Returnil and Vista

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by dgho, Apr 12, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dgho

    dgho Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Posts:
    31
    I have some problem with Returnil 2.0 and Vista Business on my new Thinkpad X61. This is also my first experience with Vista.

    1. When Returnil is activated, I could not use the hibernation. When I turn my X61 on, it is always said that the windows has been crashed and gave me some options (safe mode, etc).
    Is there any problem combining Returnil and Vista (hibernation) ?

    2. Since I am new to Vista, it is my understanding that Vista will try to adapt to my daily routine with superfetch, indexing, etc and in turn will make my system faster. Will Returnil (active) beat this purpose by zeroing all the changes in C: ?

    Thank you and pardon me for my English.
     
  2. Coldmoon

    Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    2,981
    Location:
    USA
    Hello dgho,
    Can you describe this in greater detail? There should be no issue using Hibernation or sleep with RVS in any of the supported OSs (XP, Server 2003, Vista 32).

    Mike
     
  3. dgho

    dgho Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Posts:
    31
    Hi Mike,

    My System: Thinkpad X61 with Vista 32 Business

    Here the steps:
    1. Returnil: System Protection - ON
    2. Hibernate using Fn + F12
    3. Turn the X61 on using Power Button
    4. "Windows Error Recovery"
    5. I choose: Start Windows Normally

    The Returnil does not have problems with Sleep, only with Hibernate. When Returnil System Protection OFF, it does not give me the Windows Error Recovery Screen.

    Thanks.
     
  4. Coldmoon

    Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    2,981
    Location:
    USA
    Hi dgho,
    Sorry for taking so long to reply. We have been testing this and can confirm your report of an incompatibility with hibernation in Vista SP1 (Windows XP and Server 2003 are not effected). We have identified the issue and are working on a solution that will be included in the next beta series.

    Mike
     
  5. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,219
    Well it is a bad one indeed. My computer not only never came back from hibernating, but I couldn't restore any image (using ShadowProtect Desktop), and the Vista installation CD would bluescreen when trying to reinstall the OS.

    The technician that fixed it said that the partition table was corrupted.

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=206148
     
  6. dgho

    dgho Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Posts:
    31
    Mike,

    Thanks for your response.
    My Vista is not SP1.
    For now, I am turning off my X61. Hopefully it could be solved soon.
    Returnil is a great software... :thumb: It helps me a lot...

    Thanks...


     
  7. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,042
    Hi Osaban

    I encountered that myself. Should it ever happen again, boot to the vista disk, and if there is a repair function, like in XP, you can run FixPart, and delete the partition with that. The second time was worse, and the system couldn't boot to anything windows. Would BSOD before it even got booted. Some of the utilities to fix it didn't work as I couldn't boot with them, no raid drivers. BootitNG came to the rescue. You have to be able to delete that partition table.

    Pete
     
  8. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,219
    Hello Peter,

    It is exactly what happened in your worst scenario: The Vista CD would BSOD before one could have any chance to choose anything (I don't think there is a repair option, I remember in one of your posts you were suggesting the XP CD as an option to fix the partition table).

    This is the first time I experienced a real sense of helplessness, however I'm not prepared to buy BootitNG for such an emergency, considering that I had no responsibility in creating the problem. I think that it should be a feature of all imaging programs to have a utility to fix the partition, otherwise what's the point to talk about 'bare metal recovery'?
     
  9. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,042
    Well the irony is SP's recovery CD does have a partition table editor. If you can boot that far, you can zero out the partition table, and that would fix it. But that only works on the simple corruption. What you had is worse. It's tough for a vendor like SP to provide a fix when you can't boot to windows. The beauty of BootitNG is it doesn't, and it can see the disks even with Raid.

    My WD disagnostic's at least on one machine, can isolate the disks and zero them out. One lives and learns.

    Pete

    PS. Bare Metal really doesn't apply, as that implies a drive with nothing on it. In both our cases we had stuff on the disk. By the way, the problem is MS routines, that access the partition table.
     
  10. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    A Linux LiveCD will do fine. Try GParted.
    The problem is that imaging programs rely on flawed Microsoft code (a bug in the disk driver IIRC). Since it's a extremely rare circumstance, Microsoft isn't going to fix it.
     
  11. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,219
    Thanks Lucas, I might give it a try in the future, although I still don't feel knowledgeable enough to undertake these kind of repair operations. Luckily it won't happen again.
     
  12. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    You don't have to repair anything :) Just wipe the disk's content (partition tables included) so Microsoft's code doesn't choke on the corrupted partitions when you load a WinPE disk like ShadowProtect's Recovery CD.
     
  13. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,219
    I 've prepared the live CD GParted, and there was a long matching process in the beginning to recognize the type of keyboard in use. It doesn't feel exactly as being a piece of cake operation though.

    Then I got a GUI very similar to the screenshot provided as an example in their website (see attached screenshot). So what you are saying basically is that one has to highlight the NTFS partition in use and deleted it... Or should I delete whatever is detected on the disk (I haven't tried it, and I won't unless I have to). Then the ShadowProtect recovery environment CD should restore everything from scratch. Did I miss anything?

    Thanks for the tutorial.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    What do you have on those ext2 partitions?
     
  15. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,219
    Sorry, there's a misunderstanding: The attachment is the example screen shot from the GParted website, it's not my computer.

    Basically what you're saying is that I can use GParted to format my drive before a new installation, and my question was how to do it looking at the screen shot supplied as a model (there are things that might be obvious for people who have already done it).

    I have the CD, it loads alright, but I'm not going to do anything as a test. If disaster strikes again, I won't have much to lose using it.
     
  16. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    OK :)
    Just select your partition, go to the "Partition" menu and choose Delete.
    delete partition.gif
    GPARTED GENERAL DOCUMENTATION

    Still, I'm not sure if GParted supports the NTFS revision of Vista. I don't have any Vista system to test it :(
     
  17. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,219
    Lucas, thanks a lot.
    I feel better thinking that I might be able at least to try something if it ever gets so bad. I should also add that I tried GParted with my other computer which runs with XP.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.