Restoring images from other versions.

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by MaverickOP, Jun 9, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MaverickOP

    MaverickOP Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Posts:
    26
    A few years ago, I purchased version True Image v8. If I upgrade to version 10, can I restore backup images that were made with version 8?
     
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2007
  2. Tabvla

    Tabvla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Posts:
    649
    Location:
    London, England
    The "theoretical" answer is Yes.

    However, in practice it is always recommended that you create new backups with the new version (or build) as soon as possible.

    T.
     
  3. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    I also believe I have seen it recommended that you retain your Rescue CD from the old versions--just in case the newer versions do not work correctly with the old backups.
     
  4. MaverickOP

    MaverickOP Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Posts:
    26
    Sorry, but that doesn't sound like a very solid answer. How about a definite yes or no from one of the mods?
     
  5. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    MaverickOP,

    A definite "yes" or "no" from Acronis Support will be pretty much meaningless, since, as Tabvla and GroverH have already stated, users have gotten mixed results. It is supposed to work, but it doesn't always work.

    The only way you can find out for sure on your system would be to try the TI 10 trial and test it with your TI 8 images.
     
  6. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    If you knew True Image like some of us do .... well ... let's just say True Image is strange sometimes. ;) ;)
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello MaverickOP,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please see this FAQ entry for an answer. We recommend you to download and install the free trial version of Acronis True Image 10.0 Home to see how the software works on your computer. With the trial version of the product you will be able to fully use the windows version for a period of 15 days. The standalone version (bootable media) will have only restore function available.

    You can find the detailed instructions on how to use Acronis True Image 10.0 Home in the respective User's Guide.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  8. Tabvla

    Tabvla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Posts:
    649
    Location:
    London, England
    "Definites" are a rarity in the world of PC's.

    One of the strengths of the Apple Mac is that to a very large extent it is a an integrated unit with all the constituent components (hardware, firmware and software) having been extensively tested by Apple engineers to work as a cohesive unit.

    By contrast the PC can consist of any mix of components (hardware, firmware and software) manufactured by any of many thousands of manufacturers each with their own level of quality control. The potential therefore exits for an infinite number of unexpected issues to arise as data and instructions are bussed around the circuits.

    It would be a brave or extremely stupid manufacturer, of any component, to provide absolute "definites" that were always true in all circumstances in the PC environment.

    That is the most significant reason why almost all software manufacturers provide "Trial" downloads of their products, so as to enable users to test whether that product will work well with their specific configuration.

    T.
     
  9. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    Yes, with flexibility and freedom comes creativity, differences, complexity. In Mac world, you don't have problems because you just do things their way -- well not entirely and you do still have problems, even with simple devices like ipods -- how can adevice that simple lock up when there aren't any harware faults? ;-)


    sh
     
  10. Tabvla

    Tabvla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Posts:
    649
    Location:
    London, England
    I totally agree. :thumb:

    For the technically competent nothing can beat the PC, but I do have empathy with those who have neither the need nor the desire... :'(
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.