restore w7 image issue ,paragon doesn't support creating the 2048 offset partitions

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by mantra, May 3, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,149
    hi
    i have paragon 2010 pro and the winpe cd

    well it doesn't full support windows 7

    well i found that it doesn't support creating the 2048 offset partitions

    just a quick test
    create a partition without the 2048 offset partitions
    restore an image
    w7 will not boot:thumbd: :thumbd: :thumbd:
     
  2. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Not sure what you mean.

    I originally had 7 installed on partition without the 1mb offset.

    Then aligned it using Paragon Alignment tool.

    Restored an image to that without any problem .

    Paragon will update bcd to reflect the offset that you are restoring too.

    If 7 will not boot - something else appears to have gone wrong.
     
  3. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,281
    What is the Paragon Alignment tool?
     
  4. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
  5. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,149
    i mean i installed w7 from scratch on a hard disk without partitions

    i backup w7 with paragon 2010 pro , restored , it worked!

    i erased every partitions on the hardisk
    make a 1 new one and restored the image
    not booting



    is there a tutorial for your tip ?


    thanks a lot
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2010
  6. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    If you installed 7 on an unpartitioned HD - there would also be a 100mb system reserved ( unlettered) partition. It contains the boot critical files.

    If you then backup and restore the win7 partition that will be fine as the 100mb partition is still there.

    If you wipe the HD and restore only the win7 partition - then the 100mb partition containing the boot critical files will be gone - it won't boot.


    The alignment tool doesn't have a tutorial as far as I know. You just start it - it tells you which partitions need aligning - you select which ones you want to align and off it goes.

    It is for aligning partitions that already have an o/s o them . It needs to move all the data of course, so it takes 3-4 mins analyzing, and in my case, about 12 mins to complete the alignment of each partition.

    I ran it from within WinPe 3.

    Hope it helps.
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2010
  7. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,149
    i will try it
    maybe it's more easy create a new partition for w7 empty maybe not 100gb but 60gb,use the alignment tool on it , and restore the old image(made from the original 100gb using the resize feature in the restore wizzard?



    i used in the past acronis disk director , is the alignment a resize feature ? or is a move feature ?o_O

    but weird , i guess o&o disk image 5 & Active@ Disk Image can do it without headache ,can no them ?

    thank a lot for your help




    ps i boot with me winpe hard disk 2010 pro
    did not find the feature "alignment tool" in the wizzard or in the full scale
    and in the full scale i can see only 1 partition of 100GB , and after another partition of data
    no hiden 100mb system reserved, no unlocated space , nothing,what's wrong
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2010
  8. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Not sure what you mean - Paragon does it perfectly.

    Therefore you would have had a 100 mb partition containing the boot critical files.

    Yes, Paragon would have restored it perfectly and updated bcd in the 100mb system partition which is still on the HD.

    You erased the 100mb partition as well as the win7 partition - then restored only the Win7 partition. That's why it didn't boot.



    You don't get the 100mb partition created if you install 7 onto a drive that already has an Active partition, or already has 4 partitions.


    On the alignment question - I think the alignment tool comes with PM11 Pro - not PM10 Pro. Users of the PM10 Server and HDM 10 Server will also get it , I believe.

    You can certainly try using the resize feature to do it.

    Obviously, if you already have an o/s on the partition - then you want to realign it to 2048 , that means an extra 1mb is needed at the start.

    Therefore data already on the beginning of the partition has to be moved by 1mb.

    That has to be done without expanding the partition by an equivalent 1mb.

    Hope it helps.
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2010
  9. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,149
    well i installed w7 on a brand new hard disk ,without data of course
    and after i did install w7 i created 3 partitions , throughout 4 (included w7)

    i did not wipe w7 or other partition
    after the installation i made an image , that's all
    with paragon winpe i dont not find the 100mb hidden
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2010
  10. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,281
    I have read that the "2048 offset" problem can be solved by repairing the Windows installation, using the boot "repair disc" or booting from the Windows installation disc.
     
  11. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,149
    no there is not

    no it did not
    no i did not



    in the paragon there is Hard Disk Manager 2010 Professional no 11 pro



    there is not such feature in the pro version:thumbd:
     
  12. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    I'm sorry, I can't follow what you are saying.

    I never had a problem restoring a Paragon image to any location with any offset.
     
  13. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,149
    sorry for my poor english
    about the wiping is a hypothetical scenery, scenario ,never wiped the hard disk


    why i can not see for example the unlocated space between the first partition 100GB with w7 and the second partition with paragon

    i can see with acronis disk director
     
  14. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Thanks for the reply.

    Can you see the 1mb unallocated space in Windows Disk Management?

    Some apps. will show it - some won't.


    On the original question - did you have another HD attached when you installed 7?

    If you did, and if there was an Active partition in the path of the 7 installer - the boot critical files would be on that active partition.

    If you kept the drive lineup the same - Paragon should have updated bcd on that partition so you could boot into the newly restored partition.
     
  15. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,149
    no i can't see , only disk director recovery disk show me
    this is sad because i bought paragon:thumbd:


    yes with windows xp

    i got on my xp a folder c:\boot
    but in the hard disk with xp , i have not a hidden partition and i have not unlocated space

    by the way is there a good partition software
    i need one good
    paragon is good , but can't understand why it doesn't show me what disk director shows

    thanks
    appreciate it a lot
     
  16. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Hi,

    You won't get the 100mb partition if the installer sees an active partition.

    It saw the active partition on your XP drive and created the win7 boot critical files on the XP partition.

    That is normal.

    Paragon is the best Partition software.

    I don't know why it ( and windows disk management and many others ) do not show space of 1 mb or les.
     
  17. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,149
    yes ,only acronis and lsoft show me extra information
    give a look here https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=271910


    thanks
    your are very kind!

    have a nice day
    cheers
     
  18. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,149

    but is there a option maybe to let me show every things
    like advantage mode?
     
  19. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Hi,

    If you want to see everything - select Disk View >Disk Editor tab.
     
  20. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,149
    maybe it can't

    oh no
    but maybe paragon hard disk pro 2010 can't see the unlocated space made by other software?

    thanks SIW2 for the support
     
  21. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Re: maybe it can't

    Paragon can see it - you can check the start sectors and paragon knows exactly where everything is.

    It is choosing not to show it on the main disk map ( just like Windows Disk Management doesn't show it ).
     
  22. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,149
    Re: maybe it can't

    well i don't work with Disk View >Disk Editor tab.
    it's a nightmare
    i hope someone of the paragon team come to tell what's wrong

    and..

    i don't find fair that Partition Manager 11 Personal ($39.95) has this feature
    and Hard Disk Manager 2010 Professional ($99.95) has not
    but it's more old partition maganger 11 pro or partition manager 2010 pro?
     
    Last edited: May 8, 2010
  23. tgell

    tgell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Posts:
    1,075
  24. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    That's the command line version - I beleve it only works on WD drives.
     
  25. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,281
    I think there are two different "alignment" problems:

    1. The one related to the "4X" format or AFD (Advanced Format Drive) disks. The WD program refers to this.

    2. The one related to the 2048 offset, that is different from the above and refers to the partition alignment introduced with Vista and also used by 7.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.