Rollback RX v11.x (Home & Professional)

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by TheRollbackFrog, Jul 5, 2018.

  1. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,755
    EaseUS also have RollBack software, called EaseUS System GoBack, so why use a troublesome one?
     
  2. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Is it an imaging program or does it work like Rollback?
     
  3. taotoo

    taotoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Posts:
    458
  4. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Thats what I thought
     
  5. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,188
    HorizonDataSys mentions "If you require an extended evaluation period, please contact our sales team and they can provide you with an extended trial key for 30, 60 or 90 day."
    When Rollback Rx 11 released, I contacted them for a 90-day trial license. They replied the extended trial key is for business users.
    I then contacted Eazy Fix and received a 90-day trial license. I asked the Support about Rollback Rx. He replied Rollback Rx is their Sister company.
    I tried both Eazy Fix 11 and Rollback Rx Pro 11. Both the products are same. There may be a few differences in the products. I find Eazy Fix a little better compared to Rollback Rx. I switched to Eazy Fix.
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2019
  6. lemonlime

    lemonlime Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Posts:
    26
    I haven't visited this Rollback thread for many months. If it's still active I have a question about
    using Defraggler with Rollback installed.

    Link for Defraggler:
    https://www.ccleaner.com/defraggler

    Could Defraggler damage Rollback? There is an option to exclude files from the defrag process.
    If protecting Rollback files from Defraggler is necessary, tell me which files or directories should
    be added to the exclusion list.
     
  7. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Herein lies the problem with Rollback. All snapshots and the files in them are not part of the windows file system. They are floating out on the drive and only the Rollback driver is aware of them.
     
  8. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,458
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Defrag applications only know about what Windows knows about and they only defrag the known FileSystem. In the past (don't know about now), Rollback would not allow defragmentation programs to run... not because they were dangerous but because they caused massive changes to the surface block positions on the disk. This is what Rollback monitors for changes and includes in their snapshots. If one runs a disk defragmentation on a Rollback protected disk, the very next snapshot taken by Rollback will be huge (it will include all those block positional changes made by the defragmenter). Eventually those snapshots start eating up the protected disk in a big way.

    People who use Rollback extensively recommend either uninstalling (or deactivating in the current version) Rollback prior to that type of disk activity, doing those types of maintenance functions outside the purview of Rollback, then re-installing the application after the work has been done. Of course doing this will require the loss of all previous snapshots so that has to be brought into the decision making process.

    Either sparkling, organized disk space or lots of large Rollback snapshots which will not be defragmented at all following the process.
     
  9. manolito

    manolito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Posts:
    407
    What I do since ages (and I recall that this is the recommended procedure) is to defrag my partition I want to protect BEFORE installing Rollback. Then install Rollback, and your baseline will be without fragmentation. And it will stay that way until you decide to update the baseline to the current state.

    After this you only need to run the Rollback snapshot defragger from time to time to defrag the Rollback data which are stored outside of the Windows file system.

    Request to a mod:
    Can these last posts please be transferred to the Rollback v11 thread and this thread be closed? Because this defrag topic is not related to RB v10 exclusively...
     
  10. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    67,798
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Done; Thanks!
     
  11. lemonlime

    lemonlime Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Posts:
    26
    All I can say is WOW!!

    I'm definitely glad I asked about the dangers of using Defraggler with Rollback installed!

    I have many full system backups and I always uninstall Rollback before creating a backup.
    I kind of figured that a heavy duty app like Defraggler would damage Rollback, but I wasn't
    sure.

    I created a tiny script that periodically pops up a message about defragging my Rollback
    snapshots. Rollback is not perfect, but I like it a lot. I wouldn't want to use a Windows
    operating system without Rollback.

    I build Desktop computers and I just finished upgrading several components. After my next
    full system backup (with Rollback uninstalled) I will run Defraggler before reinstalling Rollback.
    I say "after my next full system backup" because I don't fully trust any app that scans, repairs,
    or defrags my disk partitions.
     
  12. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,755
    By all accounts, this program is only for people who like living on the edge. *puppy*
     
  13. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,458
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    HOLY COW!! It's a BLACK FRIDAY Sale that starts today, on chartreuse Wednesday. Don't miss this one, gang :rolleyes: !
     
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2019
  14. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    ROFL!!!!!. Even though it's a struggle, I think I have to pass
     
  15. lemonlime

    lemonlime Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Posts:
    26
    Hello to TheRollbackFrog.

    I'm using an older version of Rollback Pro. When you wrote "or deactivating in the current version" I googled
    about Rollback Rx Pro version 11.2. Couldn't find a quick answer, so I'm asking the expert.

