Ridiculously long boot time

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by flaillomanz, Nov 30, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. flaillomanz

    flaillomanz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    Australia
    I'll try to keep this short and simple.
    eset1.png
    The above shows the average loading time (during the boot process, obviously - Sorry for using such an old screenshot) of ESET NOD32 Antivirus (fully upgraded, 64-bit, windows 7, running on default settings). More specifically, EKRN.exe.

    Not what I would call blistering speeds, and it takes a full 5 minutes for my computer to load after the windows welcome screen disappears. Now, I know that it isn't just ESET doing this, looking at the event log:
    eset2.png
    ...yet it must have something to do with eset - I mean, 2 minutes? Seriously?

    To tell the truth, I'm a little afraid of messing around in the workings of my computer - I've had 3 startup-repair boots this month alone. So, may I have some assistance and opinion on what the best course of action is?

    I also uploaded both images as attachments.

    See the attacked .txt for my system information, including all installed programs.

    View attachment System.txt
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    are there more errors in event viewer logs?
     
  3. flaillomanz

    flaillomanz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    Australia
    Any specifics? I filtered events 101-110 as well, and ESET definately takes the longest to start. The rest have relatively normal (<30 seconds) load times.


    And, yeah, all the "error" classed ones are eset.
     
  4. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    Any other errors or warnings under System (event viewer/windows logs)? What was the cause of those repairs?
     
  5. flaillomanz

    flaillomanz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    Australia
    hmm... Apparently, the device \Device\Harddisk0\DR0 had a bad block...
    Does that mean...what I THINK it means?

    There's also another error which frequently appears, sourced as the Service Control Manager.
     
  6. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    Yes it does mean that. Backup data, repair it with chkdsk and keep monitoring, if those errors start coming back time for a new drive
     
  7. flaillomanz

    flaillomanz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    Australia
    Damn... thanks for the quick reply.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.