Rollback Home Free Help

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by khanyash, Mar 17, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,384
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    ...and while we're at it, I have one more HUGE question...

    How do you pronounce that last name (Smejkal) of yours (phonetically might be best)... and what may be the national origin (it's a very unusual name)?

    If this is too personal, I apologize in advance (but you really don't want ME guessing as to the pronunciation :confused:... it could be pretty bad).
     
  2. Kurtis Smejkal

    Kurtis Smejkal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Posts:
    253
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Froggie we're getting to know eachother so I don't mind.

    J is silent, (Smay-kaul). National origin is Czech if I'm not mistaken.
     
  3. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Kurtis, May I suggest that using Wilders "Conversations" Inbox for messaging might be better for discussions than e-mail when someone wants to work something out. It might be quicker.
     
  4. Kurtis Smejkal

    Kurtis Smejkal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Posts:
    253
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    If you have a preference for that, the reason I stress email is I get so many notifications when I get an email, you'll get a response much faster through email then you will through a conversation here. Still, I make a point to check my messages and alerts on here every two hours or so. So it's not like you should be waiting too long.

    I suppose if it isn't an emergency or highly pressing issue, conversation may be better. I'll leave it up to you guys.
     
  5. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,384
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    ...and may I remind all users who may wanna jump into this FREE version. As has been experienced by users on the RBrx Forum, if you didn't pay for a license, support may be hard to come by if a problem exists. There's even a case of a gifted NFR license holder (NOT FOR RESALE... he received it for all the help he offered during some serious problem phases) was not dealt with in a timely manner and was told that's what to expect when you're not a PAID license holder.

    I assume it can't be much better for a FREE license holder... but I'm sure Kurtis will correct me if I'm wrong in this assumption, and if he does, I'll ask him about the NFR license holders (of which I am one, also) and what their expectations should be in the way of support :shifty:
     
  6. Kurtis Smejkal

    Kurtis Smejkal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Posts:
    253
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Oh geeze, well it's a bit of a complicated answer, so I will attempt to answer with my usual charm and diplomacy...

    Most support issues we have regarding Home Edition are usually boiled down to "Home Edition doesn't have/do ______________ why not?" which is usually followed by us leading into a discussion on Professional Edition. If you flood our support portal with questions like this, you'll probably get an answer down the line, but this isn't a huge priority. Sure, we'd love to sell you Professional Edition, but it's not as crucial as systems crashing or losing snapshots etc.

    If you do have a serious support issue that isn't about missing features, feel free to talk about it on our Forums. I realize people prefer the old forums, but this is the best place to discuss issues regarding Home Edition. You always can submit a Support Ticket, but in this case, you're going to get a higher priority and faster response through our forum.

    Cheers,
     
  7. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,158
    Hello Kurtis,

    I think system restore is not required with Rollback Rx Home.
    So I think during install Rollback should have an option i.e checkbox ticked & should mention system restore will be disabled.

    Could Windows/Other Defrag software create probs for Rollback?
    If Yes, I think during install Rollback should have an option i.e checkbox ticked & should mention Windows Defrag will be disabled and dont use any defrag software with Rollback installed.

    Pasword Protection should be there in Rollback Home.

    It changes Windows Updates settings from auto to manual, why?

    Regards
    Yesnoo
     
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2015
  8. Kurtis Smejkal

    Kurtis Smejkal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Posts:
    253
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Hello good sir,

    To answer your first question, Windows System Restore (WSR) gets replaced by RollBack Rx. In this instance it operates outside of windows, so if something happens like a BSOD that's not going to affect RollBack Rx. I can definitely pass on your suggestion of a prompt/warning regarding this. However, it does need to replace WSR in order to function.

    Windows itself won't cause problems for RollBack Rx, but Windows Updates can. The reason for this is sometimes Microsoft makes updates that affect even RollBack Rx. Now I mentioned that since RollBack Rx is outside of Windows it's not affected by a lot, but Windows Updates are one of the few things that do, because an update can literally affect any portion of your computer. It's hard for us to predict, and we'll always TRY to stay one step ahead of these damming updates, but sometimes we have to take a responsive stance. This article will give you a bit more of an idea of why and how updates can be our biggest pain.

    Defrag is such a touchy subject, generally the answer as to whether RollBack Rx works with Defragging is YES*. Make sure you read this article for a better explanation then I could ever give!

    Password protection, I can tell you is likely not to be added. As much as we want to be charitable, giving, and kind to all mankind; we are still in the business of software, and we still have to have incentive for people to purchase RollBack Rx Professional Edition. If you don't have the product already, and would be interested, feel free to email me, and I can always strongarm management to give a decent discount to a Wilders user ;)

    Now I talked about Windows Updates being an issue, we actually have a forum that actually will tell you whether it's safe to apply or not. So the reason it changes is that we leave it to you as to whether you want to risk installing the update and possibly compromise RollBack Rx. What I would do, is when an update comes out, check that forum (I personally have it bookmarked!) and see what we say. That way you have piece of mind.

    Hope this helps clarify some things!

    Cheers,
     
  9. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,158
    Hello Kurtis,

    Thanxx for the clear reply on password protection.

    About System Restore - What I meant was currently Rollback doesn't disable it. I think Rollback Home should disable System Restore & inform the user about it on install.

    About Defrag - Same as System Restore. I think Rollback Home should disable Windows Defrag & inform the user about it on install. And should also inform/recommend the user to disable any other Defrag software on system.

    About Windows Updates - This one is a prob. I was thinking of installing Rollback on few average users system. Now WU probs makes me think that System Image is a must with Rollback type of software. And not all users visit forum so that they know its safe to install WU or not.

