Rollback RX™ - The “unOfishul” FAQ

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by TheRollbackFrog, Apr 6, 2015.

  1. Masterblaster

    Masterblaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Posts:
    262
    Location:
    USA
    I would not recommend anyone use CTM. All it is, is VERY old code of RRX. Comodo was never able to update it properly. They finally abandoned it. IMO, using CTM could cause catastrophic damage to your computer.
     
  2. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    460
  3. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    460
    maybe I missed it, but I don't think it was mentioned that Rollback Rx can prevent you from creating a Windows system restore point.
    I was unable to create a system restore point, and after uninstalling Rollback, I was able to.
    Windows 10 pro x64 stable build
     
  4. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    3,829
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    It is so obvious that we don't had to mention about it :D

    why using Windows Restore when you can restore the full partitions.

    RX's Snapshot = full system "restore point" , RX isn't a backup software.
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2016
  5. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    460
    I agree, someone using rollback doesn't need system restore point, because rollback is so much more complete, and it is faster, too.
    But it's still nice to know why restore point doesn't work.
    For example: I had an issue with system information taking up too much space, this was on a secondary disk, not protected by rollback. So I wanted to test the functioning of restore point on my primary disk. To my dismay, it did not work. Then I discovered it was because of rollback.
     
  6. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    3,829
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    Because RX disable it during installation.

     
  7. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    460
    yes, it's true you can turn restore point back on. But it won't actually work. At least in my case, it failed when attempting to create the first restore point, displaying an error message:
    the restore point could not be created...
    insufficient storage available to create either the shadow copy... (0x8004231F)
     
  8. JohnBurns

    JohnBurns Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    613
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    Rollback RX looks very desirable - I like the concept. But, I don't like to jump thru the hoops to use it and Macrium at the same time. I don't like making work for myself in my choice of apps. I wish it were simpler - but at present time, am sticking with Macrium. It's saved me several times and I know it's dependable unless I screw it up with my selection of other apps. Wish it would work with Rollback RX easier.
     
  9. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,613
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    No imaging System works "easily" with Rollback RX or any other redirect-on-WRITE snapshot System. When you bury snapshot database control BELOW the Operating System, where not even the OS knows about its existance... there will be problems.
     
  10. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    2,296

    You can use one or the other. Not both. Rollback RX writes to the MBR and hides it from an imaging software. So if you need to make backups - do them BEFORE you install Rollback RX. Rollback RX is a snapshot restore system - that is, it will return Windows to a point in time when everything worked correctly. With Windows 10, you have the option to wipe everything and return Windows to like new state if a new software installation affects the operation of Windows.

    Depending on what Windows you have installed, you may or may not need Rollback RX to protect it.
     
  11. manolito

    manolito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Posts:
    364
    Sorry, this is simply not true...

    Of course you can use Rollback RX together with imaging software, there is no need to uninstall Rollback before making an image backup.

    Up to Rollback version 9.1 there was no problem whatsoever making a hot image backup and restoring this backup. Of course the Rollback snapshots would not be part of the backup, and after restoring the backup Rollback would be non-functional and had to be reinstalled.

    Things got more complicated starting with Rollback version 10. After restoring a hot image backup Windows will not be bootable unless you repair the MBR before booting into Windows. There are several methods how the MBR can be repaired (use a Macrium rescue CD, the Windows installation DVD or other MBR tools like BootICE), but this is not rocket science. But other than the need to repair the MBR nothing has changed compared to Rollback v 9.1.


    Cheers
    manolito
     
  12. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    2,296
    When I uninstalled Rollback Home on Windows 7, the Windows 7 MBR became corrupted and I could no longer boot into
    Windows 7.

    Had to wipe it, repair the MBR, format the hard disk and do a clean install.
     
  13. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    18,993
    Technically you are quite correct, but when you add up all the proviso's, it is as close to true as I would need to convince me.
     
  14. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    3,829
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    i don't know for you, but for me, the definition of "able to use them together" means both can be used without me having to fix anything.
     
