roboform alternative

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by garry35, Jun 1, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. garry35

garry35 Registered Member

not sure if this is the correct place to post this so sorry in advance if its wrong.

i have been a roboform pro user for many years and now accumulated over 700+ logins at the last count.... when i first bought roboform they said it was a lifetime license, but now its changed into a paid fee for any updates. are there any opensource or free alternatives that can import my saved logins and at the same time remain secure ?. i have briefly tried lastpass and keepass but i dont like the idea of logging into a website before i can access my logins cos i feel its unsecure.

i am open to suggestions and experiences from others.........

Gazzer

2. aladdin

aladdin Registered Member

LastPass!

3. aladdin

I had two lifetime licenses for v6. I went ahead and bought two licenses for v7, though I threw a big fit.

4. garry35

i also upgraded from v6 to 7 and now the current version. regarding lastpass i dont like the idea of logging on to a server before i can access my logins.

i maybe wrong but this seems like a security risk and also they could in theory hold your login data to ransom if the site ever went down or they decided to start charging for everything.

5. bullmose

bullmose Registered Member

i personally like keepass, there are plug-ins that you can use to have it auto-fill information if you are into that. what i really like about keepass thought is the Two-Channel Auto-Type Obfuscation http://keepass.info/help/v2/autotype_obfuscation.html

http://keepass.info/plugins.html have a look at some of the plugins lots of interesting ones to make it more useful. No need to log into a website to get your passwords out either.

6. popcorn

popcorn Registered Member

7. chinook9

chinook9 Registered Member