Returnil 2008 - System Tray

Discussion in 'General Returnil discussions' started by jpcummins, Oct 26, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jpcummins

    jpcummins Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    420
    Location:
    Terre Haute, IN
    My prior version of Returnil 2008 (Free) would load at start up and the Returnil icon would remain in the system tray; exactly the way I prefer it to. My new version of Returnil 2010 (Free) will load at start up but the Returnil icon will only remain in the system tray temporarily. I can correct this by Control Panel, Taskbar and Start Menu, Customize and change from Hide when inactive to Always Show. But this is only a temporary fix and has to be done each time I start my system. I realize this is a rather insignificant problem but it aggravates me that the older version did exactly the way I wanted it to and the newer version will not.

    I looked in MSConfig at the startup menu and noticed that there is only one Returnil entry. I mention this because unless I am mistaken the older version seemed to have two entries. I cannot verify this so I could be mistaken and it probably has no bearing at all.

    Can anyone tell me what I need to do so that the Returnil 2010 icon stays in the system tray? As always I appreciate any and all replies and would thank you in advance.

    John
     
  2. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    Hello John

    I only have one Returnil 2010 MSConfig entry:
    Capture.PNG

    Have you checked in the RVS UI that show tray icon is checked?
    Capture1.PNG

    HTH

    philby
     
  3. SammyJack

    SammyJack Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Posts:
    129
    Dear jpcummins:


    I am certain Returnil 2008,the former version,only had one entry in MSConfig.
    I am sure,because it was the only program I had in start up at the time.

    That was with,or without the Anti-Execute module enabled.

    That was on Windows XP SP3.
     
  4. jpcummins

    jpcummins Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    420
    Location:
    Terre Haute, IN
    In spite of everything I knew to try I could never get the 2010 Returnil Icon to stay in the System Tray. Oh, I could get it to stay by changing the Hide when Inactive to Always Show, in Task Bar and Start Menu Properties, but that was only a temporary fix. What I wanted was for it to always stay in the System Tray like the 2008 Returnil Icon did.

    I know that in the scheme of things this was insignificant but that is what I wanted. So, I uninstalled 2010 Returnil and reinstalled 2008 Returnil and now everything is doing exactly what I wanted.

    Perhaps the next version of Returnil will also do this insignificant thing for me. Please do not accept this post as criticism as I believe Returnil is a fantastic program.

    John
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.