Returnil not booting-paid version

Discussion in 'Returnil releases' started by Rilla927, May 19, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rilla927

    Rilla927 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,710
    Hello,

    I'm running SecureAnywhere AV with Returnil. The AV updated and when I restarted the screen was black for almost an hour before anything showed up.

    I keep getting RPC server not available error and the icon disappeared. They collided some how. Returnil is still in the startup. What should I do?

    This is win7 Pro and Returnil build 13.
     
  2. Coldmoon

    Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    2,981
    Location:
    USA
    Can you take me through the entire incident? Were both programs already installed and working as expected prior to this incident? If yes, was the update to SA or RSS?

    Did you check the detection/quarantine logs for both programs? If yes, was something removed to quarantine in either program?
     
  3. Rilla927

    Rilla927 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,710
    Yes, both programs were installed and working properly before this. The update .184 was from SecureAnywhere.

    I was able to only open Returnil once and I checked the "quarentine" and nothing was there. Now I can't open it at all. When I try to open it I get "Returnil System Safe 2011 core system is not available".

    It all started with the update then I restarted the machine and the screen was black for almost a hour. Then everything re-appeared on screen. Returnil icon is gone and cannot be started. If I restart the machine I have to wait almost a hour for everything to show up on screen.

    Is there a command line to restore function?
     
  4. Coldmoon

    Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    2,981
    Location:
    USA
    The update that caused the problem appears to be SA AV and the last update fro that program. Is the Virtual Mode active in RSS/RVS?

    Another question would be if the computer boots or boots and faster in Safe Mode...
     
  5. Rilla927

    Rilla927 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,710
    No, Returnil doesn't work at all.

    The computer boots but takes almost an hour to show anything on the screen. It will go in safe mode.
     
  6. Coldmoon

    Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    2,981
    Location:
    USA
    See your PM and let me know. The key will be in the system's performance when the system fully boots up. Do you have normal performance of the computer when you finally get the system booted normally?
     
  7. Rilla927

    Rilla927 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,710
    Yes, I have normal performance of the computer when booted.

    Checking PM.

    EDIT

    Okay, got beta installed. So far so good.

    Is there a way to have the icon green when in virtual mode only? And red when not. I sure hope they don't get rid of this feature because I and everyone's computer I install this on relies on this. Otherwise we're surfing the net thinking we're in virtual mode when not.
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2012
  8. kupo

    kupo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,122
    Just a question to Mike, how long will this beta be? Any ETA on a release version?:D

    @Rilla927
    Right click
    Change preference
    Administration
    Tick when virtual mode is active
     
  9. Coldmoon

    Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    2,981
    Location:
    USA
    Hi skudo12,
    The GUI is different in 3.3x so your instructions only apply to the current 3.2x generation. as for the final release date, it will be released when we are confident that it is ready to be released as a final. At the moment, all testing results we have leads to an expectation that the beta should not have to go as long as some of our historic runs in the past.

    We will keep everyone informed of the status and let you know when the time is getting close to the final release.

    Mike
     
  10. Coldmoon

    Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    2,981
    Location:
    USA
    Yes, you simply click the Icon OR the listed items in the status box in the upper left of the main screen to turn the protection features on.

    Mike
     
  11. Rilla927

    Rilla927 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,710
    This only changes the color of the icon for protection status only. I disable the virus gaurd (by deafult) and go into virtual mode and the icon stays "red" when it was "red" before I started so can't tell when in virtual mode or not.

    The same goes if I start out with the icon green and go in virtual mode then the icon stays green, no way to tell.

    Mine doesn't change when going into virtual mode unless I'm not understanding something correctly.

    The returnil I'm using (build13) now always has a red icon in try. Then I go into virtual mode and the icon changes to green to let me know it's in virtual mode. This is with virus gaurd disabled. This is on my desktop not the laptop with the beta version.
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2012
  12. Rilla927

    Rilla927 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,710
    I will check this again. I did look for it before. Thanks

    I checked this again and the only thing I have under Administration is "enable password protection". Also when I right click there is no "change preference".

    This sounds like the install is botched.
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2012
  13. Coldmoon

    Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    2,981
    Location:
    USA
    No, the install is not botched. the 3.3x version has many upgrades and fixes, but has also been developed with fewer options setting to make the program easier to use.

    Mike
     
  14. Rilla927

    Rilla927 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,710
    Are they not far enough in development for these options to be missiing or they plan on not adding them? I'll assume the latter. If this is the case, there taking away features that make the program easier to use. This is backwards. I know I won't be renewing my license in the future.

    If this is not the case disregard anything I said.
     
    Last edited: May 24, 2012
  15. Coldmoon

    Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    2,981
    Location:
    USA
    Hi,
    Apologies for the delayed reply and good question. I am following up with development to get a clarification on this and will update you as soon as possible.
     
  16. Rilla927

    Rilla927 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,710
    No problem, Coldmoon.

    I want to tell you the two main features why I purchased Returnil.

    Being able to save bookmarks and knowing when in virtual mode and when not.

    I remember when I first installed it and put it in virtual mode and forgot (no way to tell) and then I made a lot of system wide changes and then of course when I rebooted it was all gone. I was P.Oed because of the time that I spent making these changes and now had to do them all over again.

    Then someone pointed out the feature of it letting you know when in virtual mode. This was a God send and I have been using it ever since. It saves a lot of time and aggravation.

    Okay, now that I got that out of the way I have a new problem. I uninstalled the beta cuz I wasn't able to use it the way I wanted.

    Reinstalled build 13 and a little window said something about product configuration being corrupt. I used my normal licesne and then it said the product version doesn't match the licensing and reverted to a trial.

    Also, it is using the license from the beta version (in build 13) cuz it says it expires on 07/21/2012 in 30 days. Now what do I do?
     
  17. Coldmoon

    Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    2,981
    Location:
    USA
    1. Do another uninstall with restart
    2. Open C:\Program Data\Returnil and delete the RVS3 folder
    3. Restart the computer
    4. Reinstall and test

    Notes: Make sure you have downloaded the correct 3.2x version (RVS or RSS) appropriate to your license. If you get an "invalid License" meesage at this point, shoot me a PM with your License Key so I can release the previous license assignment.

    Mike
     
  18. Rilla927

    Rilla927 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,710
    I uninstalled the beta version 3.3. This happened with build 13 after I reinstalled.
     
  19. Coldmoon

    Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    2,981
    Location:
    USA
    that is what I was talking about - uninstall REL13 and go from there with the instructions...
     
  20. Rilla927

    Rilla927 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,710
    Okay, sorry, I thought you were referring to the beta version.

    Reinstalled and I get the "product version is not supported by license". PM sent.
     
    Last edited: May 24, 2012
  21. Coldmoon

    Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    2,981
    Location:
    USA
    Hi Rilla927,
    I have updated the development team with your reports and they are checking into the down-grade abnormality you report.

    Mike
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.