Restoring is not working

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by korn2007, Aug 10, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. korn2007

    korn2007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Germany
    I have created an image with True Image 10.0(b4942).
    Now I'd like to restore my system with the Image created by TI.
    So I selected the Image and my system reboots and the Acronis TI loader is starting. This last 30 seconds and my system reboots. That's all. TI did not restore my system. No error message - nothing.

    I have also tried the latest acronis driver. - no sucess
    my system:
    http://rapidshare.com/files/48215437/Report.rar.html


    Please help me
    Sorry for my bad English
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2007
  2. jonyjoe81

    jonyjoe81 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Posts:
    829
    are you trying to restore to the same internal hard drive that the image was made of (returning system to an earlier time), or to a different hard drive (upgrading your hard drive)?
     
  3. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Where do you have the Image stored - Secure Zone, another internal hard drive, external hard drive?
    Try the procedure using the bootable True Image Rescue CD.
     
  4. korn2007

    korn2007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Germany
    the same internal hard drive that the image was made of
     
  5. korn2007

    korn2007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Germany
    another internal hard drive
     
  6. Pinchas

    Pinchas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Posts:
    33
    in addition, validate the backup archive u wish to restore and update snapapi if ure restoring under windows.
     
  7. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Try restoring using the TI Rescue CD.
     
  8. korn2007

    korn2007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Germany
    Thanks. My image is located on an external USB HDD, when I try to testore, TI doesn't find my external USB HDD. What can I do?
     
  9. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
  10. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    When I asked:
    You said:
    another internal hard drive

    But in a subsequent reply you said:
    So which is correct?
     
  11. korn2007

    korn2007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Germany
    Both are correct. I also want to test it with my external USB HDD.
     
  12. korn2007

    korn2007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Germany
    Big thanks fly out to you all. Restoring is now working with my internal HDD.
     
  13. Pinchas

    Pinchas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Posts:
    33
    it shuda also work correctly with external drive. Try to disable usb legacy support in bios and check whether acr bootable cd can detect ur usb drive.
     
  14. korn2007

    korn2007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Germany
    Thanks I will try that. My other hdd (IDE) is also not shown when I use the bootable True Image Rescue CD. Why?
     
  15. nb47

    nb47 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Posts:
    183
    You DO have to hook up the external hd FIRST so Acronis can 'see it'-won't see it otherwise.(Just in case you didn't realize it). A mistake I'VE made.
     
  16. Pinchas

    Pinchas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Posts:
    33
    Most probably there is an issue with controllers.

    Try the following workaround:

    boot your computer from the Acronis True Image rescue disc and press F11 key when the selection screen advising you to select either "Full", "Safe" or "Boot into Windows" option appears. After you get the "Linux kernel command line" prompt, please modify it in the following way:

    quiet acpi=off noapic

    click on the OK button then and choose "Full Version"

    If that doesn't help as well as disabling usb legacy support, I suggest u contact acr tech support. gl
     
  17. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello korn2007,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please make sure your Acronis Bootable Rescue Media is created using the latest build (4942) of Acronis True Image 10.0 Home.

    Please try booting with "acpi=off noapic" parameter as it is described in Acronis Help Post, as Pinchas suggested.

    If the issue persists, please collect some information to let us investigate it thoroughly:

    Please create Acronis Report and Linux system information (sysinfo.txt) as it is described in Acronis Help Post. Please keep all drives connected and powered on during the creation process.

    Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  18. Pebbler

    Pebbler Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Posts:
    19
    Just for a test, I backed up my Outlook Express data, did a restore to another location, nothing got restored. NOTHING AT ALL !
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.