod32.exe

    Then added the following:
    C:\ /clean /ah /all /subdir+ /heur+ /scanfile+ /scroll+ /arch+ /pack+ /mapi- /pattern+ /scanboot+ /scanmbr+ /heurdeep /log+ /prompt /program

    So I gather I should have:
    c:\progra~1\eset\nod32.exe

    and then:
    C:\ /clean /ah /all /subdir+ /heur+ /scanfile+ /scroll+ /arch+ /pack+ /mapi- /pattern+ /scanboot+ /scanmbr+ /heurdeep /log+ /prompt /program

    Cheers :D
     
  9. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Well that hasn't worked either, also brought forward the scheduled scan to 2 minutes ahead, and it will not run, period.

    Any other suggestions?

    Cheers :D
     
  10. rumpstah

    rumpstah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Posts:
    486
    Did you have File: c:\progra~1\eset\nod32.exe and the Working Directory as c:\progra~1\eset ?

    I have had to put this in previously for Win9X.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    LOL, now you tell me, just been there, will have to wait until I go back this afternoon or next week to give that another try...

    Cheers :D
     
  12. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Well Rumpstah, you da man ;) :D

    It works perfectly when you put in the settings as per your screenshot...

    Cheers :D
     
  13. rumpstah

    rumpstah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Posts:
    486
    Glad it worked. ;)

    Win9x is not as "robust" when it comes to directories as WinNT machines.

     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.