Rollback RX v11.x (Home & Professional)

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by TheRollbackFrog, Jul 5, 2018.

  1. carfal

    carfal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Posts:
    151
  2. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    5,554
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    Thanks, so some people needs glasses...
     
  3. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,102
    In the latest version, they have introduced Kernel Mode. It has Fast Restore Mode and Space Saving Mode. I think FRM is the original mode as the baseline snapshot cannot be deleted in this mode.

    The new mode, SSM, it seems is a lot buggy. I had quite a few corrupt restores like programs corrupted, browsers and extensions corrupted, Windows 10 search broken, chkdsk errors, and once on restoring I got system cannot boot, registry files missing.

    I noticed one thing, once when I was creating a snapshot manually, it mentioned failed to create a snapshot. When I checked the snapshot area, the snapshot was there and the quality mentioned was good instead of questionable or failed. It seems sometimes created snapshots are corrupted for some reasons but the quality is stated good, this could be the reason for my few corrupt restores.

    And one thing, sometimes when I delete the snapshots and defrag manually, the defrag process stucks and doesn't proceed or complete.

    Now I am trying Fast Restore Mode, I will update on this here.
     
  4. carfal

    carfal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Posts:
    151
    Interesting. I've reported corruption at the HDS forum as well but no one from HDS has responded...surprise, surprise.

    I said interesting because so far i've tested RB in the default SSM mode. I totally forgot that i can switch to the old FRM mode.

    I'll reinstall and test in FRM mode. I'll report back in a few minutes.
     
  5. carfal

    carfal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Posts:
    151
    See my testing here.
     
  6. manolito

    manolito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Posts:
    377
    Thanks carfal for testing, and shame on HDS...

    I suppose that the free Home version behaves the same, so your tests saved me some disappointing experienes. Back to 10.7 or even 9.1.
    The situation reminds me of the time when v. 10.xx was introduced, it took HDS a long time to get v. 10 halfway stable.

    Cheers
    manolito
     
  7. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,102
    I checked your tests on HDS forum. It was the similar experience here.
    And to switch from Space Saving to Fast Restore Mode, you have to perform a restore operation i.e only after a restore, the Mode is switched to Fast Restore.
    To install Rollback in Fast Restore Mode, you can change hybrid=0 in the setup.ini file, the setup will run in the Fast Restore Mode.
    As per knowledgebase, it is ok to run Windows Checkdisk on the Rollback installed system.
     
  8. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,102
    Previoulsy I had Rollback Rx Pro 11 latest version. Now I have installed Eazy Fix - Windows Time Machine 11 latest version.
    I am running EF default i.e Space Saving Mode. I performed a few restore and no issues, and no chkdsk errors.

    But there is one difference, I had Rollback with Comodo Firewall installed and have Eazy Fix with Comodo Cloud Antivirus installed.
    I was running Comodo Firewall with Proactive Config, HIPS enabled and AutoSandbox disabled. There were no Comodo alerts for Rollback or blocks in Logs section. It seems some issues between Rollback and Comodo Firewall.

    @carfal what security software are you running?

    I haven't updated my Win 10 Pro 64-bit yet and still running Win 10 Version 1803.
     
  9. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,004
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    THIS just published on the HDS KnowledgeBase... don't know whether it helps in the understanding or not :rolleyes:
     
  10. garry35

    garry35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Posts:
    409
    does this mean users who have previously v10.xx pro will no longer be able to use v10.. even if v11 was purchased as new (not upgrade)
     
  11. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,004
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Your v10.x license will remain valid as log as it wasn't upgraded. The separate v11 purchase is a new license...

    Of course how much v10 support you will receive will be questionable at best. Most of the changes in v11 were not new features, they were previous v10 issues in attempted repair... hoping users would upgrade to get the repairs. It's called a REVENUE STREAM.
     
  12. manolito

    manolito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Posts:
    377
    Found some time for a thorough test of the current Rollback RX 11.1, I tested both the Pro trial and the Home versions on my Core i5 Thinkpad under Win7-64bit.

    With the default Space Saving Mode I got the same file system corruption as reported by carfal. Immediately after restoring a previous snapshot I got chkdsk results similar to carfal's. I have no idea how fatal this corruption really is, though. After uninstalling Rollback I let chkdsk repair the errors, and I did not notice any issues with broken software installations. BTW I had no resident Antivirus software installed, Defender was disabled, too.

