Rollback Rx Problem

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by alloucho, May 28, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. alloucho

    alloucho Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Posts:
    145
    I try to install Rollback Rx trial, but at the end of the install process, an error message appear: update MBR failed. After restart it doesn´t launch.
    what´s the problemo_O
     
  2. QQ2595

    QQ2595 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    159
    it needs to modify your MBR, please quit the AV/Firewall/HIPS when installing.
     
  3. alloucho

    alloucho Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Posts:
    145
    AV/Firewall/HIPS are shut down, but the problem persist:ouch:
     
  4. demoneye

    demoneye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,356
    Location:
    ISRHell
    Maybe your mbr is corapted... try backup c:\ and use "clear mbr" util... or even try format it using windows XP install disk...maybe it can help

    cheers :thumb:
     
  5. QQ2595

    QQ2595 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    159
    Maybe your BIOS has the virus protection option enabled. it can protect your MBR. too
     
  6. QQ2595

    QQ2595 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    159
    http://www.pcguide.com/ref/mbsys/bios/set/advVirus-c.html
     
  7. alloucho

    alloucho Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Posts:
    145
    Shall i format only C: drive or the whole HD with all partitionso_O
     
  8. alloucho

    alloucho Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Posts:
    145
    I found the problem but couldn´t resolve it.
    FD-ISR was the problem. I installed an old version two or three weeks ago as trial. This version has modified the mbr. How could i restore the mbr as it was before FD-ISR installed.
    PS: It is a tool in the FD-ISR installation folder called mbrtool. how could i use it. it seems that it needs a floppy drive, which i haven´t.
    please help!
     
  9. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,047
    Did you remove FDISR before installing Rollback. If yes FDISR was removed from the mbr.
     
  10. alloucho

    alloucho Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Posts:
    145
    Yes i removed it:doubt:
    So what´s the problemo_O
    Why still this error with the mbro_O
     
  11. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,047
    If you got a clean FDISR uninstall, then it wasn't the problem. It could have been a faulty Rollback install or any number of other things.

    Just curious why you felt FDISR was the problem, assuming the uninstall was clean.
     
  12. alloucho

    alloucho Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Posts:
    145
    FDISR was the only software i installed which had modified the mbr, that´s why i thougt it was the problem.
     
  13. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,047
    It does, but uninstalling removes it. Actually disabling preboot in the earlier versions also removed it. You may be the victim of the nastiest computer problem...coincidence.

    Pete
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.