Rollback RX v10.x (Home & Professional)

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Peter2150, Jun 10, 2015.

  1. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,697
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    The only way to do that would be to uninstall Rollback first. I used to do this a long time ago. Problem is, witht he newer OSes, it scatters info all over the place, making room for expansion in those scatter areas.

    If Rollback has to be uninstalled before you do this... ya might as well just a straight used sector image while RBrx is uninstalled.
     
  2. Ya5h Kh4n

    Ya5h Kh4n Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,039
    TRF,

    I know Rollback is not a backup program.

    I am a Rollback & AX64 V2 user.

    AX64 works fine for me But there are no options And after some number of snapshots or some number of days, it automatically takes full backup...I dont like this. I would like to use it like "incremental forever" But cant do that as there are no options. And now seems abandoned product.

    Rollback has its quirks, little risky & also increases boot time.

    So I am trying few imaging products like Macrium, EaseUS & Aomei.
     
  3. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    502
    what if you restore with a regular macrium reflect system image (not sector-by-sector, or cold, offline backup, or anything fancy, just a regular standard system image). And then you run the macrium reflect boot repair tool, Will that un-trash the system?

    Or what about reinstalling Windows from USB, and then restoring on top of it from macrium reflect?
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2017
  4. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,697
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    The Macrium Reflect restoration will contain a non-BOOTable Windows (bad MBR) and a neutered Rollback RX. What you suggest using Macrium's BOOT repair tool, following the restoration, has worked for me every time I've used it in the matter you suggest. Other's have said it doesn't but I could never recreate that issue.

    Once back into Windows, Rollback must be unInstalled and reInstalled if the user wishes to continue with its use. No RBrx snapshots will be available following the Macrium restoration and the System will be at its last known state prior to that image being made.
     
  5. manolito

    manolito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Posts:
    364
    I can confirm that this method has always worked for me (on a standard MBR based system). Since I have no need to include the Rollback snapshots in my images, this is the perfect method for me - way faster than doing a cold sector-by-sector image. Instead of the Macrium Boot Repair tool you could also use a third party tool like BootICE to restore your MBR (which you have backed up previously). But if your image software is Macrium then the Boot Repair tool is the way to go.

    Cheers
    manolito
     
  6. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    502
    how effective is rollback in protecting snapshots from ransomware? I mean, if ransomware strikes, can you restore your personal data from a snapshot, or roll back the system if needed?
     
  7. thetruckman

    thetruckman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2017
    Posts:
    0
    Location:
    SEA
    Went to delete 'unlocked' snapshots and all got deleted except one (1) and that was a recent snapshot. All others were deleted, including all 'Locked' snapshots and my baseline from a year ago.

    Since it had just happened and my remaining snapshot was from an hour prior, I did the following to restore all my snapshots as before, with about only 55 minutes missing between last good settings and the "Bad Delete":

    With Rollback Rx manager open, I went to 'Instant Recovery' > 'Recover Files' > 'I know the file location I want to recover (e.g. My Documents)... and entered 'Program Files' and hit 'Next'

    I opened the only remaining snapshot to that directory on the hard drive image and opened the 'Shield' folder and copied and pasted everything to a folder on my desktop entitled 'Recovered Shield Files'.

    I closed out of the Rollback manager and opened Task Manager and ended every instance of the Shield processes to make sure it was completely shut down.

    Then I copied and pasted every file in the 'Recovered Shield Files' into the 'C:\Program Files\Shield' folder on my hard drive in order to overwrite them.

    In one instance I could not overwrite a 'shield32.dll' do I right clicked on it and open it up in 'Unlocker' and unlocked the two processes that were binding it up. Then I was able to overwrite that with the recovered file.

    With all of the files overwritten and with all Rollback processes deactivated, I clicked on my Rollback icon to reopen and everything was fine.

    All of my snapshots were there that had been there about 50 minutes prior to my mistake.

    I do not know why my locked snapshots were killed but this is how I restored everything. If I missed something, I think most people will intuitively get the gist of what I did.
     
  8. pb1

    pb1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Posts:
    389
    Location:
    sweden
    Anyone knows where i can find the hashes for RBRX Pro v.10.4.
     
  9. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,302
    Hi shmu26

    I would answer this way. In theory yes, but what about malware attacking the mbr. I am confident with Macrium, because I have abused the heck out it, by doing things like power resets in the middle of a restore. If you trust Rollback to that extent I would answer yes. Hmm might be fun to do a quick test.
     
  10. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,302
    Thought about it and no I wouldn't use it. Some of the ransomware traps you in a reboot loop. Can't even get to preboot screens. Have to go to a recovery CD. I wouldn't trust to a pure snapshot program.
     