  15. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    18,993
    Exactly my point.
     
  16. manolito

    manolito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Posts:
    364
    My fault, being here on Wilders I assumed that I am talking to people who have grown out of NOOB status. Seems that I was wrong.

    And if you have an MBR based system (tested on Win7 64-bit) why don't you use the old Rollback version 9.1? Works perfectly, no need to fix the MBR after restoring an image backup...
     
  17. XhenEd

    XhenEd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    534
    Location:
    Philippines
    With all this MBR talk, am I correct to assume that this issue doesn't affect GPT-based system? So, if I restore from Macrium, the system will still be bootable, albeit the loss of RB Rx snapshots.
     
  18. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    18,993
    I don't consider myself a noob, which is exactly why I won't use Rollback. I do understand how it works and it scares me
     
  19. manolito

    manolito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Posts:
    364
    Sorry, I have no experience with GPT based systems at all. You need to make your own tests...

    Each to his own... What I don't like is how some folks mix up their dislike for the company with the software itself. I have been using Rollback together with an image based backup software (an older Acronis version) for many years without ever losing any data.
     
  20. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    3,829
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    Noob or not, people shouldn't have to fix anything when using a software; As you i can fix it , no big deal for me, but by principle, i won't use a combination forcing me to do so, that is just stupid.
    And what is the point of making a backup of a system with RX if you loose the snapshots...? i just image my system partition then install RX and when i restore the image, i uninstall RX first, rstore, re-install RX.
     
  21. manolito

    manolito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Posts:
    364
    It's the other way around:
    And what is the point of making a backup of a system with RX which includes the snapshots...?

    Rollback is NOT a replacement for image backups. Rollback users need to make image based backups just the same as if Rollback wasn't there. A hot image backup made on a system with Rollback images the CURRENT STATE (not the BaseLine). Just the same as if Rollback was not installed. IMO the image backup software has no business to care for the Rollback snapshots.

    Cheers
    manolito
     
  22. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    3,829
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    @manolito i know that RX isn't a imaging soft... you think i just started using it or what? :p
    You surely know that when you uninstall RX, you choose to which snapshot you revert right? so, why bother doing a image with RX included and having to fix the MBR after...that is plain stupid in my opinion.
    Just uninstall RX to the chosen snapshot, do a image, reinstall it. Simpler and cleaner.
     
  23. manolito

    manolito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Posts:
    364
    Well, everyone has her/his own preferred workflow...

    With your workflow every time you do an image backup you will have lost all your Rollback snapshots.

    The way I do it I will have a reliable image backup (which I only need to restore in case of a disaster), but at the same time I will keep all my Rollback snapshots. If disaster strikes and only then I will loose my snapshots, not with every image backup I take like you will. I sure prefer my method...

    Cheers
    manolito
     
  24. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    3,829
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    Indeed, in fact , i don't have much snapshots, i have my baseline (updated when i update the OS or basis apps) , all subsequent snapshots are for tests so i don't mind much losing them because when i uninstall RX i always revert to the baseline.

    my backup system image is made with Windows backup (for total compatibility) before installing RX.
    basically :

    - clean install of the OS with up to date drivers/needed softs
    - backup the system
    - install RX > Then play with the system.
    - When the OS/apps needs to be updated , i revert to to the baseline, make the changes and update it.

    As you see , snapshots are just "testing containers" no more, no less. RX is perfect for this task.
     
  25. manolito

    manolito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Posts:
    364
    This is not enough. After updating the OS/apps you absolutely need to make a new image based backup, too. Your first image backup you made after a clean OS install won't help you much after half a year of automatic OS updates.
    I think that (like many others) you are a victim of the Rollback trap. Since Rollback under normal conditions lets you go back to an earlier state easily, you are neglecting your "real" backups. Not making regular image backups (can be incrementals which you make every few days) and keeping at least 2 generations (better more than 2) is gross negligence. Period.
     
    Last edited: May 19, 2017
Loading...