Rollback option

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by nexstar, Jun 13, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nexstar

    nexstar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    Posts:
    371
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    I've never checked the advanced Rollback option in program settings which states:

    'Disable direct disk IO. (Protect system from direct disk access attacks.)'.

    Does anyone know if there are any downsides to selecting this? It seems like a good thing and you would think "why wouldn't you", but it is turned off by default and I just wondered why. Does/should it protect against things like the killdisk virus?

    Graham
     
  2. huntnyc

    huntnyc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    977
    Location:
    Brooklyn, USA
    Good question but not answer here. Hope someone knows.

    Gary
     
  3. Jo Ann

    Jo Ann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Posts:
    508
    Graham, I have that checked and considering the additional level of security that provides, it should be a default setting.

    Just like under System Settings, I checked "Only take new snapshots when the system is in a consistent state". Again, I would think that should be a default setting, but it's not!

    Jo Ann
     
  4. Kapiti

    Kapiti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Posts:
    270
    Location:
    Paraparaumu NZ
    FWIW Chapter 8 in the manual states:
    We do not recommend you to turn on this option unless you are sure that you are having problems with malicious disk IOs.
     
  5. nexstar

    nexstar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    Posts:
    371
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    If you are sure that you are having problems then it is probably too late to turn it on anyway.:) I wonder what issues it might have?

    Graham
     
  6. Jo Ann

    Jo Ann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Posts:
    508
    None that I've noticed since enabling it a few months ago (but now that I hear it's not recommended, I'm kind of worried)!
     
  7. Kenjin

    Kenjin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Posts:
    63
    I would definitely not recommend to turn it on. It can lead to blue screen crashing the OS. At least it did for me ~1 year ago. Every time I started IceSword or VMware Windows crashed. HDS advised me to leave this option off and this cured the problems. They knew about the potential issues it could cause and probably thats the reason why they don't recommend it in their manual.
     
  8. Jo Ann

    Jo Ann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Posts:
    508
    Kenjin,
    Since you experienced that problem about a year ago, that would have been on an earlier build of v7.2.1 and those early builds were buggy! Mind you, I'm concerned enough to have just turned it off, but it has not given me any problems (so far) using the final build of v7.2.1, which was released Oct. 2006.
     
  9. Kenjin

    Kenjin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Posts:
    63
    The bugs you refer to were mainly about corrupting snapshots, not stability and BSODs. Furthermore I tried this option also later on 7.2.1 builds which are known to be rock solid since 9 months now and the problem is still there.
     
  10. Jo Ann

    Jo Ann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Posts:
    508
    I guess I've been lucky so far, but I do believe you and have now disabled that option!

    Thanks for the advice,
    Jo Ann
     
  11. nexstar

    nexstar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    Posts:
    371
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    I wish I hadn't asked now! :oops: :oops: :oops:

    Graham
     
  12. Kapiti

    Kapiti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Posts:
    270
    Location:
    Paraparaumu NZ
  13. nexstar

    nexstar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    Posts:
    371
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Yes, thanks. I did try to do that yesterday. Typed it up, previewed it, pressed 'Save'......and that was the last I ever saw of it :). I'll give it another go though.

    Graham
     
  14. Kenjin

    Kenjin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Posts:
    63
    Don't expect too much from their forum. They have converted it into a "user forum" few months ago. Now there are just customers like us and a few CSR's who don't have a clue. Andrew (RB lead developer) only posted in the old forum. Sad.
    If you want reliable information you would probably need to open a support ticket to get in contact with one of the devs.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.