  11. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,697
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    I'm not sure what you're asking for. Each separate release of v10.4 has a unique HASH CODE associated with that release... there are many of them.

    I think your "hash" might be different than that.
     
  12. pb1

    pb1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Posts:
    389
    Location:
    sweden
    Yes of course, forgot that in all my frustration in my search for it. The build in question is : 2700722190.
    I could not find 10.4 on Horizons site so i had to download from another, suspect?, site so i want to check it out to be shure.

    You of course have an idè of how!?... i hope.
     
  13. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,697
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Check your PM...
     
  14. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,697
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    PB1, check your PM once again...
     
  15. Ya5h Kh4n

    Ya5h Kh4n Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,039
    TRF,

    Latest Rollback Rx Pro i.e 10.5
    Win 10 64 Pro

    If Rollback is installed, you cannot make recovery drive...you get some files are missing (reagentc /info command shows recovery disabled)
    If Rollback is uninstalled...no probs making recovery drive

    So it seems Rollback disables recovery...does this means the above mentioned prob can't happen i.e Windows cant boot into repair media & run repair processes?

    Thank You
     
  16. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,697
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    It means that that Windows can't BOOT, automatically, into the Repair Media WIM that's usually located somewhere on the System... Rollback used to rename that WIM from WinRE.wim to WinRE.dat. But a Repair Media request may be answered by using a Windows Distribution media (which contains the WIM) or a standalone Windows Repair disc, if the user happens to have it. Use of either one of these to do the repair is suicide for your System if Rollback is installed.

    When you get a Windows request to BOOT into its Repair Media, it's asking you to do it manually using one of the two methods mentioned above. The user has to understand that he CAN NOT DO THIS on a Rollback protected System.
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2017
  17. Ya5h Kh4n

    Ya5h Kh4n Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,039
    So atleast Windows cannot automatically start those repair processes & affect Rollback, right?
     
  18. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,697
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Yep... Rollback makes that impossible upon installation (something it used to NOT FIX when it was uninstalled previously).
     
  19. Ya5h Kh4n

    Ya5h Kh4n Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,039
    Good to know Rollback atleast takes care of Win 10 repair processes that can affect Rollback by disabling recovery media.

    Thank You for the info
     
  20. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,697
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    BitsDuJour... LAST DAY for Rollback RX at 55% OFF.
     
    Last edited: May 7, 2017
  21. MPSAN

    MPSAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Posts:
    852
    Froggie, as you know I have Reflect V7 and only do Full Images of my C: drive. Still, will this RBRX Pro work without an issue if we need to use it to roll back an hour or so? Do you know if this will let us install on more than one system? I am only asking as I see some saying that there are issues with trying to "roll Back". I am concerned after AX64!
     
  22. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,697
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Rollback RX is a single System license only. With Rollback installed, any LIVE imaging you my do (Reflect v7) requires special work by the imager when doing restoration to insure a BOOTable System when you are done... imaging is not quite a simple as it should be with Rollback RX installed. In addition, LIVE imaging with Reflect cannot image or restore any Rollback RX snapshots, only off-line imaging/restoration in "Forensic" mode can capture the needed "special" volume BOOT areas and any snapshot DATA retention. Without that retention (which does not occur during LIVE Windows imaging), only the current System state may be imaged, and the FixBoot function under the Reflect Recovery Media must be run after the restoration to make the System BOOTable. Once the System is up and running, Rollback RX will be neutered and non-functional. It must be completely unInstalled and reInstalled to be made functional once again. No previous Rollback RX snapshots will be available at this time.

    As far as "issues" that users have with rolling back, the product is designed to do those very same snapshot restores... I have no idea what those issues are. I, personally, no longer use the product due to "other issues" I had along the way, and, through experience, I have learned to not trust Horizon Data Sys representatives as far as their product statements are concerned.

    This question may better be answered by existing Rollback RX users...

    PS- when using Macrium Reflect, returning to a snapshot taken by Reflect within a couple of hours is very fast when using their Rapid Data Restore (RDR) feature (DEFAULT when using their Recovery Media)... not quite as fast as Rollback RX but more than fast enough.

    ...and remember, Rollback RX IS NOT an imaging System, it's just a snapshot System.
     
  23. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,697
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    ;) You have a right to be concerned.

    You can always TRIAL it to see how your System responds to it being inhabited by Rollback RX. MAKE SURE your images are up to date before beginning the TRIAL process...
     
  24. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,697
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Yea, I forgot... the "deal" dies today, not much time for TRIALing.

    Personally, with Reflect v7 on your System, I really don't think you need it for short time rollbacks.
     
  25. MPSAN

    MPSAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Posts:
    852
    Thank You Froggie. So far I think I will just use Reflect as always! On my wifes system I may look into a V7 snapshot for her!
     
Loading...