Restoring split archive

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by riderz49, Apr 19, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. riderz49

    riderz49 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    I'm using TI 2009. I've got an archive spanned across 6 DVDs, and I can't get it to mount. When I start with the last volume, I get prompted for the first, but the program won't recognize the first. I can't figure out what I'm doing wrong.
     
  2. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    I believe you will have to copy them to some type of drive so all the files are together in one folder.
     
  3. riderz49

    riderz49 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    Well, that's what I thought too. When I put all the pieces in one folder, I still get the same prompts. All of the pieces are fresh backups created by TI that I want to test to ensure that they'll work if I need them.
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello riderz49,

    Thank you for your interest in Acronis True Image

    First of all can you please clarify the build number (help -> About)? To check build number in Acronis True Image Home 2009 you should point mouse cursor to the upper line of the program and press ALT+left mouse button -> Help -> About. The latest build is 9709, check it on your account under registered Products.

    Verify the image archive by means of the Validate Backup Archive tool, does it contain any errors?

    Make sure that Acronis True Image Backup Archive Explorer is Enabled in Device Manager (Right-click on MY Computer -> Properties -> Hardware -> Device Manager -> Unfold Acronis Devices -> Right-click on Acronis Devices -> Select Acronis True Image Backup Archive Explorer -> Choose Enabled).

    Best regards,
    --
    Dmitry Nikolaev
     
  5. riderz49

    riderz49 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    Build is 9709
    Archive is verified as valid
    Archive explorer is enabled

    I can open the archive in Windows Explorer, but I can't mount the image from within True Image. The mounted drive appears in the left pane of the WinExp window that opens, but then appears to into an infinite loop that I can terminate only by turning off the machine.

    Very frustrating.

    Does it make any difference that the image files are on a USB drive?
     
  6. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    If you have a usb drive then I would forget about using DVD media as the primary backup device. With 6 DVDs, if you ever have to do a restore from them, you'll be swapping those 6 discs in and out repeatedly in an unending process. So save yourself the frustration and hair pulling and use the usb drive as your primary backup device.

    If you want the extra security of dvds, use the two step method - first backup to the usb drive specifying a split size that will fit on a dvd. Secondly burn those split pieces to the dvd with your favourite burning software.
     
  7. riderz49

    riderz49 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    The problem I'm having occurs when I try to mount an image that is on a USB drive. I'm not trying to mount directly from a DVD.

    This should not be that difficult. I just can't figure out the source of the problem.
     
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello riderz49,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    I suppose, DwnNdrty suggested you to create a backup image and place it into a folder on your external hard drive directly instead of burning the image to DVD disks and copying the archive from the disks to a separate folder. Are you able to mount the archive if you store it to a hard drive from the very beginning?

    This information will help to localize the issue.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  9. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    Have you tried copying the image files from the DVDs to an internal drive and seeing if that works?

    Have you verified that the image files on the DVDs and those on the USB drive are the same (using an MD5 checksum value, for example)?

    Can you list the filenames and file sizes (or post a screenshot) used for each split in the image set? Sometimes it helps to see them.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.