Roboscan 2.5

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by trjam, Mar 4, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Austerity

    Austerity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Georgia / USA
    Giving it a try...
     
  2. ghodgson

    ghodgson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Posts:
    835
    Location:
    UK
    You can temporarily get rid of the ad by deleting the 'Banner' folder, but when it updates it comes back again.
    Result -- I uninstalled Roboscan before I became demented, or maybe I already am.
     
  3. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,232
    This uses old Bitdefender engine like Bitdefender 2008 or 2010 product engine. I read this on malwaretips. If I could find the thread, will post the link here.
     
  4. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,861
    Mistake.
    =
     
  5. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,232
    2 days behind mostly is quite a big difference as BD updates quite often that means latest malware protection missing.
    Does Robo has heur option?
     
  6. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,861
    It's 2 days man, not 6 or 4 years
    Also: "Sometimes Robo have the same engine but this appens rarely."
    When necessary, Robo have the same engine. Think about it........

    Robo default (and VB test it at default) has heuristic detection disabled.
    also here=
    http://i1-win.softpedia-static.com/screenshots/Roboscan-Internet-Security-Free_11.png?1377760561

    ------------------------

     
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2014
  7. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,120
    Actually the definitons are updated several times a day:
    http://www.roboscan.com/home/home_main.aspx
     
  8. FOXP2

    FOXP2 Guest

    Yeah, I was a sucker for that one too when I ran it for almost two months last year.

    Not only was the it clearly evident from it's own logs AND their Web site AND the date/time stamps of the files in the sigs folder, their updates were every 24 hours.

    I was there for that four-day gap in October, see the left-side boxed screenie below. Three emails about that went unanswered.

    Earlier today I installed LavaSoft Free; reference the right-side boxed screenie below. About 900 (!) sig/def files were included in the initial install and update about noon-ish here, BD v7.53532. Since then there have been three updates to v7.53533-35. (If implemented correctly, a BD app will have an update.txt file in the folder with the sigs. That shows the latest version numner.) The bdcore.dll engine file is the current v11.0.1.6. For Win7x64 at any rate.

    I'm not saying RoboScan is no good. The tests surely show effectiveness. There's more to it than Bitdefender, but if anyone thinks they're getting the full Monty Bitdefender AV engine works for free with this, they're mistaken. If that's changed since last year I stand corrected; but it doesn't look like it from their own data:
    -http://www.roboscan.com/support/latest_db.aspx?Type=v

    They do better with Tera - on another 24 hours schedule.

    And that's it. This thread has seriously dug into my quality 24/7 porn surfing. :D

    Cheers.

    RoboScam.jpg
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 7, 2014
  9. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    73,259
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Removed Off Topic Posts. Let's Focus Only On The Subject: Roboscan 2.5. Thank You!
     
  10. FreddyFreeloader

    FreddyFreeloader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Posts:
    527
    Location:
    Tejas
    Thank you, mods, for keeping this thread on topic!
     
  11. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,232
    FOXP2,

    Previously I too have mentioned many times about Robo updates & all. Your info/screenshots makes it more clear.
    Anyway, Robo is not for me.
     
  12. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Posts:
    145
    approx how much is the 1st/initial update after install & the final size of roboscan after this install.i have very less space in C drive & may have to make some space depending on the answer.
     
  13. FreddyFreeloader

    FreddyFreeloader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Posts:
    527
    Location:
    Tejas
    Don't hold me to this, but I seem to remember the total install + updates was around 225mb.
     
  14. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,120
    Roboscan updated 4 times yesterday according to the logs. I didn't have my laptop running all day, if I had maybe it would have been more. The total amount of new definitions shown for the day is 189. The logs don't show which engine is being updated. Maybe if is just he Terra engine being updated several times a day. Adding only 189 new definitions for day seems less than impressive.

    That is the version Roboscan is now using.

    From the changelog for v2.5 from the 19th of November:
    Sorry to interrupt you ;) I've got to go now and do some surfing too.
     
  15. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,120
    This is the changelog for v2.5.0.21 which was released on the 19th of November, from the included readme file. I thought I'd post it as Roboscan don't have it on their website.
     
  16. Iangh

    Iangh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Posts:
    840
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    trjam has changed to ESET. Thanks for pointing me to Roboscan. Looking forward to seeing which freebie you prefer next.:D
     
  17. Nightwalker

    Nightwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,314
    Ligther than Emsisoft 8.1? I will try it later ...
     
  18. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,861
    No surprises. trjam changes AV (and announces that with a new avatar & signature) on weekly basis! :p
     
  19. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Posts:
    145
    tried it & wasn't impressed.paused the initial 1st update after in doubt about exact size requirement not to mention my limited data usage plan.resumed/restarted the update the next day(no system restart within this period) & after all is done it seemed to work/install ok but whenever i right click & selected scan option for any drive/folder/file,it simply displayed a message "no threats found" after few seconds of scan initialising window.
    if it had simply crashed because of some install issue i would have given it a 2nd chance but an AV which seemingly installed correctly but didn't actually scan anything(& still displaying no threats found) is worse than an AV which crashes but does scan/try to scan.
     
  20. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,120
    Are you sure that nothing was scanned?
    Roboscan.png
    As you can see in the screenshot the number of files scanned are shown after the message scan complete.
     
  21. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Posts:
    145
    didn't noticed but i wasn't noticing that anyway.i compared by selecting scan option for a file,folder & finally C drive(16gb,700mb free) & in all cases it took less than 30 seconds to display "no threats found" which is simply not possible for C drive.i am guessing during scan initialisation roboscan failed to get control/access to file system for whatever reasons.it should have displayed some error/crash but instead it handled the situation by assuming 0 file scanned=0 threat hence all ok.
     
  22. Iangh

    Iangh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Posts:
    840
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    I wish I could stop the updates notification; it's so tacky and detracts from the quality of the program.

    Re scanning 0 files, I had that happen. Uninstalled and re-installed to solved it.
     
  23. FOXP2

    FOXP2 Guest

    Taking a quick break from my 24/7 porn surfing and following up on my previous BD sig update discussion, these are the BD sig versions for a 24-hour period.

    Update time: Thu Mar 13 18:57:37 2014
    Signature number: 10679645
    Update time GMT: 1394729857
    Version: 7.53631

    Update time: Fri Mar 14 19:16:08 2014
    Signature number: 11587870
    Update time GMT: 1394817368
    Version: 7.53647

    In checking the plugins folder in my Lavasoft Free install, I snagged nine of them for the period when I was on-line. The system hibernates when I do (8-9 hours a night).

    For what it's worth disclaimer: this is for what it's worth.
     
  24. aztony

    aztony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Posts:
    633
    Location:
    The Valley Arizona
    Testing this suite on my elderly XP desktop. So far very impressed with liteness and its ease of use. May be a keeper.
     
  25. fblais

    fblais Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Posts:
    1,294
    Location:
    Québec, Canada
    Installed the free IS yesterday, and like it very much!
    Light as a feather, yet lots of options.
    Definitely a keeper!
    Seems to be available only in english though.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.