"Router Solicitation" As A Rules Order Test?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by FireDancer, Jul 27, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. FireDancer

FireDancer Registered Member

Hi all,

I am new to fire walls and for a day now I have been reading and learning about RULES and where they should be.. ALOT of trial and error !!! I was reading from a link givin to me and for the life of me cant remember what link it was and im sorry for that.... anyways this link was talking about rules and order of rules and IF I inturpeted it right the rules said I could do a "Router Solicitation" to see if the rules worked that I have.
    Well let me tell you.... LOL this is exactly what I did following these rules....
    Once you have the DHCP server IP address, you can configure your rules.

= = = = = = = = = = =
    Rule #1:
    Description: DHCP In/Out
    Protocol: UDP
    Direction: Both
    Local End Port:68
    Application: ANY (or your DHCP program)
    Remote End Port: 67
    Remote Address: DHCP Server IP
    Rule Valid: Always
    Action: Permit
    Logging: None
    = = = = = = = = = = =
    Rule #2:
    Description: DHCP
    Protocol: UDP
    Direction: Outgoing
    Local End Port:68
    Application: ANY (or your DHCP program)
    Remote End Port: 67
    Remote Address: 255.255.255.255
    Rule Valid: Always
    Action: Permit
    Logging: None
    = = = = = = = = = = =
    After this try to release and renew your IP with Rule Learning thing on just to make sure the rules work

Is this a viable test? and if so maybe then I can decifer all of what I got on my Firewall log.
    I can make sence of it somewhat and every last thing in the logg was BLOCKED from TCP to UDP, ICMP, NETBIOS and even LAST RULE BLOCK ALL!!!

My blocks came in the order of this maybe someone can look and give me some input as to what i am seeing and if order looks right... I am not sure this is even a valid test
    Regards,
    FireDancer

Attached Files: