Revo Uninstaller: Installing Apps that install other apps+reboots

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by berryracer, Jun 2, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    I have just formatted my system and want to ensure that I am monitoring the installation of apps correctly using Revo Uninstaller. The problem is, I am trying to Install Nero 11, and that app first installs like 5 diff. components, then reboots the system, then upon reboot, it continues to install the rest of the core Nero applications and then when I run the app, it prompts me to update a program to a newer version (that program is called Nero Kwik Media). So what is the correct way of installing/monitoring the installation of such an application?? This seems complicated and I want to do it the right way. Please guide me.

    PS: I have submitted a ticket to Revo Uninstaller's support...

    Let's see what they say, just wanted to share this with you guys
     
  2. PaulBB

    PaulBB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    708
  3. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    1) I already have a license of Nero 11 I'm afraid :(

    2) I already purchased Revo Uninstaller Pro since it was on a 50% discount :(
     
  4. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    Support replied rather quickly!

    Not very helpful as this certainly isn't the way I'd like to install an app but what the heck :rolleyes:

    ~Private communication removed per the TOS~
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 3, 2012
  5. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    Not any more! Used to be! Right now REVO rocks!

    Best regards,

    KOR!
     
  6. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    I bought Total Uninstall family licenses (four) with two years update. Every time I try to uninstall with both v5 and v6 I get the following error. The developer is more busy trying to make it hard for people to steal his program rather than improve his program. I bought the program with USA address, when I tried to activate it in Oman, I couldn't. Had to waste my time and sent him an email for activation.

    Best regards,

    KOR!

    P.S. Basically a useless program and waste of money.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. clubhouse

    clubhouse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Posts:
    180
    Thank goodness I tried testing both these products to remove 'test' software myself......otherwise reading this I would have possibly believed that Revo performs better than Total Uninstall.
     
  8. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    What I posted was for Total Uninstall. Of course, REVO performs better than Total Uninstall. Where did you get the idea that Total Uninstall is better?

    Best regards,

    KOR!
     
  9. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    I always see as Revo is the best in reviews :doubt:
     
  10. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    Yes, the developer of Total Uninstall is too paranoid about his software being stolen. So, he spends all his time trying to make sure this doesn't happen.

    1. Every month Total Uninstall has to be activated, thus have to find the key and input it.
    2. Any slight changes to software and hardware, Total Uninstall has to be activated, thus have to find the key and input it.
    3. I bought the software in USA, but couldn't activate it in Oman. Talk about Global Village.

    Conclusion: Almost every time, I try to use Total Uninstall, I have to first activate it and then try the uninstall. Even then I get the error, "Catastrophic Failure" on all my four machines on uninstalling the software. Gives lots of assurance, doesn't it?
     
  11. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    Thanks for telling us this man.

    I use a VPN so my IP changes all the time since I live in Dubai and everything is blocked, VPN is a must.... I would imagine having to activate everyday in this case LOL!

    this is worse than the Microsoft activation methods!


    And cmonnnnn........for what?? an uninstaller?! LOL!
     
  12. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,962
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Removed Off Topic Posts. Let's focus on the subject: Revo Uninstaller: Installing Apps that install other apps+reboots. Thanks!
     
  13. clubhouse

    clubhouse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Posts:
    180

    Simply testing......For me I have found that total uninstall removes all the folders and files of the softwares I tested it on.....Trying revo using the same softwares it left MANY folders and files.....I will not argue about it....I don't care about the PRESUMED reasons that the developer of TU is changing his product....I'm just stating my observations.



    TU will allow a restart and continue its uninstall unlike revo....That is more apt to the op's question....may not help in the case of Nero but may be worth noting for other softwares.
     
  14. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    I hope they update Revo soon to support installations of such apps that require a reboot as they said in their reply to me in the support ticket
     
  15. Seer

    Seer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    1,596
    Location:
    Singidunum
    I am very sorry, but I have to.

    - WTFo_O Is that an excuse for installing a garbage? "Just because I have a license"? As mentioned, there are far better freeware alternatives, you don't have to use your license.

    As to the topic, monitoring installations, in my experience, is an impossible task. These uninstallers, except 3rd party software installations, monitor OS background noise as well (indexing, various OS loggings, etc.). On Windows 7, this noise tends to be substantial. I used to use Total Uninstall, but then, after each installation, I had to go to Total Uninstall logs and manually clean up backround noise, which was a very, very, tedious task. Thanks, but no thanks.
    My advice is to give up on that.
     
  16. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    sorry dude it's not garbage!

    Nero Recode is invnalueable!

    I use it to make DVDs...just drop in any format of video files and it does the magic easily :rolleyes:
     
  17. Seer

    Seer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    1,596
    Location:
    Singidunum
    Did I call Nero garbage?

    I was speaking hypothetically.

    Whatever...
     
  18. Spruce

    Spruce Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Posts:
    291
    +1
    Not impressed by Revo since I started using TU.
     
  19. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    Total uninstall is far superior (imo) and copes with reboots .Ive never personally had any catastrophic failures or had any need to reactivate my licence continually with it either.I cant comment on TU support as ive never contacted them.Why dont you trial it?.Revo uninstaller is no better than the free advanced uninstaller pro 10 imo.
     
  20. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    Which version of TU you are using, v5 or v6?
     
  21. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    Version 6.0.2 standard version for 64 bit.
     
  22. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    What do you mean by standard version?

    Is it unpaid version?

    Version 6.1.0 is out for a while now.
     
  23. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    No its licenced version..
    http://www.martau.com/total-uninstall-professional-vs-standard.php

    Hey ,thanks for the info ,just updated to that version.Its accepted it even though in about it says "free update until may 2012".
     
  24. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    Mine is a Professional family version.

    Best regards,

    KOR!

    P.S. Do a test, start your VPN, change your location from where you bought it and then start TU. Then report back what happens.
     
  25. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    I dont use vpn but after re reading post 10 and 11i can see that there would be problems as TU is activation based software like shadow protect although at least with shadowprotect you can deactivate and reactivate.According to Tu forums they are supposedly going to make activation easier
    http://www.martau.com/forums/support/tu6-activation-deactivation-t1027.html
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.