Ridiculously long boot time

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by flaillomanz, Nov 30, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. flaillomanz

    flaillomanz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    Australia
    I'll try to keep this short and simple.
    eset1.png
    The above shows the average loading time (during the boot process, obviously - Sorry for using such an old screenshot) of ESET NOD32 Antivirus (fully upgraded, 64-bit, windows 7, running on default settings). More specifically, EKRN.exe.

    Not what I would call blistering speeds, and it takes a full 5 minutes for my computer to load after the windows welcome screen disappears. Now, I know that it isn't just ESET doing this, looking at the event log:
    eset2.png
    ...yet it must have something to do with eset - I mean, 2 minutes? Seriously?

    To tell the truth, I'm a little afraid of messing around in the workings of my computer - I've had 3 startup-repair boots this month alone. So, may I have some assistance and opinion on what the best course of action is?

    I also uploaded both images as attachments.

    See the attacked .txt for my system information, including all installed programs.

    View attachment System.txt
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    are there more errors in event viewer logs?
     
  3. flaillomanz

    flaillomanz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    Australia
    Any specifics? I filtered events 101-110 as well, and ESET definately takes the longest to start. The rest have relatively normal (<30 seconds) load times.


    And, yeah, all the "error" classed ones are eset.
     
  4. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    Any other errors or warnings under System (event viewer/windows logs)? What was the cause of those repairs?
     
  5. flaillomanz

    flaillomanz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    Australia
    hmm... Apparently, the device \Device\Harddisk0\DR0 had a bad block...
    Does that mean...what I THINK it means?

    There's also another error which frequently appears, sourced as the Service Control Manager.
     
  6. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    Yes it does mean that. Backup data, repair it with chkdsk and keep monitoring, if those errors start coming back time for a new drive
     
  7. flaillomanz

    flaillomanz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    Australia
    Damn... thanks for the quick reply.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.