Rollback Rx Problem

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by alloucho, May 28, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. alloucho

    alloucho Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Posts:
    145
    I try to install Rollback Rx trial, but at the end of the install process, an error message appear: update MBR failed. After restart it doesn´t launch.
    what´s the problemo_O
     
  2. QQ2595

    QQ2595 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    159
    it needs to modify your MBR, please quit the AV/Firewall/HIPS when installing.
     
  3. alloucho

    alloucho Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Posts:
    145
    AV/Firewall/HIPS are shut down, but the problem persist:ouch:
     
  4. demoneye

    demoneye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,356
    Location:
    ISRHell
    Maybe your mbr is corapted... try backup c:\ and use "clear mbr" util... or even try format it using windows XP install disk...maybe it can help

    cheers :thumb:
     
  5. QQ2595

    QQ2595 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    159
    Maybe your BIOS has the virus protection option enabled. it can protect your MBR. too
     
  6. QQ2595

    QQ2595 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    159
    http://www.pcguide.com/ref/mbsys/bios/set/advVirus-c.html
     
  7. alloucho

    alloucho Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Posts:
    145
    Shall i format only C: drive or the whole HD with all partitionso_O
     
  8. alloucho

    alloucho Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Posts:
    145
    I found the problem but couldn´t resolve it.
    FD-ISR was the problem. I installed an old version two or three weeks ago as trial. This version has modified the mbr. How could i restore the mbr as it was before FD-ISR installed.
    PS: It is a tool in the FD-ISR installation folder called mbrtool. how could i use it. it seems that it needs a floppy drive, which i haven´t.
    please help!
     
  9. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    18,133
    Did you remove FDISR before installing Rollback. If yes FDISR was removed from the mbr.
     
  10. alloucho

    alloucho Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Posts:
    145
    Yes i removed it:doubt:
    So what´s the problemo_O
    Why still this error with the mbro_O
     
  11. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    18,133
    If you got a clean FDISR uninstall, then it wasn't the problem. It could have been a faulty Rollback install or any number of other things.

    Just curious why you felt FDISR was the problem, assuming the uninstall was clean.
     
  12. alloucho

    alloucho Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Posts:
    145
    FDISR was the only software i installed which had modified the mbr, that´s why i thougt it was the problem.
     
  13. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    18,133
    It does, but uninstalling removes it. Actually disabling preboot in the earlier versions also removed it. You may be the victim of the nastiest computer problem...coincidence.

    Pete
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.