    Regards
    Yesnoo
     
  10. Stode

    Stode Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Posts:
    377
    Location:
    Finland
    Hello Kurtis.
    I am an old customer of Horizon Datasys and bought a license for RX 9.x years ago...
    Any idea why can't I login anymore on the support/customer page?
    Seems like my account is deleted as it says "We encountered a problem (unable to find a user account with email address.....*****)
    I am still getting the newsletters from your company to that e-mail address tho..
    Anyways, I am interested to test Drive Cloner with RX, sent you PMs. (with proof about me being an old customer, lol ..)
     
  11. Kit1cat

    Kit1cat Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    Posts:
    148
    Location:
    Plymouth, UK
    I have tried the new freeware rollback and got the same HAL error coming out of sleep mode that I got with version 10 a couple of years back, when customer support advised me to stop using it.
     
  12. Masterblaster

    Masterblaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Posts:
    262
    Location:
    USA
    I have never seen a software failure rate like HTS software. This is very troubling as the main purpose of their software is to protect data.
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2015
  13. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,384
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Well... that's clearly one way to keep from having to FIX the issue :rolleyes:

    Maybe you should give Customer Support another shot at the problem... and maybe Kurtis can help move a new contact issue along a bit. After all, he is looking for an opportunity to test his "metal"... :isay:, this may be it! I do know that perseverance will work, although a user should not have to go through what some of us have.

    My personal experience working "with" (against?) HDS Customer Support was kinda classic. They said I was doing something wrong, I disagreed, they disagreed and tried to dismiss my support request, I refused and asked for a higher tier of support (a technical mgr of some sort), they passed me on. Once I explained what was going on and made it clear to the "mgr" that I was correct in my assumption, the mgr finally agreed and sent the issue off to development where they implemented a change in the production version to accommodate the correct information instead of the assumption the Dev team had made when it was first designed/implemented. This process took a long time but finally reach fruition. For all this technical back'n'forth they eventually gave me a NFR Rollback RX license :confused:... like that'll make some poor user very happy after one of their classic disaster explosions :eek:

    My point is all was worked out eventually but required quite a bit of sheparding to get it there. If you're still interested in the product, maybe you should allow Kurtis to help you along a possible path to success.
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2015
  14. Kurtis Smejkal

    Kurtis Smejkal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Posts:
    253
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Yeah I wish more people would visit that forum, but I'm also thinking when a new update comes out of getting it out on other platforms (Social Media, Wilders, etc)


    Yes, sorry I haven't responded yet I've been quite busy organizing this beta. If you want in I can certainly arrange that.

    As for this error, you'll have to email me in this case. I'll have to forward it to someone with a bit more knowledge on this. We can definitely fix it for you!


    Froggie is right, submit a Support Ticket, then fire me a separate email regarding your issue. Just summarize the issue as best you can, also send me log files and screenshots (if you can) as well as your Ticket ID. Then I'll shepherd this through and make sure you get a prompt and effective response.

    Cheers,
     
  15. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,384
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    If you're not too busy, Kurtis :argh:... HERE'S a user on your own Forum that could use some help.
     
  16. Kurtis Smejkal

    Kurtis Smejkal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Posts:
    253
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    I actually don't have an account on our own forum yet! lol So I forwarded it to Sam.
     
  17. jwcca

    jwcca Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Posts:
    772
    Location:
    Toronto
    and right now the forum is DOWN (technical difficulties?)
     
  18. Keatah

    Keatah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Posts:
    1,019
    Ultimately anyone using RBRX needs to have a complete and full sector-by-sector backup/clone. There is no question with regard to that.

    RBRX adds another layer of complexity onto an already complex system. And both products Windows & RBRX are in constant flux. There's no telling when a conflict is going to crop up. It's just the nature of the beast.
     
  19. Kurtis Smejkal

    Kurtis Smejkal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Posts:
    253
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    We were backing up some data, which caused the forums to be down for a bit. Back up and running now! :)


    It's your sort of logical thinking that I have to admire. You're absolutely right, our software depends on Windows infrastructure, if Windows ever changed that, we could have problems. Which is why we tell people, wait to hear what we have to say about a particular windows update before you install it. Let us crash our VM's first before you crash your actual system ;)

    As for back up, Drive Cloner Version 6 will do just that.
     
  20. Keatah

    Keatah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Posts:
    1,019
    Best decision ever! Lots of expertise here at Wilders to get you going with backups. Once you have your data safe then by all means experiment around with RBRX.
     
  21. Keatah

    Keatah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Posts:
    1,019
    I tend to do things that way. Manual updates and upgrades, mostly. But what about people that set everything on automatic? They are going to get hit sooner or later with some incompatibility. It is also these same (automatic) people that will try a few fixes and unfortunately, unwittingly, reduce chances recovery. God knows we see that often enough.
     
  22. Kit1cat

    Kit1cat Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    Posts:
    148
    Location:
    Plymouth, UK
    Thanks for the offer, but I only gave it a quick try to see if the problem had be solved, I am more then happy with v1 of AX64 Time Machine at the moment, I like the way the program saves snapshots to an external drive. I had the HAL error for anumber of years on my system and it never caused me a problem.
     
  23. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,158
    Can I use it in passive mode i.e like windows restore?
    Atleast this way I will have better restore program compared to windows.
    And guess, in passive mode no probs with windows updates?
     
  24. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,384
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Yesnoo, there is no such thing as "passive mode"... Rollback is always ACTIVE. Of course you can use it like Windows Restore... when it works, it's a much better version of Windows Restore, but it's always ACTIVE and therefore always vulnerable.

    You can always use the non-Automatic options in Windows Update and follow this Horizon Data Sys THREAD which lets its users know when Windows updates are safe to apply.
     
  25. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,158
    Is there a msconfig-startup entry or start with windows entry?
    What happens if the entry is disabled?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.