router installation question

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by kraeon, Feb 22, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kraeon

kraeon Registered Member

here's my question if anyone can help:

i recently aquired a hawking technology router. model pn9249. i am trying to install it on my computer. i am having trouble getting my pc to recognize it is there and working. i dont have any sort of setup disk or anything because it was a stupid hand me down. so any suggestions on what i should do to solve this problem....im not a genius about computers but i have some knowledge.

thanks.

2. Capp

Capp Registered Member

Just a quick check...

Have you tried using your brower and going to:

"home"
    -or-

and seeing if it will bring it up.

do an IPCONFIG /ALL and see what "Gateway" it is listing and see if you can browse to that

Good luck :)

3. kraeon

kraeon Registered Member

i tried all 3 and got nothing...when i tried config/all...it skipped right out of dos and shut the window...im really at a loss. when its hooked up, my connection says its working, but its not getting any pings back and i can't get to the internet. seriously, i really don't get why its not working. i need like specific directions....i've never had a router before...

4. LockBox

LockBox Registered Member

5. Capp

Capp Registered Member

For starters, what OS are you running?
    Second, Why do you need a router? Are you connecting to another network or are you just needing to network pc's together in your house. If all you are wanting to do is share an internet connection...i recommend a switch instead of a router.

If you must :D

try: 192.168.1.1
    User: (leave blank)
    pw: password

6. kraeon

kraeon Registered Member

im using xp.

im wanting to use the router for an xbox i have so i dont have to boot my roommate off the pc so i can play. if this is totally the wrong hardware that i have...what it a good suggestion for what im trying to do?