Rollback RX™ - The “unOfishul” FAQ

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by TheRollbackFrog, Apr 6, 2015.

  1. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    4,046
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    on what basis it is a negligence lol , for lazy basic users surely, for me not at all.
    To me my first system image (after the clean install) is the safest and cleanest; who knows what useless files or even malware may get in between the first and second one....
    My system is static not dynamic; i don't install dozen of crappy softwares a day, each one i install is really needed, verified and proven to be safe.
    Also i restore this first image every 3 months and since Win10 upgrade every 6 months, i do a new clean install at that time, i never upgrade on top.
    RX just fill the gap between those 3 months. So i don't see any negligence on that.
    My system is always clean and take the minimum disk space, one reason why all Windows Updates never fails , my system is not polluted by junk or corrupted files/drivers gathered over the time...

    I have a specific methodology on how maintaining my OS. it proved to be efficient since more than 20 years.
     
  2. manolito

    manolito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Posts:
    364
    Whatever works...
    But your method sure is a little "unconventional".
     
  3. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    4,046
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    i admit hehe ;)
     
  4. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    2,559
    Location:
    The etherlands
    He is Unaverage Joe ;)
     
  5. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    4,046
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    You know me too well :D
     
  6. denywinarto

    denywinarto Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    Posts:
    12
    Got a question..
    There's 1 specific feature that i need from restore reboot rx (drive vacchine),
    restore on logoff.
    We need this feature for a multiseat public usage..
    In case if you don't know, shutdown is not possible in multiseat setup because it would shutdown the entire connected computers..
    So we need a program that could 'deepfreeze' between logoff

    I tested a full version on a friend who uses it on his office (Win 10 x64),
    But upon logging off, the pc restarts by itself.
    Did i miss anything here?

    Does this mean restore on logoff just a gimmick... e.g it only triggers restart so that the restore function can run?
     
  7. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,680
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Sorry I'm late with this. Your assumption is correct. The software can only "restore" the System to its original parameters upon a full reBOOT, no LogOff. The app works during the reBOOT process to re-initialize everything prior to Windows restarting... Windows restarting DOES NOT OCCUR during a LogOff process.
     
  8. Prole

    Prole Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Posts:
    43
    Location:
    New England, USA
    I've already uninstalled RollBackRx but I'm posting here to see if anyone has had a similar problem with the latest updated version (ver.10 ?).
    After I updated to the latest version, my SSD started to loose space rapidly. For years the free space hovered around 170 gigs (of a 250 gigs) but after loosing about 2 or 3 gigs per day I dwindled down to 35 gigs,
    I ran WinDirStat and it told me that there were 160 gigs of "unknown" files that it couldn't access or delete so I finally (on a hunch) de-installed RollBack and sure enough, after a reboot I now have 182 gigs free.

    I guess my question is - should I re-install or should I switch to Shadow Defender?

    I ran RollBackRx for 3 years with no issues and I really liked it (it saved my ass on 2 or 3 occasions) but I kind of like the concept behind Shadow Defender as well, but I'm assuming that Sandboxie wouldn't be much use running in another sandbox - or would it?
     
  9. Lockdown

    Lockdown Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Posts:
    772
    Location:
    AppGuard LLC, Virginia, U.S.
    This issue of loosing\consumption of drive space was reported with earlier versions of RBRx on the HDS Community forum. I would bet @TheRollbackFrog will remember it.
     
  10. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,680
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    (see general Rollback RX thread for comment on this item)
     
  11. Prole

    Prole Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Posts:
    43
    Location:
    New England, USA
    FYI...a follow up.
    I de-installed RollBack Rx and then re-installed the next day.
    It's been 5 days and my problem seems to be fixed.
     
  12. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    3,711
    I have been wanting to try this product out vs. the one I am using right now. I see it captures snapshots, so assume that it will take up drive space like @Prole has mentioned. Is this product like System Restore on steroids? I do like the idea of snapshots and from what I have read it is super quick, vs. using something like Acronis or Macrium Reflect.
     
  13. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    4,046
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    yep, depend on what your system's size his.

    kind of. I use it since years , i can't live without it. Installing it is the first thing a do after a clean install of my OS; then i can update/setup/tweak my OS with peace of mind because i know i can revert to my baseline (aka the moment i installed RX) in seconds if i have a single issue or i did i mistake.
    From what i heard Macrium paid has a similar feature not as fast but still fast enough.

    to me RX is like a "system damage control" soft.
     
