Retaining about:config settings in FF ?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by CloneRanger, Oct 30, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    After installing Calomel - https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?goto=newpost&t=285561 - i discovered that for some unknown reason :( it resets and enables 3 settings i don't want enabled. Please see the screenies in the link for details.

    Is there a way to lock All/Any about:config settings ?

    If there isn't, as well as a complete inconvenience :mad: i think it's also a potential serious opening for malware etc to abuse !
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    What is the selection under Privacy tab in Calomel? Can you toggle that an see if it has an effect. Report it to developer if not.
     
  3. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,152
    The numbers of entries corresponding to the WOT add-on is whopping!
     
  4. vtol

    vtol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Posts:
    774
    Location:
    just around the next corner
    that browser add-ons always have been, as long as not certified/endorsed by the browser developers. Mozilla learned it the hard way, so did Apple. Now Opera started with add-ons, will see how that goes security-wise. and not certain how approved all chrome add-ons are. anything added carries usually also the burden of being another risk, as most of matters have a flip side.

    http://ilias.ca/blog/2005/03/locking-mozilla-firefox-settings/
    http://www.pcc-services.com/kixtart/firefox-lockdown.html
    http://mozillalinks.org/wp/2007/01/quickly-lock-down-your-firefox-setup
    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/3911/
     
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2010
  5. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    Silly me, i overlooked this :oops:

    sb.gif

    That's fixed it Thanks :) But the spelling check is still on :(

    Don't need to now ;) Well only about the SC, if they can be reached ?

    Hows that ? please explain :thumb:

    @ vtol

    Those links look great, Thanks :thumb: I'll see what i can do :)
     
  6. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    @ vtol

    I've had a good look at your links now, and Mozilla doesn't make it easy for us to lockdown our settings :( Some very nice suggestions on offer, even if they are over complicated. Anyway thanks again for taking the time to post them :thumb: I'll see if i can get something to work ;)
     
  7. allizomeniz

    allizomeniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    904
    If you didn't find it already, there's a spell check option under the Annoyances tab. :)
     
  8. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,152
    Clone Ranger,

    If you have installed the Web of Trust add-on, you'll see what I mean.

    When you open the about:config page, scroll down to "W" and see the number of entries due to WOT (weboftrust).

    In contrast, there isn't a single entry that I could link to AdBlock Plus.
     
  9. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    Yes thanks, it's unchecked in Calomel though

    spell.gif

    but it still does it unless i go to FF options and uncheck it ? This i have to do every time i launch a new instance of FF, so it gets a bit tedious :(

    @ vasa1

    I don't have WOT.

    Initially i thought that you were saying that somehow Calomel was affecting WOT, but i don't think you are, is that correct ?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.