Roll out of new web filtering

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by aieie, Oct 15, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    We have a large support staff so there is bound to be a range of awareness of how the product works. However, it definitely does not require a scan after whitelisting/blacklisting a website.
     
  2. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,313
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Finally received the new Web Filtering module, but have disabled the Firefox add-on as I find it mostly useless. Now to see whether the false positives are reduced.
     
  3. sturgess

    sturgess Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Posts:
    158
    Well that's reassuring :blink:
     
  4. sturgess

    sturgess Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Posts:
    158
    Keep disabling bits here, and bits there and we'll all have what we wanted in the first place, Prevx 4.
     
  5. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    ...an infection :p
     
  6. sturgess

    sturgess Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Posts:
    158
    Nope, NIS + Prevx 4 :)
     
  7. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Disabling the web filtering browser addon will prevent WSA from analyzing websites, removing your web filtering protection. You can disable Lastpass if wanted, but you should keep the web filtering addon enabled.
     
  8. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,313
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Ah OK. I thought the add-on merely placed the check marks next to Google/Bing/Yahoo search results. Perhaps the add-on's description could be a little more detailed. (I've re-enabled it now.)
     
  9. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Thanks, I'll see what we can do about making it more descriptive. You can disable the search result annotation within the Settings page of WSA if you don't want to see those, for what it's worth.
     
  10. shorTcircuiT

    shorTcircuiT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Posts:
    39
    Location:
    United States

    I most certainly do not want to disable it, but after reading your reply I went looking to find the setting for that. It is in a strange place: it listed under Firewall instead of under Shields, which is the opposite of what I expected for some reason.
     
  11. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    hmm i dont use the firefox add in normally but webroot still detects everything inlcuding websites many times as i have told you before with the issue with the previous web filter, or is this just with the new version of the web filter that it needs to be enabled? i personally dont like the checkmarks thing.
     
  12. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    We have it under firewall because many users consider anything protecting internet applications/traffic to be a firewall.
     
  13. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    It is only relevant for the new web filtering, and you can disable the checkmarks if wanted - it is a highly requested feature but not one for everyone if they don't need it.
     
  14. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,313
    Location:
    Adelaide
    It's a good thing I read this as I never would've thought to look under the Firewall settings; I would've looked for the Web Shield settings then wondered where they were!
     
  15. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,803
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  16. De Hollander

    De Hollander Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Posts:
    718
    Location:
    Windmills and cows
    @Prevhelp
    "We have it under firewall because many users consider anything protecting internet applications/traffic to be a firewall."

    Whit all do respect, that's is a wrong approach regarding the location off the settings.

    The Seeker pointed it out precisely, it's a web base application.

    Sincerely

    De Hollander
     
  17. tomdy2k

    tomdy2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    174
    I'm using Chrome 31.0.1650.57 m..On win 7 64 bit..How do I know if i have the new web filtering..?:oops:
     
  18. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    I appreciate the feedback, however, we took a lot of feedback into account when placing it where it is now and moving it would cause further confusion so I don't expect us to move it in the near future.
     
  19. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,726
    Guess I'll give up on this and continue unlocking.
     
  20. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    I've escalated it internally and the team is looking into it. For the time being, I suggest just continuing to unblock locally and report it in through support, and I'll report back as soon as I hear something.
     
  21. explanoit

    explanoit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013
    Posts:
    28
    Location:
    USA
    Joe,
    How long does the web/IP filtering component cache results from BrightCloud?
     
  22. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,803
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Hello explanoit nice to see you here from the Webroot Community! :D

    Cheers,

    Daniel
     
  23. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    It depends on the website and can range from a few minutes to a couple hours, but the cache is not persisted across browser sessions.
     
  24. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    5,296
    Location:
    New York City
    Support is not responding to a URL Reputation Change Request. I submitted a false positive over a week ago and have heard nothing and the false positive still exists.
     
  25. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    finally got the update on 1 of my lic's. the rest are still waiting.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.