  14. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,205
    You are comparing apples to oranges when you compare Rx and imaging programs like Macrium and Acronis. You would be well served to find out the difference and the risks that Rx has that Macrium and Acronis do not. A good place to start is this thread,,,,,,read from the beginning and you will know how to protect yourself from Rxs shortcomings.

    Very quickly Rx does not replace an imaging program, you will still need to use one to be protected properly. You should also be aware that Rx does make using an imaging program more complicated (this thread will tell you why and what to do about it).

    Personally I would not touch Rx with a 10 foot pole but if you do want to try it be sure you know what you might be getting yourself into before you begin.
     
  15. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    4,046
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    Not anymore. You can disable the protection, make a classic backup , then re-enable it and reboot ; of course you will lose previous snapshots.
     
  16. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,205
    No, Macriums quick snapshot, quick restore is nothing like Rxs features. Macriums quick restore may be slower than Rxs (2.5 min on average for Macrium vrs a reboot for Rx) but Macrium is a far safer and more reliable program. Rx itself has been known to trash systems and I would strongly recommend that anyone considering Rx read this thread to understand Rxs issues and how to protect against an Rx disaster.
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2017
  17. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,295
    the fundamental difference is macrium images are files that are contained within the windows file system. You can move those files anywhere you want as long as you keep a chain complete.

    Rx's snapshots don't show up in the file system. They are bytes floating free and only kept track by the Rx driver. If the driver should get corrupted, the snapshots are lost.

    Huge difference and Umbra if I got it wrong please correct me.
     
  18. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,205
    Thats good, many years ago when I used Rx it was a pain to have to uninstal Rx in order to make a backup image, still, if you are not aware that you need to disable the protection, ie, think that simply making an image will protect you, then you could be in for a nasty surprise. How clear does HDS make it that you need to disable Rx protection when imaging? My experience was that HDS documentation left much to be desired. Hopefully that is no longer the case.
     
  19. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,205
    Thats one difference but by no means the only one. Just to mention one other of a number of important other differences,,,,,,,,,,Macrium saves its images (or can) on external media,,,,,Rxs information resides on the protected drive. If the system drive goes belly up or is lost your system is toast.
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2017
  20. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    4,046
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    written in the changelog and you have a new entry on the tray icon : "turn off protection"

    Anyway, RX model wasn't made to save snapshot on another drive (i wish you could lol) , it is not a backup soft, it is snapshot soft.
     
  21. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,205
    Yes, and that was my point to the poster above, apples and oranges.

    And,

    Thats good that HDS has made the issue about imaging clear, maybe they are changing to a company that gives users of their products clear and accurate info. One can only hope so.

    Thanks for the info.
     
  22. Prole

    Prole Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Posts:
    43
    Location:
    New England, USA
    I've read a lot of FUD concerning RollBack but in the 3 yrs I've used it, it has never "trashed" my system.
    You never even think about it until you actually need it.

    RollBack has saved my ass on several occasions.
    You re-boot - it starts before Windows so if you're getting a blue/black screen it still works, as opposed to System Restore - hit the Home key on your keyboard - pick a snapshot - and you're back to normal again. The actual restore process takes approx 20 seconds (on my SSD).
    You can set it to take from 1 to 7 snapshots (I take 3) and they average about 1.5 gigs.
    The problem I had up in post #161 was fixed with a simple re-install.
     
  23. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    4,046
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    it (was) is very easy to crash RX and make your system unbootable and almost unrecoverable.

    just do an hard shutdown several times in a row, RX will go crazy.
    just do an hard shutdown (simulating your house having a power cut) while it is doing/loading a snapshot , it may be corrupted.
     
  24. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,680
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Make sure you're prepared to deal with it eventually... this problem has been around for many, many years, it will re-surface in time.
     
  25. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    3,711
    Thanks to you and everyone else that has chimed in here. You know who you are. :)

    I know it is not apples to apples was just curious about the product. I use MR for pretty much exclusively, but am just looking into other options. Seems like you have had some pretty good success with it though, so may give it a spin. I still have my images from MR if need be. :)

    Cheers!
     
Loading...