Restore stalls on 2000 PRO SP4

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by dbdan, Jan 25, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dbdan

    dbdan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    Hi,

    Acronis True Image Home Trial Version 10.0 (build 4,871)

    Restore of My Data (just a few folders, not an entire disk) from a Western Digital Mybook 320 GB external USB drive mounted on a Windows 2000 Pro SP4 PC. The files were originally backed up from a XP Pro SP2 system.

    After the last question that restore asks, the acronis process stalls indefinitely and gets 0 CPU time.

    The problem is consistent and reproducible.

    Any clues?

    Thanks,
    Dan
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello dbdan,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for the delayed response.

    Please clarify if you reached the "Proceed" button and were able to press it.

    If you did:
    Please collect the logs of failed operations to help us investigate the issue:
    - run the program;
    - select Show log on the toolbar or from the Tools menu;
    - select the log with error messages;
    - click "Save the log entry to file" (the diskette icon).

    In both cases please also create Acronis Report and Windows System Information (with drives in question connected) as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2007
  3. dbdan

    dbdan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    Hi,

    We tried to submit a support request, but we can't, because we're using a trial version. When I enter the serial number in the support request, we get an error message, "Serial number is valid but cannot be registered at this moment. Please contact Acronis Customer Service for assistance." Needless to say, if this problem does not get resolved, we are not going to purchase the product.

    When we try to run AcronisReport.exe, that stalls too.

    Let me restate the problem again:

    ------------------------------------------------

    I'm sorry to report that we are continuing to have problems with Acronis True Image Home 10.0.

    It's the same problem we experienced when we first started testing it over a month ago - the program stalls or hangs for no apparent reason.

    Originally we thought the problem was due to hooking the backup device, a Western Digital Mybook external hard drive, to the PC's native USB 1.1 ports. So we got a Belkin USB 2.0 add-in card, which we then had problems with, and which were resolved.

    So we were surprised to find that when we resumed testing Acronis again, the program exhibited the same stalling behavior as before.

    We're trying to do a selective file restore from an archive. It asks for the archive, opens it, but then stalls just before it's supposed to ask for the files to be restored from the archive. It happens every single time.

    We moved the archive file to the hard drive and tried the restore from there. It still stalled.

    When we tried to run AcronisReport.exe, that stalled too.

    I also noticed this in the System Event Log:

    Event Type: Error
    Event Source: Service Control Manager
    Event Category: None
    Event ID: 7000
    Date: 3/3/2007
    Time: 11:33:36 AM
    User: N/A
    Computer:
    Description:
    The Acronis Scheduler2 Service service failed to start due to the following error:
    The system cannot find the path specified.

    What's going on?

    Dell Dimension 4600
    Windows 2000 SP4, all patches up to date
    Acronis True Image Home, build 4940

    If you need any more information, please let me know.

    Thanks,
    Dan
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2007
  4. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    Dan,

    you might want to try sending your support request to support@acronis.com. You should get a ticket number within a few minutes (automated) but it will probably take real people a few days to pick up your problem.

    F.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.