    Is it true that the latest version of Rollback (11.2) does not require a complete uninstall and reinstall before
    a system backup or defrag? I can disable or deactivate Rollback without any damage?

    I will spend the money for the latest version if I can deactivate without uninstalling. It's not pleasant to enter
    your registration serial each time you uninstall and reinstall Rollback.

    Remember GoBack, the original rollback app. It was possible to disable GoBack without a complete uninstall.
     
  16. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,458
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Hello LemonLime!
    That is true... with some limitations. When you deActivate Rollback RX, it removes its snapshot database and all its snapshots, leaving you with only your current System and the Rollback code in place. At this point you can do almost any maintenance feature you wish EXCEPT optimization of an SSD, which cannot be done successfully until the System has been reBOOTed following the deActivation. The reason for this is the Rollback modified disk driver remains in place until the reBOOT... it's this element of the Rollback code that inhibits the OS's TRIM from doing its due diligence with the SSD optimization process.

    When you're finished with your System maintenance, you can reActivate Rollback once again. This will require a System reBOOT, at which time Rollback puts its subsystem code back in place, re-initializes its snapshot database and places its modified disk driver back in the disk I/O stream once again.

    Please remember... all your snapshots other than the current System state will be lost during this process, your Current System State becomes your new "baseline."
     
  17. manolito

    manolito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Posts:
    407
    The other advantage (besides not having to reenter your serial) compared to a full uninstall / reinstall is that after reactivating Rollback from the taskbar icon all your previous Rollback settings will be retained. Very useful for anyone who has tweaked his Rollback settings considerably (like me).
     
  18. lemonlime

    lemonlime Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Posts:
    26
    Thanks for a great reply TheRollbackFrog. You really are a Rollback expert.

    I apologize for not returning to this thread a couple of days ago. I've been very busy with several
    projects.

    I understand about SSDs. When you say, "you can do almost any maintenance feature" that means full
    system backups and defrags are ok, when Rollback is deactivated. Correct? (All my backups are done
    from a bootable USB flash drive, before Windows starts.)

    I like RAID. The Desktops I build have two identical HDDs, with a RAID 0 configuration. I know SSDs
    are fast and have no moving parts. I buy the speediest HDDs I can find. When combined in RAID 0, all
    those bits and bytes read and write pretty fast. If you add several external HDDs, you've got huge
    amounts of storage capacity.

    The first version of Rollback I purchased did not support RAID. That was disappointing, but I did not
    abandon Rollback. Whatever slight disadvantages there might be using Rollback, the advantages are
    tremendous.
     
  19. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    39,288
    Rollback Rx Professional 11.2 Build #2705507224 (March 10, 2020)
    Website
    Download
    Release Notes
     
  20. carfal

    carfal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Posts:
    177
    Build ending in 256 and this latest build (224) appear to be rock solid. HDS (or should i say Easy Fix) seam to have finally ironed out the corruption issue. Ran build 256 for 2 weeks, thrashing it as best i could, and have had build 224 installed for 1 week.

    I know what your thinking Froggie... I said i would let RB go but like a real junkie, I went back for my fix. :p

    When they released build 256, I actually had no intention of keeping it on my system for more than one rollback as in the past the corruption immediately appeared. But more than 3 weeks on, I'm still waiting for it to fail....:rolleyes:

    Let me put a caveat in here that just because it hasnt crashed on my PC then I'm not saying that all will be good with anybody else's PC. But I think anyone who dares will be pleased. Just make sure your prepared for a recovery if it doesnt work for you. :isay:
     
  21. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,458
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    You're incredible @carfal ... a true mind reader :argh:

    I have kept both 256 & 224 handy... mostly for BETA testing various friends rigs. BUT... I am totally thrilled that both have received the highest certification possible, the "UBC" award (Unbreakable By Carfal)... kinda like the "Palme d'Or" of computer snapshot software testing. That's great news!

    Did HDS ever acknowledge your original issues and say they were dealt with in these latest releases? :cautious:
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2020
  22. manolito

    manolito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Posts:
    407
    Out of curiosity...
    Did you use the default "Hybrid=1", or did you switch to the old behavior by specifying"Hybrid=0" before installation?
     
  23. carfal

    carfal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Posts:
    177
    @Froggie

    Thanks for the high praises. All part of the job.:D

    No, HDS never did acknowledge my corruption issues. I refuse to post on their website anymore. I'm definitely done where that is concerned.

    I suspect any one or all of these changes fixed the issue ( my money is on the Kernel Driver fix)
     
  24. carfal

    carfal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Posts:
    177
    I used the default "Hybrid=1"
     
  25. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,188
    @carfal I have been using Eazy Fix (default install) for a few months now and no issues here too.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.