    Next thing I did was installing Rollback again with "Hybrid=0" specified in Setup.ini. This brings back the old behavior, even the old baseline manager is back. After installing the software like this users cannot switch between the two kernel modes any longer. And in this mode I did not get any file system corruption, no matter how often I switched between different snapshots. To me this looks like the new Space Saving Mode is broken. But the Fast Restore Mode also had an issue for me. Trying to update the baseline to the current state always made the software hang.

    My conclusion is that version 11.1 is not ready for prime time. Back to 10.7...

    Cheers
    manolito
     
  13. pb1

    pb1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Posts:
    469
    Location:
    sweden
    Hi
    Anyone using the latest version of W10 with an older version of RBRX without problems?
     
  14. garry35

    garry35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Posts:
    409
    now that v11.xx has been around long enough for people to test it,i have a few questions

    is it stable with SSD drives ?
    i am speaking from personal experince with v10, my experience was that it would stop windows working or booting after around 14 days forcing a reinstall of windows etc. this was with a SSD drive and after communication with the devs it was never resolved, i have since purchased v11 in the hope that my previous problems had been resolved but not installed v11 to test it i wanted to check if others were reporting any problems still using a SSD
     
  15. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    5,554
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    It doesn't work, you must use v11, reason i ditched it. They won't milk me every Win10 upgrades.
     
  16. carfal

    carfal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Posts:
    151
    Hi garry35. I've been using RB with an SSD (Samsung M.2 960 evo 250GB) for a year now (and before that, a Samsung 840 Pro SSD 250GB for more than 4 years) without issues. However dont use the v11.1 (latest build) RB. It has corruption issues. I've been using the previous v11.0.2703845388 without any issue for 4 mths.
     
  17. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    5,554
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    on 1809?
     
  18. manolito

    manolito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Posts:
    377
    Some good news from HDS:

    After all it seems like they do monitor their forum, maybe even the Wilders forum...

    Their latest downloadable build is 2704376597, the Shield.exe is from Jan. 16. 2019. On their website they still list an older build from Dec. 2018 . And this new build does fix the file system corruption issues for me. (BTW latest Eazy Fix build also works without corrupting the file system).

    Cheers
    manolito
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2019
  19. ronald739

    ronald739 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Posts:
    115
    Location:
    Australia
    I thought i would try to contact them on there forum or via email but it appears i have forgotten my password.

    http://community.horizondatasys.com/contact-us

     
  20. garry35

    garry35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Posts:
    409
    just to be clear, all my previous experience relates to v10 and i wanted to ask other members experiences with v11 before i install
     
  21. manolito

    manolito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Posts:
    377
    After some more tests with the Home version it looks like the "Good News" only applies to the Pro version...

    The latest Home version download is also from Jan. 16 2019, they did fix the file system corruption issue, but there are other issues:

    On my Win7-64bit Thinkpad I do get frequent freezing after rebooting when I restored an older snapshot. Very random, hard to reproduce. No error message, Windows just does not respond any more. The only way to get out of it is to hard power down the computer.

    And after installing the software with "hybrid=0" in the Setup.ini the baseline manager is still broken (unlike the baseline manager in the Pro version which works now). When trying to update the baseline to the current state the software hangs. More work to do for HDS...


    Cheers
    manolito
     
  22. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,004
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    ...and yet another fabulous opportunity to purchase this uncanny software application at their just announced SPRING SALE 2019... I really don't know how you can possibly pass this up!!
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2019
  23. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,177
    Won't be hard for me.:)
     
  24. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    8,205
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Maybe by already having Macrium Reflect already onboard?
    Whenever that new day dawns where ALL bugs are ironed out and this app is proven safe that's when I wouldn't mind dipping the feet into it. Until then my machines are better serviced without a quick snapshot program that hasn't exactly won over the greater audience just yet.
     
  25. manolito

    manolito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Posts:
    377
    Just did a few tests with the current Home Version 11.2.
    A new feature is the "Snapshot Verifier". Sounds useful. So far all snapshots looked fine

    From my tests with Home Version 11.1:
    This issue has been fixed. No more such problems with freezing after rebooting.

    This problem is still present. Updating the baseline to the current state still makes my computer hang.

    So (while not perfect) this is certainly a very welcome improvement. I did not test the Professional Version 11.2 because my trial peroid has expired from testing version 11.1.

    Cheers
    manolito
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.