RollbackRX and Imaging with Terabyte

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by aigle, Aug 3, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    I did some imaging tests with RollbackRX and terabyte( IFW, IFD, BING).

    While I was in Rollback snapshot A I took an image of my HD with IFD and BING respectively( say this [B]image X[/B])
    Then I uninstalled some of the software( just to make my current system stste different from the [B]image X[/B] I took), and then I made a new snapshot with RollbackRX , called B.
    Now I tried to restored my image X taken with IFD and BING one by one. In both cases result was exactly same. Image restored successfully according to BING and IFD but on boot up, RollbackRX boot screen appeared, it took control of MBR and took me straight to the last system state before image restore, that was snapshot B. The result-- no image restore infact because RollbackRX is there in MBR and it does not matter what u write in the windows file system. RoollbackRx will restore the system to the state as it was just prior to last shut down.

    Then I uninstalled RollbackRX while I was in snapshot B( with the option to keep snapshot B as my system state after uninstall of RollbackRX).
    Again tried to restore Image X with IFD, I expected the image restored to be the snapshot A of RollbackRx but it was infact my original base line snapshot( say R) of RollbackRX, neither snapshot
    B nor A. Result-- IFW imaged my base line snapshot( not the snapshot A in spite of the fact that when I took image with IFW, I was in snapshot A. Same for BING.

    I have posted these results as I think the results of some user are probably different than mine.
    So I want to know exactly, what is the status of imaging with terabyte utilities while using RollbackRX.
     
  2. furballi

    furballi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Posts:
    263
    Stick with ONE imaging program that works BEST (100% reliable) with your system. DO NOT mix n match imaging/backup proggies, especially those that mess around with the MBR.

    The best strategy is to set the MBR to DEFAULT condition, then install the imaging application of choice.
     
  3. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Restoring image X should always give you the same result. That's the purpose of restore.
     
  4. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I think, because of the file system used with RB, you must use the "Raw" copy option .

    From Terabyte
    IFD/IFW are doing their job, as asked but there is a problem with the RB snapshots.

    RB when installed will own the MBR.

    This may be a genuine sticking point for RB and Terabyte apps. :(
     
  5. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
  6. wilbertnl

    wilbertnl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    1,850
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
  7. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,043

    Have you tested it. see my post in the other thread. WHen I last looked at it there was no support for external drives.
     
  8. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Are these two programmes same- EAZ-FIX and RollbackRx.
     
  9. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    According my readings at Wilders upto now, they look exactly the same.
    If that is true, it must be the same developer.
    It's impossible that two different developers would create exactly the same software. How it is done, I don't know, but it's easy to do, just like selling the same washing machine under different names.

    At work, we also bought a software from another company with the source programs included. We changed the programs a little bit and it looks like our software. :)
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2006
  10. laqui

    laqui Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Posts:
    11
    Hi.
    This is a couple of questions I asked the HDS support team and the reply I get to them:


    guest (Christian)
    2006-08-16 11:29:15 Hi.
    In which way the advance setting "GHOST=1" changes the behavior of Rollback?
    If, for example, I use Image for Windows within a BartPE environment, the image that I get, has all the snapshots or only the baseline?
    How can I get an image with all the snapshots?
    Thanks in advance.
    Christian.
    Andrew Shen
    2006-08-16 11:43:11 Rollback provides protection by monitoring and tracking hard disk sectors, sectors used by one snapshot do not appear as used in another snapshot. To get an image with all the snapshots, you would have to image the drive with sector by sector option.
    Ghost=1 option allows you to image the drive within a snapshot. For example, you want to image the snapshot 5, you would first restore to the snapshot 5. Press HOME to enter subsytem console, run "ghost=1", select Boot from floppy to go to command prompt, image the disk. The image will contain the data from snapshot 5. Thank you.


    Bye.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.